1. BamDeafPie

    OP BamDeafPie Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    I found few FMCB memory cards on eBay. So before I buy one of these. I needed to know if my PS2 slim are hackable.

    Silver slim PS2
    Model: SCPH-79001
    NTSC U/C
    7C

    If it is hackable then yay. I think I wanna borrow from one of you. I will pay for shipping fee unless it's free? I mean, you put memory card in a mail and drop them off in blue mail box? Anways, if not then I will pay for shipping.

    If it is not hackable then what should I do? I also have FAT PS2 but it no longer read any game disc anymore.
     
  2. Avery Singh

    Avery Singh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Canada
    It's hackable, and for your fat ps2, you should install hdd in the back of it, or use Free McBoot Memory card and install free McBoot to another Memory Card or just use that one memory card on both. With Free McBoot you can play games off USB, SMB (network) or for fat ps2 HDD (best results, and 2 times faster then actual discs!)
     
  3. BamDeafPie

    OP BamDeafPie Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome! Do you know anyone that are willing to lend me one of their FMCB memory card?
     
  4. Avery Singh

    Avery Singh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Canada
    Unfortunatly no, no one from I know of, but there are various methods and I'd be more then happy to help you out by refering you to videos/guides or even man to man but I dunno anyone that would just lend their Free McBoot Memory card. I don't live near you, sorry
     
  5. BamDeafPie

    OP BamDeafPie Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States

    PS2 FAT HDD is cheap now?

    Lets say, I installed Final Fantasy XII IZS. ISO with engish patch in it and drag it into desktop. Then I hook up on my laptop network to PS2 network via cable? (After I install FMCB in PS2 of course.)
     
  6. BamDeafPie

    OP BamDeafPie Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    I want to make clear.

    1. Install FMCB into one of these PS2 or both. I like slim, though.
    2. Install any game ISO for PS2 and drag them into desktop.
    3. Hook up the laptop to PS2 via network cable
    4. Boot up whatever I need to inside PS2 to load ISO
    5. Play?

    I already burn the game ISO into blank disc. By the way.
     
  7. Avery Singh

    Avery Singh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Canada
    For the HDD I'm not too sure but it's IDE and only 40gb. If you did well you'd be able to play it, but the partition/drive would have to be called PS2SMB and it has to be directly on it, not on Desktop
     
  8. BamDeafPie

    OP BamDeafPie Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States

    Ah okay. Since you live in Canada, can you ship it to here? I will pay for shipping. Just tell me how much I need to pay.
     
  9. macmanhigh

    macmanhigh THC = Truly High Caliber
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    699
    Country:
    United States

    From whut i understand u can use any IDE harddrive for PS2.....Check here if U need sumone to hook FMCB for U

    http://gbatemp.net/threads/free-mcboot-install-service.309572/
     
  10. emmanu888

    emmanu888 6 years and still going strong
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,379
    Country:
    Canada
    If you create a FreeMCBoot MemCard. Create the multi-version memcard. That way it will boot on every PS2, i think so. Mine is the multi-version and it boots on every PS2 i plugged it on
     
  11. BamDeafPie

    OP BamDeafPie Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States

    Okay. Since I don't have HDD. I still can use network cable to hook up to laptop then play?
     
  12. Avery Singh

    Avery Singh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Canada
    Yup, you should be, worst case scenario you have to play them off usb or burnt discs. I'll refer to videos and tuts if you want once you get it. Too much info before you get it will confuse you and you might mix up steps or stuff
     
  13. BamDeafPie

    OP BamDeafPie Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Good idea. I will let ya know once I get FMCB memory card
     
  14. BlackWizzard17

    BlackWizzard17 Don't worry Captin we'll buff out those scratches.
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,371
    Country:
    United States
    You Know i recently used free mcboot and i got it working viva 007 agent under fire but the bad thing is my laser lens is messed up. Id say the game swap trick is the easiest for me, have you tried it.
     
  15. Avery Singh

    Avery Singh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Canada
    The Game Swap mathod may be easy, but chance of F***ing up or messing stuff up is high and it deteriorates console and you'll probably do the same with disc. If you seriously want to do it and you have a game you can do it with and don't mind messing up one of the best consoles in the entire world then fine, go ahead
     
  16. BamDeafPie

    OP BamDeafPie Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    I tried game swap trick on FAT PS2 last night and failed. It messed up the laser, I think which that is why it keep getting disc reading error. I tried with all brand new PS2 games I have and none of them are readable. Expect for PS2 slim, it works on it. Yep, I bought FAT PS2 for $50 at gamestop last week. Bought total $100 worth of PS2 system and games. Memory card is free.
     
  17. BlackWizzard17

    BlackWizzard17 Don't worry Captin we'll buff out those scratches.
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,371
    Country:
    United States
    Well that is true but if you double check everything (and i mean you patched the disc perfectly) then you should be good. Plus after that all you gotta do is install the stuff on the memory card.

    What game did you use to disc swap
     
  18. Avery Singh

    Avery Singh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Canada
    Then just go with Memory Card, why waste and have chance of risk of breaking console when Memory Card is much cheaper and you can't mess it up. Sony's ps2 was about as flawless as you could get. The only way to destroy it would have to be Hardware wise. Software wise it was based off linux directly and with no updates and stuff, no chance of brick. Actually there are two "considered" updates in ps2 history but none messed anything up
     
  19. BamDeafPie

    OP BamDeafPie Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States

    Well I never say I want to have it. I want to borrow then send back once I install FMCB into PS2. :P
     
  20. Foxi4

    Foxi4 Endless Trash
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    27,892
    Country:
    Poland
    That's not true. The folder can be anywhere on the computer and it can have any name you want - what matters is that the SMB Share settings are the same on the PC and PS2 side and the IP settings check out. The folder has to have two folders inside - one titled DVD for DVD-based images, the other CD for CD-based images. If more folders will be necessary, OPL should create them on its own. You don't need any specific HDD for SMB loading nor do you need any special partition because everything works via TCP/IP, so the PS2 doesn't know any better.

    As for HDD loading, any IDE ATA 3.5 inch drive will do as long as it fits in the console - the partition size restriction is long gone, I've seen people sporting 256GB drives in their PS2's if I recall correctly.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Question, McBoot,