PSP-GBA Emulator

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Dotmore, Jun 26, 2012.

Jun 26, 2012

PSP-GBA Emulator by Dotmore at 11:13 AM (6,253 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. Dotmore
    OP

    Member Dotmore GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    657
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm currently using gpSP-J, but i happen to notice some minor slowdowns in Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Red, while in dungeons.

    Is this the best GBA Emulator to be around?
     
  2. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Try gpSP Kai.
     
  3. Dotmore
    OP

    Member Dotmore GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    657
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I don't appear to be able to load my Savefile, nor SaveState from gpSP-J in gpSP Kai. Ain't it possible?
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The two emulators want a different file/folder structure. IIRC one wants the saves and such relative to the ROMs, while the other wants it all in a "GBA" folder inside where the emulator is.
     
  5. Dotmore
    OP

    Member Dotmore GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    657
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I decided to start a new game on gpSP Kai, it runs smooth, but i cannot save the game. I guess because the Save settings of Kai are different. Can i change this?
     
  6. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,762
    Country:
    United States
    kia has option to
    update th save
    2 way

    when you save(automatic) and on Exit Only (use the exit option in the menu)

    in the Misc section of the menu
    set Update backup to automatic and it will update the save right after you save
     
  7. Dotmore
    OP

    Member Dotmore GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    657
    Country:
    Netherlands


    Will it say in my game ''Save successfull'' instead of ''Save failed''?
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    If it tries to save but fails, make sure none of the folders on your memory stick involved are read-only.
     
  9. Dotmore
    OP

    Member Dotmore GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    657
    Country:
    Netherlands
    None of the folder were ''Read Only''

    Im guessing it is the same as with VBA. In there, you get a Save failed whenever the save type of the emulator is different then what is required for the game. (For example, 64kb, 128kb 256 kb etc)

    Can i change this for gpSP?
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    AFAIK it's auto-detected, I haven't had to mess with that for any of the games I've used.
     
  11. Dotmore
    OP

    Member Dotmore GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    657
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So im either stuck with:

    A: gpSP-J which runs the game in half speed, but can save properly
    b: gpSP- Kai which runs the game at full speed but can't save properly, except for Savestates, which mean i cannot play the content after i have beaten the game?
     
  12. Dotmore
    OP

    Member Dotmore GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    657
    Country:
    Netherlands
    After searching a bit, i noticed i got the same problems as with http://gbatemp.net/t...in-gpsp-kai-32/


    There lies my problem..

    I have found the problem and fixed it.

    In the config file, the game code of mystery dungeon was B24E, while in truth, the game has B24P as code. (Or atleast my ROM) So after putting the right code, i can save,load my game.
     
  13. Palom

    Member Palom Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    United States
    Could be your ROM, because mine worked fine without altering the config file, but I'm glad to know that you got it working for you.

    The PSP is great, isn't it?
     
  14. Dotmore
    OP

    Member Dotmore GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    657
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Another question, i have downloaded Classic NES: Super mario bros from multiple sources now, but they all give me the error: bad Jump on gpSP Kai and gpSP-J
    Is there a fix for this?
     
  15. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,762
    Country:
    United States
    Classic NES. do not work on GPSP (there may need to be something done to the emulator to get Classic NES roms, to work)

    so
    use a Nes emulator to run the NES Rom of the game
    NesterJ work well,try
    this one
     
  16. f.bossing

    Newcomer f.bossing Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Philippines
    Dotmore pls help me we have the same problem "save failed" in pokemon red rescue team
     
  17. Zeliga

    Member Zeliga One step closer.

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Messages:
    191
    Location:
    Kalos
    Country:
    Try another gba emulator :D
     

Share This Page