Hacking [Question] About a hacked New3ds XL

Xavv

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Location
My bed :3
XP
177
Country
United States
Hello there guys, I just bought a new3ds XL already hacked, came with installed games, freeshop, etc. Unfortunately I've got a couple questions I can't ask to the owner before me, hopefully someone here can assist me in this matter. Alright here are my questions:

1.- Since it came already hacked, how can I check what hack or mod it has installed? Like A9HL or Luma and 9BS, etc. I'd like to update it to the newest version of hack if it is not already

2.- What is this? should I keep it or delete it? it's got no name and when I open it, it does nothing
https://imgur.com/l7PoPxf

3.- It has 2 freeshops, which one should I keep?
https://imgur.com/8I5DvIl
https://imgur.com/WgcbLhh

4.- Is this good for anything? when I ran it, it asked me to select a version (3.2, 3.3 and 3.6)
https://imgur.com/3tUOABU

Thank you in advance :)
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,144
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,119
Country
Australia
Hello there guys, I just bought a new3ds XL already hacked, came with installed games, freeshop, etc. Unfortunately I've got a couple questions I can't ask to the owner before me, hopefully someone here can assist me in this matter. Alright here are my questions:

1.- Since it came already hacked, how can I check what hack or mod it has installed? Like A9HL or Luma and 9BS, etc. I'd like to update it to the newest version of hack if it is not already

2.- What is this? should I keep it or delete it? it's got no name and when I open it, it does nothing
https://imgur.com/l7PoPxf

3.- It has 2 freeshops, which one should I keep?
https://imgur.com/8I5DvIl
https://imgur.com/WgcbLhh

4.- Is this good for anything? when I ran it, it asked me to select a version (3.2, 3.3 and 3.6)
https://imgur.com/3tUOABU

Thank you in advance :)
1. Hold Select on boot and see what version Luma you have. If 7.0.5 or less follow https://3ds.guide/a9lh-to-b9s to update. If 7.1 follow https://3ds.guide/updating-b9s. If between 8.0 and 8.1.1 replace your boot.firm with Luma 9.0 here https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/releases

2. Don't know what that is, you can delete it

3. You don't need the launcher, and chances are you have an old freeShop (version 2.x). Follow the instructions in the OP of the Noob Paradise thread to update it. Delete the 3ds/data/freeShop folder before doing that.

4. That's NTR, used for applying cheats to games. I don't personally use it but you can google about it if interested.
 
Last edited by Quantumcat,
  • Like
Reactions: Xavv

Zabhahs

Goron
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2015
Messages
264
Trophies
0
Location
Seattle area
XP
359
Country
United States
delete all the freeshop stuff. reinstall from the latest one, i think its called pauls freeshop fork. better safe than sorry. and i believe 2 is the input redirection for ntr cfw... again, delete it and if you ever need it, reinstall it
 
Last edited by Zabhahs,
  • Like
Reactions: Xavv

Xavv

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Location
My bed :3
XP
177
Country
United States
1. Hold Select on boot and see what version Luma you have. If 7.0.5 or less follow https://3ds.guide/a9lh-to-b9s to update. If 7.1 follow https://3ds.guide/updating-b9s. If between 8.0 and 8.1 replace your boot.firm with Luma 9.0 here https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/releases

2. Don't know what that is, you can delete it

3. You don't need the launcher, and chances are you have an old freeShop (version 2.x). Follow the instructions in the OP of the Noob Paradise thread to update it. Delete the 3ds/data/freeShop folder before doing that.

