Program to edit the extra fan that's connected to the case?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Satangel, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. Satangel
    OP

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hi,

    I have 3 fans in my case, 1 for the GPU, 1 for the CPU and 1 extra fan that is attached to the case.
    How can I edit the one for the CPU and the one that is attached to the case?
    Can I do that with Everest?

    And my GPU is around 40 degrees Celsuis according to Everest, but still the fan for it is running at 2700 RPM's, which produces a lot of sound.
    I'm just in Windows, browsing and listening to music and still it's spinning like crazy!
     
  2. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What video card do you have? Riva tuner can change fan proramns afaik (gpu). As for the case fan, maybe speedfan?
     
  3. Satangel
    OP

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I have a Nvidia Geforce 8800GTS 512 MB.

    But I rebooted my system, and it's all fixed now, the GPU fan doesn't make a lot of sound anymore.
    It's all back to normal now.

    I have Riva Tuner and I have Speedfan.
    But in Speedfan, I tried lowering the speeds of the fans to hear what fans were which fans in the system, but I didn't hear a real difference.
    Do I have to press another button or so? I just changed the values to 0 and listened for 10 seconds or so.
     
  4. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,191
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    are the fans 4 pin?
     
  5. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Happens all the time to my 8800 GT, i dunno why, but just like you, i restart and then its fine.

    i wonder why though ?
     
  6. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you can't actually control case fans unless they are connected to your motherboard in some way, a lot of case fans just connect directly to your power supply, which will require a fan controller to control
     

Share This Page