Problem with hacking my Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by soldevice, Jun 17, 2010.

Jun 17, 2010

Problem with hacking my Wii by soldevice at 6:16 AM (1,530 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. soldevice
    OP

    Newcomer soldevice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I saw the sticky above.

    Anyway, I installed the homebrew channel and got into it. However, when I load up the homebrew channel, only bubbles come out. No options to download content like I saw before when I had my Wii hacked (don't ask why it isn't anymore, long story). I searched and found out I had to download the emulators, apps, etc. from my computer and add them to my card manually, so I did. However, the problem was not solved. After I extracted the zip (SNES emu) folder onto the root of my card and re-inserted it back to the Wii, there was no change in the homebrew channel menu. Help...what could I be doing wrong? It worked so well the first time... =/


    Thanks
    -soldevice
     


  2. transam81

    Member transam81 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Central California
    Country:
    United States
    you have to do more then just install the HBC. the guide continues, you now have to complete the section modify 4.2. you still have not install the needed cIOS.
     
  3. remixer

    Newcomer remixer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, did you put the downlaods you want for HBC into an APPS folder ?? if you did did you rename the apps that you want to BOOT.DOL inside thier own folder ?
    the bubble mean it isn't finding what you want it to load so something is wrong with the way you have them on the card

    the layout should look like

    APPS
    BLAH
    BLAH

    INSIDE APPS should be folders

    MYAPP1
    MYAPP2

    and so on

    then inside MYAPP1 should be BOOT.DOL

    try that !!
     
  4. tatripp

    Member tatripp GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    349
    Country:
    United States
    I think you have to create an apps folder and put the stuff in there.
    root/apps/(name of snes emu)/ .dol file
     
  5. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    You need to read some more.
     
  6. soldevice
    OP

    Newcomer soldevice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I have already done everything in that, but it will not read the homebrew browser. Will I have to get the apps off of my computer?





    NVM! I got it! Thanks for the help, guys! =)
     
  7. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Finally put them in the correct folder you mean and named them correctly lol
     
  8. soldevice
    OP

    Newcomer soldevice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Well, now my emulators are having a fit. I placed them all in the folder and in the manner the guide told me to do. The games are playing like normal, but when I try to load or save, the emulators (all of them GBA, NES, SNES) all have directory problems and will not open or save any states. >.<

    Cursed 4.2 update. It had to make things troublesome. It was so much easier before. -.-


    Also, what is the "WadManager" folder in the guide creator's example? Did he put the initial six wad files that he installed into that folder? Cuz mine are all on the root. Could that be a problem?
     
  9. Gnargle

    Member Gnargle The day I set a profile picture is the day I die

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, it couldn't. WADs install from anywhere.

    You have installed the WADs, right?
    If they have directory problems, it's probably because you need to manually create the directories.
     
  10. soldevice
    OP

    Newcomer soldevice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I have installed all of the wads. I followed the guide to the teeth. I even installed the Priiloader despite the fact that I didn't need to since I installed Bootmii as both an IOS and boot2.

    I created the save and rom folders for each of the emulators. Was I supposed to create anything else in those folders?
     
  11. TRushInfo

    Banned TRushInfo Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    another noob that doesnt know how to read....................... its not hard to just follow the guide you know
     
  12. soldevice
    OP

    Newcomer soldevice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States

    Oh, gee. You're nice.

    Anyway, like I said, I read through the entire tutorial and followed it step by step, so don't talk down to me. I doubt you appreciate it when people are douches to you.
     
  13. TRushInfo

    Banned TRushInfo Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    dont care son
     
  14. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    is it that hard to follow the damn TUT?
    dont just read the guide lines READ EVERYTHING
    your are not especial, the guide is made for u

    imagine that the info is a buffet... just help yourself
     
  15. soldevice
    OP

    Newcomer soldevice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I did read everything. So far, nothing there solves or answers my problem. Hence, why I'm asking it in a separate topic. I helped myself more than once. =/
     
  16. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    if u did read, then it's safe to say that u dont know how to read sense u still dont know how to set your sd card...

    look at the pretty pictures in the guide, they may help...
     
  17. soldevice
    OP

    Newcomer soldevice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Condescending little... Not all of us are as familiar with this stuff as you or the other guy before you. If you don't have an answer or don't intend to answer in a way that can help me, guess what? You can ignore me if my meek little brain annoys you. So sorry for wasting your valuable time, oh, king of the dorks. >.>

    And yes, I did look at the "pretty pictures", but the problem arose even AFTER I placed them in the manner the guide creator posted.
     
  18. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    well m8
    what i know, i know by reading ALOT
    but you want us to feed you in a silver plater...
    i did helped u by indicating what u are doing wrong and the solution is at your disposal
    now, do u wanna keep being a useless noob or do you want to learn what the hell you are doing?

    myself i picked the second option and thats why usually im helping ppl with REAL problems and i dont usually ask for help...
     
  19. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    Are you using an SD-HC Card, more than 2GB?

    If so, maybe the emu's are not compatable, if so, maybe try a 2GB or less as a test?
     
  20. elimist

    Member elimist GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Country:
    United States
    why isn't your wii hacked anymore?
     

Share This Page