Hacking r4 doesn't work properly

brumbo12321

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
Netherlands
EDIT:
So I still haven't figured out what to do. I have:
-1 original R4 Card, the genuine one
-1 NEW MicroSD card, 8gb
-1 Nintendo DS Lite

The Nintendo DS itself can start properly, but whenever I put the R4 card in, the screen gets stuck on ''Loading...''
I have tried literally everything, but before I bought the new one, I had another one. The R4 card worked fine until I accidentaly turned some kind of safe mode on. From that point on, things went wrong. All files that were on the MicroSD card were literally stuck on there. I could delete the files from my PC, but whenever I pulled it out and put it back in the PC or in the DS the original files were on there again, as if they were ghosts that reappear every time.

Additional info:
-I have tried reformatting 100 times, varying from full to quick, from FAT to FAT32, from Microsoft formatters to special SD-formatters, it always said something went wrong or the SD card didn't support it.
-On my old one, in the globalsettings.ini file ''safemode = 1'', but because everything was stuck on there I couldn't change it. With the new SD-card, that whole file isn't on there any more, so I can't try anything differently


Please help!
 

AnonymousFriend

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
It doesn't sound like it's a problem of the R4, but a problem of your microSD card.

Did you check to see if the files are in read-only mode or if you have proper admin privileges to delete them.?
 

brumbo12321

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
Netherlands
Tried formatting your MicroSD? Sounds like something's wrong with it.

Yes, I tried all the different settings too with formatting, I tried different programs but all say it failed.

It doesn't sound like it's a problem of the R4, but a problem of your microSD card.

Did you check to see if the files are in read-only mode or if you have proper admin privileges to delete them.?

Well, I have a Dutch computer and for me there are 3 options (translated to English):
-Read only
-Hidden
-Archive

And for all the files the last one is checked. I don't know how to remove it, I tried that too, but I'm really not a computer expert so I don't know how to try differently.
 

brumbo12321

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
Netherlands
Archive's not the problem.

It sounds like either the microSD or your reader is messed up.

Wow, never thought about that the reader could be messed up. Don't have another one though, but I'm gonna try putting the sd card in my HTC and connect to the PC and try it that way. Thanks for helping me so far. I will get back when I tried it.

Edit: Nope, didn't work. The files are still on there after I delete them and connect to my pc again. I've now also tried another sd card, but when I put that in (with the correct firmware installed) the screen is stuck on ''Loading...''. Any more options?
 

AnonymousFriend

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
I'll get back to you on what might be the problem with your microSD card, but your "loading..." problem might be because you didn't format the new card correctly. Use the Panasonic SD Formatter (it's free), do a full erase (not quick format), then reinstall the firmware and see if that helps. Don't use Windows' format option on the card, it doesn't do it correctly.

If that doesn't work I'll keep thinking on it.
 

brumbo12321

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
Netherlands
I'll get back to you on what might be the problem with your microSD card, but your "loading..." problem might be because you didn't format the new card correctly. Use the Panasonic SD Formatter (it's free), do a full erase (not quick format), then reinstall the firmware and see if that helps. Don't use Windows' format option on the card, it doesn't do it correctly.

If that doesn't work I'll keep thinking on it.
Well, the thing is: The SD-card I wanted to try it with is from my mobile phone, so if I format it I would lose all my files, so I am going to buy a new SD-card the next couple of days and see from there.
 

AnonymousFriend

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
United States
I'll get back to you on what might be the problem with your microSD card, but your "loading..." problem might be because you didn't format the new card correctly. Use the Panasonic SD Formatter (it's free), do a full erase (not quick format), then reinstall the firmware and see if that helps. Don't use Windows' format option on the card, it doesn't do it correctly.

If that doesn't work I'll keep thinking on it.
Well, the thing is: The SD-card I wanted to try it with is from my mobile phone, so if I format it I would lose all my files, so I am going to buy a new SD-card the next couple of days and see from there.


Yeah...that sounds like it could be the reason why it didn't work.

You could also just backup the contents of your microSD onto your harddrive before you format the card. Then you can put them back on after you try it with the R4.
 

brumbo12321

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
Netherlands
I'll get back to you on what might be the problem with your microSD card, but your "loading..." problem might be because you didn't format the new card correctly. Use the Panasonic SD Formatter (it's free), do a full erase (not quick format), then reinstall the firmware and see if that helps. Don't use Windows' format option on the card, it doesn't do it correctly.

If that doesn't work I'll keep thinking on it.
Well, the thing is: The SD-card I wanted to try it with is from my mobile phone, so if I format it I would lose all my files, so I am going to buy a new SD-card the next couple of days and see from there.


Yeah...that sounds like it could be the reason why it didn't work.

You could also just backup the contents of your microSD onto your harddrive before you format the card. Then you can put them back on after you try it with the R4.

EDIT: I've figured out the problem with the new SD-card, it was too big... Thankfully I had another one with 2gb and that one now works! Thanks for the help everyone. I'm going to play Pokémon Volt White!
 

KurAiRyou

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 16, 2012
Messages
19
Trophies
0
XP
2
Good thing when I bought my R4 the shop owner was very nice to me and told me every piece of knowledge and
one of them happens to be the max sd card size. That was back in summer 2006 where my cousin introduced the R4 original
to me since I was encountering bugs and freezes in legit bought games.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Heh my GF has dsl lol