PS1 SCPH-5500 modded with MM3 chip.

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by DinohScene, Feb 26, 2012.

Feb 26, 2012
  1. DinohScene
    OP

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,887
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    So I've chipped a PS1 for a friend of mine yesterday.
    The installation of the chip went flawlessly.
    However, now he can't seem to boot any backup.

    I've searched for hours over the web for solutions and methods but they all failed to give me an answer.

    Now is my question.

    Do I have to patch the backups with PPF-o-matic?
    and
    How do I correctly burn them to a CD?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Dust2dust

    Member Dust2dust GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    470
    Country:
    Canada
    PS1, huh? (Setting the time machine back to around 1999).

    No need for PPF patches, unless the game has anti-modchip code (Dino Crisis, some Spyro games... search on Google) Some modchips were stealth and could avoid detection.

    To burn correctly the games, I was using CDRWin. I'm not even sure if this app still exists, but it made flawless copy, even with games with red book audio (mostly the early PS1 games 1995-96)
     
  3. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Are you positive the PIC Chip was flashed already, before you installed it? It sounds like this is your problem. This is of course, saying your install is perfect. Since you haven't mentioned it, I'm assuming genuine games boot correctly?

    **Note**
    You don't need CDRWin, you can use IMGburn to burn PS1/PSX backups, plus it's free and continuously updated.
     
  4. DinohScene
    OP

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,887
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I've ordered it from Eurasia, and installed it using this diagram

    The disc does spin up and it does read but it boots to the PS1 BIOS.
     
  5. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    After digging around for about an hour now Dino, I think this thread might either answer your question, or give you two alternate solder points that could rectify the issues. link :)
     
  6. DinohScene
    OP

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,887
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I shall try and resolder some points asap.

    Could it be that the laser POT need to be tweaked?
     
  7. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Extremely doubtful judging from that threads comments and my past experience. If you have a multi-meter tweak it to check first. Then re-solder.
     
  8. DinohScene
    OP

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,887
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Alright.

    I shall try it and if it still doesn't boot any game then I'll resolder the chip.

    Thank you for the help!
     
  9. jinnpan

    Member jinnpan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    Could you post some high res picture so I can make sure everything is installed correctly.

    Here is a picture of one of my installs in a SCPH-5501
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page