1. Ian095

    OP Ian095 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Messages:
    371
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I've been messing around with ReiNX and Hekate, need to go online on my console. So if I restore my NAND backup made before getting an error message, that would most likely scrub that off of my console, right?
    So Nintendo won't get the error message sent to them? I could always delete the logs in Hekate but I think that would just increase the chances of being banned imo.
     
  2. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    12,410
    Country:
    United States
    That's why some people made NAND backups prior to hacking their console. Its a "safer" way of clearing logs because you're not actually clearing the logs (which 5.X firmwares can detect).
     
    Ian095 likes this.
  3. Ian095

    OP Ian095 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Messages:
    371
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank god lol. Yeah, the only thing I had done prior to my backup was playing that fan game Zelda port shortly via Hekate having never loaded up anything else other than going onto the Homebrew channel for that.
    Hopefully, I'll be safe then I just need to update my console and download Pokemon Quest. Really can't be bothered going through the effort to try to avoid burning fuses since I don't own any games that have updates past 4.1.0 and that other method just looks like hell when it seems the community is split between those who carelessly update and those who want a softmod and I'm not the biggest expert at this. Thanks for answering!

    Ok I've no idea how that posted a thousand times.... woops.
     
  4. Ian095
    This message by Ian095 has been removed from public view by Joe88, Jul 23, 2018, Reason: Double post.
    Jul 23, 2018
  5. stingray1059

    stingray1059 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Country:
    whats the size of a nandbackup?
     
  6. lostalice

    lostalice Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 13, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    about 30 gigs
     
  7. stingray1059

    stingray1059 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Country:
    what if i only have 16gb sd ?
     
  8. austin5623

    austin5623 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    You can do a partial backup, which would back up the nand in 2gb parts, but halfway through you would have to take out the sd card and put it in your computer so you can copy the parts over and delete them from the sd card.
     
  9. Ian095

    OP Ian095 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Messages:
    371
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I updated to 5.1.0 (rip me ruined my chances to downgrade to 4.1.0) guessing I should make new backups, don't imagine the old ones would work anymore haha.
     
  10. benson733

    benson733 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    Canada
    You will need a new nand dump now. The old dumps would cause a system panic and it would not boot up.
     
  11. Ian095

    OP Ian095 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Messages:
    371
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, thought so. So much for me being on <4.1.0 or below, lol.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Question, backup,