4. That's NTR, used for applying cheats to games. I don't personally use it but you can google about it if interested.

@Quantumcat, @Zabhahs First of all, thank you guys for answering <3 Second of all, after updating and following the guide to the end, can I just insert a new micro sd (since I want higher capacity) and just format the N3ds? from what I read, this guide installed the luma to work without the sd card inserted, therefore I can format the n3ds with a new micro sd and it's going to work right? or should I copy all the files from the guide to the new micro sd and then format it? or should I just not format it at all? I just want my nintendo id in it not just some guy's id, I don't even have his password so I don't want any troubles in the future, plus his name is silly lol
 

Quantumcat

Dead and alive
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2014
Messages
15,144
Trophies
0
Location
Canberra, Australia
Website
boot9strap.com
XP
11,119
Country
Australia
@Quantumcat, @Zabhahs First of all, thank you guys for answering <3 Second of all, after updating and following the guide to the end, can I just insert a new micro sd (since I want higher capacity) and just format the N3ds? from what I read, this guide installed the luma to work without the sd card inserted, therefore I can format the n3ds with a new micro sd and it's going to work right? or should I copy all the files from the guide to the new micro sd and then format it? or should I just not format it at all? I just want my nintendo id in it not just some guy's id, I don't even have his password so I don't want any troubles in the future, plus his name is silly lol
Yeah you can do that, you'll need to follow https://3ds.guide/finalizing-setup again to get all the homebrew stuff installed.
 

Xavv

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Location
My bed :3
XP
177
Country
United States
@Majickhat55 Thank you for telling me! ^-^

*Edit: Nevermind I googled this and now I know what it does, do you think turning on this option, will it harm the New 3ds in the future though?*

@Quantumcat Okie, doing that now. One last thing, I am curious about this option on the Luma configuration menu "New 3DS CPU: Off(x) Clock( ) L2( ) Clock+L2 ( )" I would like to know what does this do? will it make the new 3d's game faster or something? and what's the difference between the clock and L2 :D
 
Last edited by Xavv,

CrispyCola

zero-two
Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2017
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Location
the stars
XP
261
Country
United States
@Majickhat55 Thank you for telling me! ^-^

*Edit: Nevermind I googled this and now I know what it does, do you think turning on this option, will it harm the New 3ds in the future though?*

@Quantumcat Okie, doing that now. One last thing, I am curious about this option on the Luma configuration menu "New 3DS CPU: Off(x) Clock( ) L2( ) Clock+L2 ( )" I would like to know what does this do? will it make the new 3d's game faster or something? and what's the difference between the clock and L2 :D

Clock + L2 makes some games run faster if they’re not optimized to work with N3DS.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    But no.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    emulation isn't telling the silicon to perform a specific way, it's just translating the commands into something the cpu can understand
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    fpga runs them natively
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and i assume there is a level of verification that is not possible with emulation since you can actually probe the pins to verify that it behaves the exact same as real hardware
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    so it's easier to get it 1:1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    there aren't even virtual pins with emulation that you could "probe", it doesn't go that deep
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    So fpga PS2 when? Hehehe
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    fpga PS1 isn't even out yet
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Just saw an article about Anbernic rg40xxh as a "cheaper alternative to RG Cube". I love it when they do that.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "Etch-A-Sketch, cheaper alternative to the iPad"
    +1
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i guess they were thinking in emulation capabilities
  • Veho @ Veho:
    In emulation capabilities one can run Gamecube and the other can barely run n64.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    One is Android 13 and the other is Baked Beans OS 0.6 (I'm not even kidding)
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    PC ftw lol
  • Veho @ Veho:
    May I suggest a pocket calculator as a cheaper alternative?
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Veho you may be right, all in my PC is probably 1800 dollars and that's using refurbished and mid range parts lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Although some stats are pretty cool 38TBs of storage not counting external drives
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    People ask why so much.... ROM sets for even PS2 just eat up that much
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Why so much? Because we have it in our minds we need the latest and greatest when pc performance peaked at a consumer level
  • HUNTERFOX @ HUNTERFOX:
    Just finished getting the rest of the emulators on my 3ds. Now I have. gb/gba/sn64/snes/nes
    +3
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @HUNTERFOX, Nintendo ninjas are watching GBAtemp. ;)
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: @HUNTERFOX, Nintendo ninjas are watching GBAtemp. ;)