R4 Christmas Edition Problems

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by zerocool99, Jan 30, 2010.

Jan 30, 2010
  1. zerocool99
    OP

    Newcomer zerocool99 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi lads, just a quick question bought a friend the above r4 for his ds, i followed all the instructions how the get the card running etc , put a game one......created a SAV file and the ..........HOW SLOW IS IT TO LOAD!!!!, i have friend that theres loads like lighting

    the 2gb sd came free with the r4 cartridge which i bought from r4ds.co.uk

    what is the problem , firmware etc i have tried formatted in fat and all the other types

    any ideas
     
  2. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If the games load quit while you're ahead. You're lucky to get that far with a fake R4.
     
  3. All4consoles-UK

    Newcomer All4consoles-UK Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    First diagnosis is to check you are using correct firmware ? Go to the website given on the box , format the micro sd card and install the latest version. If you are sure u did fine and still says loading then ask for a replacement . It should have atleast 1 year warranty. R4 xmas version is obviously a fake/ clone.
     
  4. zerocool99
    OP

    Newcomer zerocool99 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the games load fine but take 1-2mins to load.....
     
  5. Guild McCommunist

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    It's still not worth it. Fake carts can be, or so I thought, hazardous to your DS. Although I'm not sure about that.

    You already got the 2GB MicroSD, I suggest buying a real cart. Go with an Acekard 2i and buy from a respected retailer (all the sponsors here are trustworthy and respectable).
     
  6. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe you could try putting ysmenu on it and hope that it works. If it does then it will probably be a lot faster than your current speeds (provided you have your infolib.dat updated).
     
  7. h8isgr8

    Member h8isgr8 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    United States
    All the download archives from r4isdhc.com seem to be corrupt (for me at least).

    Everything but the main kernel (_DS_MENU.DAT) will extract.
     
  8. Cayle

    Newcomer Cayle Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Likelyhood is that"christmas edition" is just the sales blurb as they have had some deals on over christmas, its not an official card edition, they have more than likely added some christmas theme background and such.

    It's probably just a faulty cart or your using the wrong kernel, R4DS don't deal in and have never sold fake cards, they are part of zoombits/memorybits.co.uk. I've had an R4, R4i and Acekard2i from them recently and been dealing with them for years. Personally i prefer the R4/R4i menu system, but thats an aside to the issue at hand.

    Make sure you have the 1.18 kernel, dont use the "christmas edition" version from R4DS, get it from the original site (assuming not the "i" otherwise you can get the latest "non christmas" version from http://www.r4i.co.uk/r4)

    EDIT: I'm confused a little, you said above you bought the cart from r4ds.co.uk, yet your downloading the software from r4isdhc.com, why not get it from the site you bought it from?
     
  9. sfg

    Member sfg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, R4i is a fake/clone.

    All shops sell them.
     
  10. Cayle

    Newcomer Cayle Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Technically yes, but its the original clone if there is any such thing lol, its hard to argue that point when the R4 SDHC Upgrade (clone) is made by the same people for the DSi, except those other demoninations that are about now such as the R4 advance, hyper etc, but someone had to pick it up. I'm sure he's referring to the original R4 though.

    The R4i SDHC, with a red box, was the first DSi card to come out at the end of 2009. It gets confusing because alot of R4i card developers also manufactured an old R4 SDHC card or clone. Oddly enough, the original R4 SDHC card's makers also make a clone R4i - and the original R4i manufacturers actually also produce a clone R4 SDHC.

    It's difficult to actually know whats right and whats not, this is what's technically accurate:

    Manufacturer's Website: http://www.r4isdhc.com
    Produces: R4i SDHC (Original), R4 SDHC Upgrade (Clone)

    Manufacturer's Website: http://www.r4iii.com
    Produces: R4v3 (Clone)

    Manufacturer's Website: http://www.r4sdhc.com
    Produces: R4 SDHC (Original), R4i Beige (Clone)

    Manufacturer's Website: http://www.r4ultra.com
    Produces: R4 Ultra (Clone), R4i Ultra (Clone)

    Manufacturer's Website: http://www.r4ids.com
    Produces: R4i Gold (Clone)

    Manufacturer's Website: http://www.r4rts.cn
    Produces: R4i White (Clone), R4i Black (Clone)

    Also from what i recall the R4i-SDHC Upgrade is using the DSTTi core and R4i-Ultra and Hyper-R4i are using AceKard 2i core.

