PS1 MOD

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by euanadixon, Aug 31, 2009.

Aug 31, 2009

PS1 MOD by euanadixon at 4:40 PM (1,322 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. euanadixon
    OP

    Newcomer euanadixon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well i just booted up my old psone (i say old but its the newer slimmer one), anyway i was wondering if there was anyway to softmod the psone so that it can play US backups, if not does anyone know where to find pal isos? i really want to play the classics so any advice is appreciated.
     
  2. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,763
    Country:
    United States
    HACKED PSP FTW
    with a psp that has CFW you can play ps1 ANY where
    ISO are the SAME as ROMs DONT ask for them

    use a PC emulator , http://www.epsxe , is a good one
     
  3. euanadixon
    OP

    Newcomer euanadixon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i don't want an emulator [​IMG]
    also im not asking for an iso just for someone to point me in the right direction
    oh and i have a mac [​IMG]
     
  4. TwinRetro

    Global Moderator TwinRetro Don't start nothin', Won't be nothin'

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,181
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Country:
    United States
    there is no such thing as a PS1 soft mod. you have to use a mod chip. period. end of story.
     
  5. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  6. PerfectB

    Newcomer PerfectB Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Search for something called a Breaker Pro. It is similar to Swap Magic on the PS2; it is a disc that you boot, and then swap to your backup and play. It requires the disc tray sensor to be fooled into thinking it is always closed, but the version I got had a spring for the original PS1 and a sticker thing that holds the trip switch on the slimmer PSone. It took me forever to find a site that would ship to America, but if you're in Europe it should be easier because there were a lot of sites that shipped exclusively over there (I'm guessing Europe since you were asking about PAL ISOs).
     
  7. lakaiskateboarding

    Member lakaiskateboarding GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
  8. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Anyway, does the double-disk-swap trick not work on the PSone? It works on my chunky old PSX.
     
  9. euanadixon
    OP

    Newcomer euanadixon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah i heard about the booster disc might have to invest in one of those
     
  10. euanadixon
    OP

    Newcomer euanadixon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    (slaps himself_) THANK YOU this works great...now i need pal isos which seem to be in short supply on the internet
    ____nothing suspicious has ever been written here____
     
  11. jphriendly

    Member jphriendly GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United States
    Hate to rain on your parade but, I suggest you edit your last post in accordance with the site rules.

     
  12. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    NTSC backups work fine on my PAL PSX with the double-disk-swap thing. I obtained my 'backups' from popular torrent sites.
     
  13. eSPy

    Member eSPy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    Canada
  14. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    i got a old Fat psx wtih a 4 wire mod chip that i added a switch to so i can turn it off when mod protected games boot so it can't detect the chip.before i got i swap trick worked fine but i scratched the living hell out of most my backups doing it, had to reburn games pretty often then.
     

Share This Page