Hacking Question about SD2Vita upgrade

Retroboy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 28, 2015
Messages
3,008
Trophies
1
XP
3,198
Country
United States
Hi,

Its been ages since ive touched my vita but i have it running fine using an SD2VITA with 64GB MSD card.

I want to basically upgrade the MSD from 64GB to 128GB.

I found a video on n00btube that basically claimed all you have to do is boot your vita enter vitashell and connect via usb and copy the entire contents of your sd card over to your computer, then use win32diskimager to write zzblank to your new sd, then format as exfat and copy the contents off the SD2Vita to your new SD

i do that, when i insert my SD nothing seems to change, my vita detects the SD card but none of the apps or even vitashell.

I tried the other method of manually writing vitashell to my SD using QMCA and PSVimgtools, downfall for this is i havent logged into PSN and cant now as it prompts me to perform a firmware update.

Im currently on Henkaku 3.65 CFW
 

Retroboy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 28, 2015
Messages
3,008
Trophies
1
XP
3,198
Country
United States
You can mount the 64GB sd via vitashell and copy the entire ux0 partition off that and place it on the 128GB sd card, format the 128GB as primary, 64kb cluster, and exfat.
thanks ill try now, tho i did notice if i looked at the vita uxo had alot more files my pc didnt see even with show hidden objects.

im going to ftp the directory over
 

Tom Bombadildo

Dick, With Balls
Editorial Team
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
14,296
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
I forgot
Website
POCKET.LIKEITS
XP
17,277
Country
United States
To see those hidden files via USB, you just need to disable the "Hide protected operating system files" in File Explorer Options. This will show all hidden files.

FTP will be much, much slower than USB, just an FYI.
 

Flame

Me > You
Global Moderator
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
5,965
Trophies
1
XP
10,714
what @Hayato213 said you copy from vita to your pc 1st. also in windows i remember you had to something about copy writye proction
thanks ill try now, tho i did notice if i looked at the vita uxo had alot more files my pc didnt see even with show hidden objects.

im going to ftp the directory over


you should do this to show your hidden files.

On Windows, go to folder options > view > uncheck "hide operating system files"

with that then you copy all your files
 

dubsmachine

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 4, 2017
Messages
40
Trophies
0
Location
Frankfurt, Germany
XP
512
Country
Germany
You can mount the 64GB sd via vitashell and copy the entire ux0 partition off that and place it on the 128GB sd card, format the 128GB as primary, 64kb cluster, and exfat.
64kb cluster is key when going to bigger cards and is not mentioned in some tutorials.
I found this out the hard way.

Huawei P30 Pro (VOG-L29) using Tapatalk
 
  • Like
Reactions: Hayato213

Retroboy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 28, 2015
Messages
3,008
Trophies
1
XP
3,198
Country
United States
Thanks ive got it working now.

Does anyone know a reliable source for a working cheat db for the psp/ps1 cw cheat that actually work not sourced from public users that dont test their code, i used to do a site years ago but thats long gone.

Im due to go on holiday next at weekend and im pilling as much as i can onto my vita and dont really want to sit making codes.

Thanks
 

bbking67

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2003
Messages
166
Trophies
0
XP
1,572
Country
Canada
Yes it will work... just format as FAT32, not exFAT after installing the zzblankimg. It takes a long time to copy... probably USB mode with vitashell is the way to go.
 

NicLobo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 31, 2019
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
49
XP
114
Country
Germany
Yes it will work... just format as FAT32, not exFAT after installing the zzblankimg. It takes a long time to copy... probably USB mode with vitashell is the way to go.

I've experienced that exfat with 64kb cluster size is much faster than fat32 (200GB MicroSD)
 

bbking67

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2003
Messages
166
Trophies
0
XP
1,572
Country
Canada
I've experienced that exfat with 64kb cluster size is much faster than fat32 (200GB MicroSD)

I was under the impression that FAT32 was required. If it isnt exFAT should be better in every way. I'm probably going to pull the trigger on a 256GB for my Vita so if exFAT will work I'll try it!
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
I've experienced that exfat with 64kb cluster size is much faster than fat32 (200GB MicroSD)


Exfat for sure

128Gb can be formatted with default cluster size

200GB+ cards I recommend 64k Cluster size when formating
 
  • Like
Reactions: laz305

Tom Bombadildo

Dick, With Balls
Editorial Team
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
14,296
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
I forgot
Website
POCKET.LIKEITS
XP
17,277
Country
United States
When using SD2Vita as my ux0 and Sony card as uma0 how do I updgrade the Sony Card?
Using VitaShell, there should be an option to mount uma0 over USB, use that to backup all the files, upgrade the memory card, and follow the same procedure to restore files.

Make sure you have all hidden files showing as mentioned above, otherwise you may not back everything up properly.
 
  • Like
Reactions: laz305

laz305

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
558
Trophies
0
XP
1,028
Country
United States
Using VitaShell, there should be an option to mount uma0 over USB, use that to backup all the files, upgrade the memory card, and follow the same procedure to restore files.

Make sure you have all hidden files showing as mentioned above, otherwise you may not back everything up properly.
Ok but how do I replace the memory card? With the power on at the home screen? Or while vitashell is open?
 

Tom Bombadildo

Dick, With Balls
Editorial Team
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
14,296
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
I forgot
Website
POCKET.LIKEITS
XP
17,277
Country
United States
Ok but when I do that h-encore will no longer be on my vita. Ok thanks but you clearly don’t know the answer to my question. Thanks for the headache. Does anyone know????????
:rolleyes:

A) You just reactivate h-encore after you reboot. The exploit should still be on your Vita memory card, you literally just run it again, remount the SD2Vita (if it doesn't auto remount already) and everything should work just fine after a reboot, unless you're a moron and deleted the exploit. :rolleyes:

B) You never mentioned your firmware, so I assumed you were on a proper firmware like 3.60 or 3.65 with Enso support. Why are you not on 3.65 or 3.60 for Enso? Downgrade your Vita to 3.65 at the very least and install Enso so you have coldboot. There is literally no reason to stay on any firmware above 3.65 now that we have the ability to downgrade and play Vita games regardless of firmware. Use SKGleba's Modoru to downgrade to 3.65 for coldboot. https://github.com/SKGleba/modoru <
 

laz305

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2008
Messages
558
Trophies
0
XP
1,028
Country
United States
Ok thanks I went ahead and installed Enso. So now you say I can turn it off and replace the Sony card np? Cuz I do not want to rebuild my database again.

:rolleyes:

A) You just reactivate h-encore after you reboot. The exploit should still be on your Vita memory card, you literally just run it again, remount the SD2Vita (if it doesn't auto remount already) and everything should work just fine after a reboot, unless you're a moron and deleted the exploit. :rolleyes:

B) You never mentioned your firmware, so I assumed you were on a proper firmware like 3.60 or 3.65 with Enso support. Why are you not on 3.65 or 3.60 for Enso? Downgrade your Vita to 3.65 at the very least and install Enso so you have coldboot. There is literally no reason to stay on any firmware above 3.65 now that we have the ability to downgrade and play Vita games regardless of firmware. Use SKGleba's Modoru to downgrade to 3.65 for coldboot. https://github.com/SKGleba/modoru <
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim: i love how the crowd still cheered when thousand miles played lmao