Hacking PS1/2 Problem with Modbo 5 on V3 PS2

obibann

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 17, 2014
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
133
Country
France
Hi everyone,

I'm asking for help about a weird issue on a SCPH 30004 PS2 (GH-007 motherboard, Bios nogap) with a Modbo 5.0 (1.93).
I use these chips regularly and usually everything is fine. But this time I encounter the following problem.

At first, the chip seems to work properly :

- The console starts with Matrix logo
- PS2 games start (original + backup)
- PS1 games start (original + backup)
- PS1 imports start (I could only test a backup)

So far so good !

But if I put the console into standby mode after I played a game, the console displays a black screen when I start it back !
If I switch of the power supply then switch on and start it, the console works fine again ! Even if I reset. And it continues to do so until I put it in standby mode.
If no game is played, the console will start normally after standby. But if I played a game, I have a black screen after standby.

Ouf course I checked and re-checked the solders and connections dozen of times. All connections look fine.

However, it was not so easy to find the correct diagram, as I had to mix 2 diagrams. But I think all is Ok because as soon as I unplug a wire, the chip is disabled (no Matrix Logo).

I attached the 2 diagrams I used.

I followed "v3_install.jpg" for all points except "R" as I have a chip here on my PS2 ...

v3_install.jpg


I used an alternate "R" from "V3 C-Chassis Modbo Diagram.jpg"
V3 C-Chassis Modbo Diagram.jpg



Thank you,

Regards,

Benjamin.

PS : and a happy new year !
 

obibann

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 17, 2014
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
133
Country
France
Edit :

I was wrong, I have a black screen every time I go to standby mode and restart the console. It's not depending on playing before or not. Seems like the bios injection fails after standby, but why ?

Why I have tried :

- Another modbo chip : no change
- Rewirering critical points (CX, 3.3, GND, MNOPTUVR) : no change
- Desoldering non-bios related wires (A, B, H, G, I) : no change

I really don't understand what happens !

In a nutshell :

- Starting the console after plugging it works great, backups + original works great, continues to work great when I restart.
- Putting the console in standby leads to black screen when I start it back ... The only way to fix it to switch off the power supply.

Below some pictures to illustrate :

- In yellow : don't mind, not connected, I tried alternate +3.3v point + all DVD drive related wires disconnect for test.
- In red : what is this chip ? In all diagrams this spot is free.

modbo_v3.jpg


- Thicker wire for CX to avoid interferences
IMG_20220120_112156.jpg
 
Last edited by obibann,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

obibann

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 17, 2014
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
133
Country
France
@obibann

"SCPH 30004 PS2 (GH-007 motherboard, Bios nogap)"

But you used the GAP one.

The Chip you have circled in RED is the NO-GAP BIOS, where you have to solder MNOP and QTUVW.
Hi, thanks for the reply :)

Actually it's fine. Using these points is for nogap as well.

If you look at this other diagram :
1642675713070.png


I have the description of pins for the nogap bios chip. I tested and it matches with this :
1642675605379.png
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

obibann

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 17, 2014
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
133
Country
France
If what I circled in red is the BIOS, what is it in blue ? I doubt that this console has 2 BIOS chip. Kind of weird though !

bios_or not_bios.jpg
 

x7l7j8cc

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Messages
65
Trophies
0
Location
Italy
XP
1,290
Country
Italy
i'll attach you the Messiah2 Diagram...
its pretty similar.

Try to solder MNOP and QTUVW directly to the BIOS...
 

Attachments

  • Messiah2_v3_Install(1.2c).pdf
    1.1 MB · Views: 27
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

x7l7j8cc

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Messages
65
Trophies
0
Location
Italy
XP
1,290
Country
Italy
I just see one thing that is very confusing..

The ModBo tells you to solder MNOP and QTUVW on the BOTTOM SIDE (where CX and SX is, the Chip you circled in BLUE in the last Photo).

Meanwhile, the Messiah2 tells you to solder on the TOP SIDE (the Chip you circled in RED, in the second post)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

obibann

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 17, 2014
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
133
Country
France
I just see one thing that is very confusing..

