r4 doesn't work properly

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by brumbo12321, Mar 16, 2012.

Mar 16, 2012

r4 doesn't work properly by brumbo12321 at 6:45 PM (1,716 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. brumbo12321
    OP

    Newcomer brumbo12321 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    EDIT:
    So I still haven't figured out what to do. I have:
    -1 original R4 Card, the genuine one
    -1 NEW MicroSD card, 8gb
    -1 Nintendo DS Lite

    The Nintendo DS itself can start properly, but whenever I put the R4 card in, the screen gets stuck on ''Loading...''
    I have tried literally everything, but before I bought the new one, I had another one. The R4 card worked fine until I accidentaly turned some kind of safe mode on. From that point on, things went wrong. All files that were on the MicroSD card were literally stuck on there. I could delete the files from my PC, but whenever I pulled it out and put it back in the PC or in the DS the original files were on there again, as if they were ghosts that reappear every time.

    Additional info:
    -I have tried reformatting 100 times, varying from full to quick, from FAT to FAT32, from Microsoft formatters to special SD-formatters, it always said something went wrong or the SD card didn't support it.
    -On my old one, in the globalsettings.ini file ''safemode = 1'', but because everything was stuck on there I couldn't change it. With the new SD-card, that whole file isn't on there any more, so I can't try anything differently


    Please help!
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Tried formatting your MicroSD? Sounds like something's wrong with it.
     
  3. AnonymousFriend

    Newcomer AnonymousFriend Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't sound like it's a problem of the R4, but a problem of your microSD card.

    Did you check to see if the files are in read-only mode or if you have proper admin privileges to delete them.?
     
  4. brumbo12321
    OP

    Newcomer brumbo12321 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes, I tried all the different settings too with formatting, I tried different programs but all say it failed.

    Well, I have a Dutch computer and for me there are 3 options (translated to English):
    -Read only
    -Hidden
    -Archive

    And for all the files the last one is checked. I don't know how to remove it, I tried that too, but I'm really not a computer expert so I don't know how to try differently.
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Archive's not the problem.

    It sounds like either the microSD or your reader is messed up.
     
  6. brumbo12321
    OP

    Newcomer brumbo12321 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Wow, never thought about that the reader could be messed up. Don't have another one though, but I'm gonna try putting the sd card in my HTC and connect to the PC and try it that way. Thanks for helping me so far. I will get back when I tried it.

    Edit: Nope, didn't work. The files are still on there after I delete them and connect to my pc again. I've now also tried another sd card, but when I put that in (with the correct firmware installed) the screen is stuck on ''Loading...''. Any more options?
     
  7. AnonymousFriend

    Newcomer AnonymousFriend Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I'll get back to you on what might be the problem with your microSD card, but your "loading..." problem might be because you didn't format the new card correctly. Use the Panasonic SD Formatter (it's free), do a full erase (not quick format), then reinstall the firmware and see if that helps. Don't use Windows' format option on the card, it doesn't do it correctly.

    If that doesn't work I'll keep thinking on it.
     
  8. brumbo12321
    OP

    Newcomer brumbo12321 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well, the thing is: The SD-card I wanted to try it with is from my mobile phone, so if I format it I would lose all my files, so I am going to buy a new SD-card the next couple of days and see from there.
     
  9. AnonymousFriend

    Newcomer AnonymousFriend Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States

    Yeah...that sounds like it could be the reason why it didn't work.

    You could also just backup the contents of your microSD onto your harddrive before you format the card. Then you can put them back on after you try it with the R4.
     
  10. brumbo12321
    OP

    Newcomer brumbo12321 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Netherlands
    EDIT: I've figured out the problem with the new SD-card, it was too big... Thankfully I had another one with 2gb and that one now works! Thanks for the help everyone. I'm going to play Pokémon Volt White!
     
  11. KurAiRyou

    Newcomer KurAiRyou Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Good thing when I bought my R4 the shop owner was very nice to me and told me every piece of knowledge and
    one of them happens to be the max sd card size. That was back in summer 2006 where my cousin introduced the R4 original
    to me since I was encountering bugs and freezes in legit bought games.
     

Share This Page