Question about backing up nintendo ds games (roms)

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Bryon15, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    When backing up a nintendo ds game using this method:

    http://www.ehow.com/how_5157993_back-up-ds-games.html

    Does it also transfer the save file? If it doesn't then I'm in trouble. I just bought a supercard dstwo and I want to back up my nintendo ds games. But I don't want lose my save files. Especially for games like pokemon and digimon. Any advice?
     


  2. SirCB85

    Member SirCB85 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    Germany
    It should give you 3 options, backing up the game itself, backing up the save from the game to your computer and restoring the save from your computer to the game.
     
  3. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    Cool. Thanks [​IMG]
     
  4. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    Guys I need help. I followed that method exactly. But when I try to backup my ds saves, my ds screen says data transfer failed please do over again. Why won't it work? And where do the sav files go after you upload them?
     
  5. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    They are supposed to go through the wifi to your ftp...provided you are using the wifi one and not the slot-2 one.
     
  6. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    Yes I'm using the wifi one. What I mean is where do I find the save files on my computer after they've transfered? What folder do they go to? But unfortunately every time I try to upload a save I keep getting that data transfer failed message. I don't know what else to do.
     
  7. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
  8. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    But isn't this the latest version?
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=91958

    That's the one I'm using. But I can't figure out how to use it. After it finishes transfering the save, the message data transfer failed comes on the screen.
     
  9. gifi4

    Member gifi4 How am I a 'New Member'?

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,352
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    why don't you put your micro sd into pc and just copy whole card onto a folder onto computer?
     
  10. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    Nevermind. I figured it out [​IMG] It turns out that even though the message data transfer failed comes on the screen, the file is still created and transfered to my computer. My problem was that I didn't know where the folder was that the game saves got dumped into. But I found it clicking on the run button in my computer's start menu and typing in c:/temp. Now I feel like a doofus for not being able to figure this out sooner. Thanks anyway guys [​IMG]
     
  11. SirCB85

    Member SirCB85 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    Germany
    Because retailcarts of games normaly don´t have microSDs you could take out of it for that purpose?
     
  12. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
  13. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Most likely the problem is, you haven't set the folder to WRITE permission.

    In SmallFTP go Settings -> Users -> Select Username -> Edit
    On the bottom "Permissions" window click Add, then type W into the Permissions box.
    http://i690.photobucket.com/albums/vv262/t...z/smallftpd.png

    I had to use NDS BackupTool Wifi because NDS BackupTool FTPd will not connect to my listed IP using:
    Code:
    ServerIPÂÂÂÂ192.168.1.101ÂÂÂÂ! FTPd IP address
    Also.. Not sure if it's fixed in the "FTPd" version, but in the "Wifi" version when a file is complete (the progress bar reaches 100%) it still says that it failed, but in the handful of times I've used it SO LONG AS THE PROGRESS BAR GOT TO 100%, the files were fine.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    lol, might help if I read all your replies [​IMG]
    Glad you got it working.


    Any help with my issue (Can't set the Server IP) would be appreciated. [​IMG]
     
  14. SirCB85

    Member SirCB85 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    Germany
    FTPd can´t connect to your server because itself creates a server on your DS that you need to access with a client.
     
  15. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    AH! Gotcha.

    Kinda "backwards", but cool.
    Makes things a whole lot simpler.
     
  16. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    Preparing client is much easier than preparing server.
     
  17. SirCB85

    Member SirCB85 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Country:
    Germany
    I didn´t say it would be harder, just why it´s not working the way he thought it would be and how to "fix" it [​IMG]

    edit: fixed typo.
     
  18. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    Then I say ehow guide is kinda obsolete
     
  19. Bryon15
    OP

    Member Bryon15 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    united states
    Country:
    United States
    Guys I just backed up the rom for kingdom hearts 358/2 days and it took over 12 hours!! Is it suppose to take that long? Also why can't I backup saves for games like pokemon heartgold and pokemon soulsilver and pokemon mystery dungeon explorers of sky? The on screen menu says unknown save type.
     
  20. DeltaBladeX

    Member DeltaBladeX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Bigger games take longer to backup.

    For Heart Gold / Soul Silver, they work differently because of the IR for the Pokewalker. IIRC, you need a certain retail device to back up saves, though I admit to not checking recently, so something may be able to back up the data. Not sure about PMD: EoS.
     

Share This Page