    In any case, my point was more so on the fact that Zoombits have only ever sold the original cart, although what is now the upgrade is technically a clone. but with all my blurb i seemed to have rattled off clones or not, they are all designed for the same purpose, just all the R4's, R4i SDHC's and Acekard's i've bought i've never had one issue with.

    If its not a software issue, then he's covered by the company that sold it, and i don't see any reason why he won't be able to get a replacement R4, R4i (Please don't get the "Christmas Edition" stick with the mainstream) or be able to purchase an alternative such as the Acekard2i after all cost wise they are not that disimilar.

    EDIT: Actually i've just discovered some stupid Christmas Edition on the R4isdhc site, i stand corrected on Zoombits, they must have gone into mental meltdown on that one, but it's a first for them. They have been reported in the past on various sites for ONLY selling orignals. Get the cart replaced for a normal one [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  11. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    A L L cards using the R4 name that support SDHC or the DSi are clones.
     
  12. sfg

    Member sfg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know how he decides which is clone and which is original. Probably he thinks that all which have 2 files named "_DS_MENU.DAT" and "_DS_MSHL.NDS" are original. Which is very funny, considering that the R4i from "http://www.r4isdhc.com" I just checked and is supposed to be original is most likely a DSTT clone.
     
  13. Peachrules14

    Newcomer Peachrules14 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    same here. I guess its with all Christmas ones.
     
  14. Azlan Uchiha

    Member Azlan Uchiha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    Singapore
    Lol.Let me tell you...my r4 was FAKE....but it still works with everything...YSMenu etc etc..Maybe you have dont something you shouldn't?
     
  15. outgum

    Member outgum Pokemanz Master

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Location:
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Christmas Edition loads slow because waiting for the game, is like waiting for christmas. Slow and Suspenceful. lol
     
  16. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Real R4's were made and supported by the R4 Team: http://r4ds.com/ http://r4ds.cn/
    ANYthing else using the name R4 is a fake/clone.
    Some clones are just as good as an official R4, even using (some of) the same parts and will support the official firmware.
    Most clones aren't, even if they have better compatibility (newer release) or added features. They'll typically be of lower quality - cheap cases, bad contacts, inferior/'tainted' metals, bad parts, etc - or not even an R4 at all, possibly a clone of a different card.

    Some might say 'Well, whats the problem then? If they work and have added features, why not get one?' And the answer is this:
    1). They steal the name of a good product, often to use on a poor product.
    2). By buying a clone, you hurt the REAL team by reducing a sale. Less sales = less drive for them to continue. Less drive = less updates. Less updates = shorter lifespan of the product.
     
  17. Schizoanalysis

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia


    Uh... you are missing one crucial point...

    There is NO REAL R4 team... they disappeared years ago... even the www.r4ds.com one is fake...
     
  18. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Uh... NO.
    If you'll notice, www.r4ds.com has not been updated since R4 team quit/disbanded... because there is no one to update it.
    The sites are the official sites. Nothing fake about them. The sites will remain up til someone stops paying for them and the contracts run out... usually bought in 3~5 year blocks for domains and 1~2 for hosting.

    Also, I was talking about clones in general.
    Buying -ANY- clone is bad.
     
  19. zerocool99
    OP

    Newcomer zerocool99 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so you dont think it could be the crap sd card that was supplied , was gonna order a 2gb kingston card .......are they good???
     
  20. cckk177

    Newcomer cckk177 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it is more likely to be the memory card that came with it... i have a had quite a few r4 cards and have had slow loading if the card has been memory 2 go.. i now ask for transced of sandisk these have been great for me.. so try another card.. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page