Hacking Question about xenoblade chronicles.

masterzero

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
624
Trophies
0
XP
492
Country
IS there a chance that it doesnt use that much more extra power from the 3ds and it can actually run on original 3ds thru flashcard maybe patching something?
 

sarkwalvein

There's hope for a Xenosaga port.
Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
8,525
Trophies
2
Age
41
Location
Niedersachsen
XP
11,309
Country
Germany
IS there a chance that it doesnt use that much more extra power from the 3ds and it can actually run on original 3ds thru flashcard maybe patching something?

Yes, I am developing a patch that emulates 128MB of additional RAM.
You can apply the patch several times and turn your 3DS into an HPC server.
Hmmm... I should sell this patch.
 

tony_2018

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Messages
3,107
Trophies
0
XP
1,022
Country
United States
Online videos of 3DS gameplay never do the game justice. It almost always looks way better when playing the game on the actual handheld.


Missing the point but I'll say it, they dumbdown the graphics on the 3ds handheld there is a major difference.
 

sarkwalvein

There's hope for a Xenosaga port.
Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
8,525
Trophies
2
Age
41
Location
Niedersachsen
XP
11,309
Country
Germany
Missing the point but I'll say it, they dumbdown the graphics on the 3ds handheld there is a major difference.

Yes, that is true, textures specially looked washed in the Wii, now they look more like shaded almost texture less polygons.
Anyway, I don't find the texture ultra-washing so bad, there is another problem that I find more... annoying.
When you walk in the world map it is so pixelated that you miss many gameplay relevant features in the (not so far) distance.
Also, the grass is... so scarce... did they use defoliants for the game port?
 

tony_2018

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2014
Messages
3,107
Trophies
0
XP
1,022
Country
United States
Yes, that is true, textures specially looked washed in the Wii, now they look more like shaded almost texture less polygons.
Anyway, I don't find the texture ultra-washing so bad, there is another problem that I find more... annoying.
When you walk in the world map it is so pixelated that you miss many gameplay relevant features in the (not so far) distance.
Also, the grass is... so scarce... did they use defoliants for the game port?


Its kinda hard to see that far in the world map with a small screen, compared to a 32" led screen.
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
30,854
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
29,944
Country
Poland
Its kinda hard to see that far in the world map with a small screen, compared to a 32" led screen.
Why would you need to?
Yep, that is part of the problem. The game was not developed to be played in a small screen.
The size of the screen does not affect field of view. The objects in the distance are smaller in physical size, sure, but they're also completely harmless to you, so that doesn't really matter.
 

Azel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2014
Messages
632
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
656
Country
France
some ppl already have the game.
listen to the 8-4play podcast of last friday for instance.
 

sarkwalvein

There's hope for a Xenosaga port.
Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
8,525
Trophies
2
Age
41
Location
Niedersachsen
XP
11,309
Country
Germany
Why would you need to?
The size of the screen does not affect field of view. The objects in the distance are smaller, sure, but they're also completely harmless to you, so that doesn't really matter.

Yes, it does not affect the field of view, but it affect the possibility of seeing something.
Actually, in this case, I find more of a problem the actual resolution, and not so much the size.
There are many features that in the original game you could clearly see in the far distance and kind of recognize, and they made you want to explore that weird thing (I find that part of the charm of Xenoblade).
That is lost because of resolution, now, just instead of let's say 20x20 pixels of better rendered recognizable image, you get the same in a 10x10 zone with poor quality that makes it difficult to recognize.
The size can also be a problem, when it is too small for your eyes to actually recognize things, but in this case it is a resolution problem.
Oh, whatever, I tried to write my point in a clear way, but I think the text came out horrible... I hope it is understandable.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    @Xdqwerty I don't have a ROG ally
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa, i don't have one either
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @AcuteBulbasaurappears, A cute bulbasaur appears. :D
    +2
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Psionic Roshambo, The Wii U gamepads are tied to the console's region, so its impossible to find a cheap gamepad that supports your model.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Unless you modify your system, of course, and remove the region check.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ, im now by episode 8 of lain
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty can we discuss chrono trigger
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty I like how the game had the middle ages 1000AD, the dark ages 600AD.It was great seeing the post robot apocalypse 2300 like Terminator and enter the matrix. some of mad max and fallout. 2300ad though it could had used more elements instead of just a generic ai uprising. It was a great idea for their judgement day to be 1999 Y2K.

    -great additions if they would have made an expansion or dlc in my opinion would be finding out humans trapped in a matrix -

    a follower having a cyborg character living tissue over metal endoskelleton like terminator, and the synths from fallout
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    4After Zeal fell it would have been good to see more ancient eras. Perhaps Sumeria based in one area, then Egypt based in another area, Greek based in another area, then roman based in another area before the middle ages.---------

    ----between 1000ad and 1999 is a big gap they should have had the age of revolution like the american and French Revolution

    then the cowboyy era in one area of map and the Industrial revolution/age of enlightmentthen a ww1 and ww2 and a cold war era
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    they could have added 75,000 bc like assassins creed. zeal was already establish in 12, 000 bc , soething before the kindom rose
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty they could also add age of dscover, colonialism ect
    +1
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    renaissance
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty what did you think
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty I think glenn (the frog) after becomming human had an affair with the queen
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    so he is the great great great great grandfather of marle @Xdqwerty
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    they made it like Lancelot from king arthur legends
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    just found out i'm now taller than my dad
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @salazarcosplay, sorry i was busy
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty thats completely fine
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @salazarcosplay,
    the ds version added a secret boss reference to chrono cross
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    @Xdqwerty did you finish watching naruto shippuden and Boruto
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @salazarcosplay, i havent even started lol
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: @salazarcosplay, i havent even started lol