The ModBo tells you to solder MNOP and QTUVW on the BOTTOM SIDE (where CX and SX is, the Chip you circled in BLUE in the last Photo).

Meanwhile, the Messiah2 tells you to solder on the TOP SIDE (the Chip you circled in RED, in the second post)
Exactly... It's like there are 2 BIOS on this board ... Very weird. I'll try the Messiah wiring to see if it's better.
 

x7l7j8cc

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Messages
65
Trophies
0
Location
Italy
XP
1,290
Country
Italy
from messiah2 install pdf, troubleshooting page...

Code:
Screen remains black:
Assuming that the electrons were whirling initially, then this is usually a mis-install on the BIOS,
often MNOP.

.... and possibly a fuse has blown ...

If you have a memory card inserted, try removing it. ... Check fuse PS7 (or S7).
This might be accompanied by a loss of controller vibration.

And anyway, the Modbo 5.0 isnt compatible with V3 PS2 for what i know... is compatible from V5 through V18.
 
Last edited by x7l7j8cc,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

obibann

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 17, 2014
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
133
Country
France
For sure it's not a fuse as it works until I go standby.
Compatibility is written from V1 to V18 where I bought it.

Good news, I have some improvement !
First, the "R" point was at the left of the component on my diagram, on the right of it on yours. And it seems yours is correct as I can get a connection to the BIOS chip.
Then I soldered everything directly on the chip as advised in your PDF.

But still, black screen issues. The wiring seems good.

However, it seems to be a partial compatibility. If I disable option "PS2 color fix", I no longer have black screens most of the time !

I'm now pretty sure it's a compatibility issue with some options. I'll try to find the best set of options.
 

obibann

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 17, 2014
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
133
Country
France
I wrote too fast, or I was lucky : still have the problem ....

It seems to be solved ! The trick is to solder "R" directly to the BIOS chip with a wire as short as possible. I was able to guess what pin it is thanks to your PDF x7l7j8cc. Thanks a lot !

Below the updated diagram.

bios_with_r.jpg
 
Last edited by obibann,

obibann

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 17, 2014
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
133
Country
France
Unfortunatly it is not resolved. It worked for a bit but after some time, I have the problem again. It's like it happens now when the console is warm, after I played a bit. The BIOS injection fails if the console was in standby mode.
 

x7l7j8cc

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Messages
65
Trophies
0
Location
Italy
XP
1,290
Country
Italy
Unfortunatly it is not resolved. It worked for a bit but after some time, I have the problem again. It's like it happens now when the console is warm, after I played a bit. The BIOS injection fails if the console was in standby mode.

Sorry if i didnt answer before...

Anyway, can you please try to remove the W wire?
Because, in the messiah2 install pdf if you see, the W is for GAP only Bios. Even if after tells you to solder it.
Give it a try.

If still doesnt work, i think this means the Modbo 5.0 is not really compatible with the first revision of ps2.
In fact, normally the modbo 5.0 isnt compatible with v1~v4.
Try to find a messiah2 chip, is very good in this, even if you have to switch modes manually from ps2 to ps1/dvd.
Much more reliable for this first revision up to v9.
 
Last edited by x7l7j8cc,
  • Like
Reactions: Alexander1970

obibann

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 17, 2014
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
133
Country
France
Unfortunatly, "W" wire is required. I unsoldered it and the chip is no longer detected.

I was not able to find a messiah2 chip online. I guess it's no longer for sale.... The only one I can find is the Modbo 5.
 
Last edited by obibann,

x7l7j8cc

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Messages
65
Trophies
0
Location
Italy
XP
1,290
Country
Italy
You can still buy a Genuine Duo3 Ultra from Here (costs around 47€).
Otherwise a Genuine Matrix Infinity from Here (costs a lot, 117€).

The site is the same (different pages). Ships from EU (Sweden/Poland, depends).
Payments are done only with Credit Cards/Google Pay or Bank Transfer.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    NoobletCheese @ NoobletCheese: here is a good summary https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKYiISAYCm0