Hardware Question about raid hard drive enclosures

PalomPorom

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
So I have a lot of data. I'm talking 16 8TB hard drives. And Im shopping for a new enclosure. I understand the whole raid0 thing for 2 drives so I constantly have a backup. But in larger enclosures like an 8 bay would I be able to set it to raid0 for just 2 of the drives?
Like instead of having 8 seperate 2 bay enclosures set to raid 0, I get a 8 bay one and have 4 seperate pairs of drives running raid0? Or is that not how it works?

Also what is hot swapping? Couldn't find an answer with Google. And sorry if I'm a noob and don't make any sense. I've been up for a couple days so give me some slack lol

Sent from my toaster running Rebug

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
GBAtemp Patron
Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
RAID is not a backup! RAID does not replace a backup!

It is used to improve speed and/or availability/reliability of data storage.
If you use a hardware RAID controller and the controller dies, all data can be permanently lost – depending on the documentation and/or availability of replacement controllers.

There are different RAID levels. The easiest are RAID 0 and 1
RAID 0 – stripe. Two (or more) drives act as one→
  • Improves performance (mostly for big files).
  • Less secure. One drive fails →RAID array gone.
  • 100% of the storage space available
RAID 1 – mirror. Two (or even more) identical copies are written (and deleted!) simultaneously→
  • Resistant against a failing drive;
  • no performance gain.
  • 50% of the storage space available
RAID 1+0: At least 4 drives. Two RAID 0 Arrays are mirrored.→
  • Resistant against a failing drive (in the best case more)
  • Improves performance
  • 50% of the storage space available
RAID 5: – block striping with distributed parity; minimum 3 drives→
  • Resistant against a failing drive
  • Improves performance
  • If you have n drives, the storage of n-1 drives is available