Quick hosts hax

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by wchill, Jan 27, 2010.

Jan 27, 2010

Quick hosts hax by wchill at 10:09 AM (1,426 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. wchill
    OP

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Facebook is an annoying piece of shit. So I made the following.
     
  2. zeromac

    Member zeromac Finally reached 1000 posts EXACTLY

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,194
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    Australia
    eh whats this do?
     
  3. wchill
    OP

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Basically stealth blocks Facebook and makes it redirect to Google. [​IMG]
     
  4. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    Facebook will got to Google [​IMG]
     
  5. wchill
    OP

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Okay I'm so lazy I want to integrate the hosts.old part of it into the main program.
    Ideas?
     
  6. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Seems like an unnecessary amount of script to simply change the host file.
     
  7. wchill
    OP

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    I use it with a shortcut to quickly switch between protected and unprotected. heheh.
    Sure, the script is a bit much, but
    1. it works
    2. it has a password (prevents pea sea newbs from accessing)
     
  8. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    They could just edit the script, make their own, or edit the file manually.

    If they know enough to try and run your script, they know enough to do one or all of the above.
     
  9. wchill
    OP

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    They don't know enough to try and run my script. The password is just an extra security measure.
     
  10. zeromac

    Member zeromac Finally reached 1000 posts EXACTLY

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,194
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    Australia
    So all of this to make facebook re-direct to google? seems like a hassle and a waste of time
     
  11. wchill
    OP

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    It's evil enough for the application I have in mind [​IMG]:D:D:D:D
     
  12. Strider

    Member Strider Next to the mainstream

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    901
    Country:
    Good lord. So this is supposed to be a 'hax'. Whatever.

    You do not need to reboot after modifying the hosts file (at least XP up to Windows 7). Edit: you don't even need the flushdns, because the hosts file is queried before cached DNS entries.
     
  13. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know a faster and simple way.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  14. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Case in point.
     
  15. wchill
    OP

    Member wchill Resident chillxpert

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,407
    Country:
    United States
    Well it's not to stop me, it's to stop someone else who obsesses with it constantly.

    And no Strider, it's not a 'hax'. It's a lazy way of blocking/unblocking access to Facebook on my laptop.
     
  16. zeromac

    Member zeromac Finally reached 1000 posts EXACTLY

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,194
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    Australia
    Wait now that i think about it.. i remember this scheme from somewhere...because i remember someone here saying that a family member or friend kept using facebook and they wanted to block it without them knowing how to turn it back on or sumthin
     
  17. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Far better to modify DNS entries from the router itself, if you have that option. That way it'll effect all computers on the network and not just the one.
     

Share This Page