psp link problem.

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by GDragon, Aug 16, 2008.

Aug 16, 2008

psp link problem. by GDragon at 4:03 PM (2,156 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. GDragon
    OP

    Member GDragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok i i bought this Because i don't have wirless internet.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    now the problem is how to set it? the manual is in chinese and i can't understand it....please help!i really want to go online with my psp!
    Edit/Delete Message
     
  2. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    It's suppose to be plug and play with Windows XP. This means you don't need to install any sort of drivers. Once it's plugged in, you should be able to switch it into adhoc mode through the Windows Zero Configuration utility.
     
  3. GDragon
    OP

    Member GDragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    Canada
    When i plug it, it light flash green(so i suppose it works)
    Then when i scan for a internet connection on my psp theres no signal..
     
  4. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    First, you need to change the adapter to be in adhoc mode. I'm pretty sure it doesn't come that way. I don't have XP, so I can't really remember where to go, but you need to get into the Network configuration to change that option. Once you do, set your PSP game to scan, then use the Windows Zero Configuration tool to connect to the PSP.
     
  5. GDragon
    OP

    Member GDragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    Canada
    how do i do that?
     
  6. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Try Control Panel > Networking

    right-click on the wireless network adapter and then properties.

    Like I said, I don't have XP to walk you through this. That's as much as I remember.
     
  7. GDragon
    OP

    Member GDragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    Canada
    Do you know how to do it on vista then?
     
  8. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Open up Network and Sharing Center (you can get there from the Control Panel) then select Connect to Network. Start the game and have it scan for another PSP. Hit refresh (the two arrows) and it should pop up with a long name then just connect to it.
     
  9. GDragon
    OP

    Member GDragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    Canada
    It does connect but when i want to go into infrastructure mode it and i press scan it says there's no wireless hotspot(can't find any wireless internet.)
     
  10. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, you want to use it as an access point. Well, I'd need to know more information. What you're talking about is the ability to turn the wireless adapter into a softAP.

    The first thing, did it come with a CD of any kind? Secondly, what's the name that pops up in Device Manager?

    I need this information because some related drivers might be need for you to turn it into a softAP.
     
  11. GDragon
    OP

    Member GDragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    Canada
    ^
    1: Yes it did came with a CD and i installed it.(the small size CD to be precise.)
    2:What's Device Manager?
     
  12. m3rox

    Member m3rox GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    omg, I can't believe it's taken you this long to figure that out. I got it as soon as I looked at the first post.

    Jiggah, PSP's cannot connect to Adhoc networks. It's just not possible. The only time they use adhoc is when someone is doing the wireless multiplayer with someone close by.
     
  13. GDragon
    OP

    Member GDragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    171
    Country:
    Canada
    lol!
    Then why don't you help me out. [​IMG]
     
  14. m3rox

    Member m3rox GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    K, you don't need to worry about the device manager. Just install the CD, pop in the adapter, and you should be good to go. Also, see if there is an icon on the bottom right corner of your screen for your adapter. You may need to set it to infrastructure. There's also the possibility that you just need to restart your computer.
     
  15. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    First off, PSP's CAN indeed connect to Adhoc networks that are not PSPs, that's precisely how Xlink works, which is what I thought he was trying to do. Instead, what he wanted is the ability to change the wifi adapter into a software access point. BTW, it's great that you got it, but have provided ZERO help in what to do.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k69jPfpxosc

    There that should would be the way to set it up into an access point
     
  16. m3rox

    Member m3rox GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    Your ignorance is amusing.

    Please, show me some proof of this. I'm willing to bet you can not. And the info I provided him is helpful. Just because you know nothing about electronics, doesn't mean others don't.
     
  17. Sstew

    Member Sstew GBAtemp's Grim Reaper.

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    I seriously dont think a PSP can cannot to the internet through Adhoc.
     
  18. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    You mean this:

    http://www.teamxlink.co.uk/

    Here's the PSP section from their forum:

    http://www.teamxlink.co.uk/forum/viewforum...4e233ab3b8ca208

    Take a look at it and read it completely. Seriously, when did people become so ignorant.

    Not only that. There are numerous topics on this forum regarding getting Xlink up and running. And guess what? It runs through Adhoc mode.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vRfMBmkcaYs

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZ9Ww-aT-_o

    Again. Thanks for providing no help at all!
     
  19. m3rox

    Member m3rox GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    It's all infrastructure bud. You've obviously got no idea what adhoc really is.
     
  20. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Obviously, you didn't even look at the links. If you choose to remain ignorant that's fine by me, but don't mislead other people.

    The games shown on the videos only have adhoc mode (local wireless play). There is no infrastructure play mode at all. It's definitely not infrastructure mode since you have to manually connect to the PSP for a computer-to-computer network (adhoc) which then uses the bridged internet connection to play online.
     

Share This Page