PSP Online problems

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by sa1amandra, Apr 16, 2009.

Apr 16, 2009

PSP Online problems by sa1amandra at 12:08 AM (1,507 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. sa1amandra
    OP

    Member sa1amandra Gazzaro Launching!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    Canada
    So i've been trying online on numerous games and the PSP browser feature
    I tried:
    The Browser
    MGS PO+
    Resistance Retribution

    I always got the same problem where there was a timeout since i could not get the IP. I entered it manually via the CMD.exe and typed IPCONFIG/ALL, but i could not find the code for Default Router. I tried putting in the Code under Default gateway but failed. Where do i find the Default Router code?
     
  2. chazam1337

    Member chazam1337 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    United States
    has it ever connected to the internet before?
     
  3. sa1amandra
    OP

    Member sa1amandra Gazzaro Launching!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    Canada
    worked at the router in a outlet at USA
    worked at a resturant with free internet
    worked at my friends house
    worked everywhere but HOME >
     
  4. chazam1337

    Member chazam1337 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    United States
    hmm, what brand router do you have at home?
     
  5. sa1amandra
    OP

    Member sa1amandra Gazzaro Launching!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    Canada
    TP-Link

    and i'm justing looking to find where i can find the Default Router code and see if that lets me online
     
  6. chazam1337

    Member chazam1337 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    United States
    hmm, do you have a ds or differnt psp that can connect?
     
  7. sa1amandra
    OP

    Member sa1amandra Gazzaro Launching!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    Canada
    my DS and Wii both could not connect
     
  8. chazam1337

    Member chazam1337 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    United States
    its most likely your router than, if you didnt know that already. I used to have a router that only let computers hook up to it.
     
  9. Tikker

    Member Tikker GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Canada

    lol

    that's hilarious on about 3 different levels
     
  10. velocity37

    Member velocity37 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    Find your computer's IP address. Add 20 to the last number, then manually set your PSP network parameters.

    So if your computer was:
    IP: 192.168.1.6
    Netmask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1 (this is synonymous with default router)
    Primary DNS: 192.168.1.1

    Set your PSP the same, except with the IP 192.168.1.26

    Kind of wonky that DHCP isn't working on your router, but that should work in lieu of fixing your DHCP without causing an IP conflict.

    If that doesn't work then you might want to poke around your wireless router and see if anything is strange. Do you have MAC address filtering enabled? Is your DHCP server disabled except for static IPs? Are you using WPA2 instead of WPA?
     
  11. sa1amandra
    OP

    Member sa1amandra Gazzaro Launching!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    Canada
    i got the error code 8041040F
    Tell me which settings i need enabled or disabled for this to work please
     
  12. commdante

    Member commdante GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Netherlands
    portforward.com should have all kinds of routerstuff, check there if you've lost your manual.

    I'm kinda thinking you don't have a router ... do you even have wifi?

    We don't have a magic glass ball that will show us your hardware and settings ... you should give more info instead of "help me, I can't connect". And you can google the error-codes of the PSP yourself.
    Read some manuals (PSP, router) etc.
     
  13. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DS can ONLY USE/connect to WEP encrypted router connections [​IMG]

    from wikihow


    ** Youtube only works on a hacked PSP using ULTIMATE PSPTUBE etc it will not work from the standard PSP Browser!
     
  14. sa1amandra
    OP

    Member sa1amandra Gazzaro Launching!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    Canada
    Did the exact things on the list and got

    __________________________________
    A connection error has occurred.
    The attempt to obtain the IP address
    timed out.

    Connection Name MYROUTER
    SSID MYROUTER
    __________________________________
     
  15. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    try this guide here
     
  16. sa1amandra
    OP

    Member sa1amandra Gazzaro Launching!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks, great link! i was able to fix it!!!
     
  17. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    no worries ...glad to help [​IMG]

    what exactly was the issue?!

    Tell us what you did to fix it .... then others here can benefit from your resolve [​IMG]
     
  18. sa1amandra
    OP

    Member sa1amandra Gazzaro Launching!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    Canada
    Well the site told me to use the WEP key given to me on the site, not the one on that was used as a password by my father >_> he said it was the WEP and i used it and failed. When i used the one found on the site, it worked.
    so...USE THE WEP KEY FOUND ON THE SITE, NOT THE ONE YOUR PARENTS TELL YOU XDDD
     
  19. Tikker

    Member Tikker GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    652
    Country:
    Canada

    well, that's kinda half right

    the WEP key is used to create 1-4 pass phrases

    the passphrase is what's actually used in the communication. sometimes you can just use the wep key, and your connection software will make the translation for you

    sometimes it won't at all
     

Share This Page