Problems with GBA finding save data on M3 Real

Discussion in 'GBA - Flashing Hardware and Software' started by wellrested, Jan 12, 2010.

Jan 12, 2010
  1. wellrested
    OP

    Newcomer wellrested Newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    So, I just switched over to an M3 Real from the older R4. I love the new card etc. etc., and I ADORE the ability to play GBA games, but I'm having issues where a few games (specifically the Golden Sun titles & the Zelda: LTP/4S) cannot seem to find the "save media" or somesuch. A little reading tells me that the RTS can work around this, but I cannot for the life of me figure out how to turn it on. Advice/suggestions appreciated; I've spent an hour or two forum scouring and cannot make heads or tails of it. A few places seem to indicate that I need a slot-2 loader, which would be a real bummer as I bought the RAM expansion/rumble thinking it needed the RAM.

    Also, if it makes a difference re: using a patcher, I'm running on OS X.
    ~Adam
     
  2. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You will need to use the M3 game manager to patch the game for compatibility mode.

    http://filetrip.net/f2397-M3-Game-Manager-36a.html


    Since your on a mac, you will need to use a virtual machine like VMware or Virtualbox to run windows. Then you set up a share folder between the host comp and the guest system so you can pass files back and forth.
     
  3. wellrested
    OP

    Newcomer wellrested Newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, brother. I was afraid it'd be something like that... I don't have all that set up, and I suppose OS X users are such a minority, no one would bother to build the program. Alas. Thanks again.
    ~Adam
     
  4. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    sorry but GBA dev ended a few years ago, everything currently on the market for GBA is whats left over.

    The other option to not having to use a patcher is to use an external loader like gba exploader, where it does the autopatching for you on the fly (patches the game while it is putting it into the RAM).


    Since your on the M3, you will need to use the 0.58b unbanning patch.


    http://filetrip.net/f4135-GBA-Exploader-0-58X-M3-Patch.html

    You will also need this version to patch:
    http://filetrip.net/f3680-GBA-ExpLoader-0-58b.html


    gba exploader does patch the game on the fly correctly for Golden Sun titles & the Zelda: LTP/4S.

    You should be able to find a patcher here:
    http://filetrip.net/c125-ROM-Patchers--Header-info.html




    Here is a patched version already done if you want only that:
    http://www.sendspace.com/file/lq850q


    When you use it, it will give you a fake error message that looks like this. Just ignore it by pressing A and it will work like normal.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  5. wellrested
    OP

    Newcomer wellrested Newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    You, sir, are a saint, and I thank you for it.
     
  6. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Read the second link in my sig, so you know about a bug with this setup.



    I prefer not to patch something if I don't have to.
     

Share This Page