Problem with getting to Command Prompt using Windows 7 Recovery Disc

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Delta517, Jun 7, 2012.

  1. Delta517
    OP

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
    Hi! :D So I'm trying to fix a friends PC, since it won't boot up. I readt some online on it and a lot of people suggested to reinstall the MBR using the Command Prompt on the W7 Recovery Disc. The problem I have is that I choose my recovery disc, click Repair Computer, selects my Windows 7 installation, but as soon as I click next it automatically starts the Startup Repair, not letting me choose anything. :S I tried letting the startup repair fix it, but of course it says that it couldnt locate the problem -.- I also tried booting "Safe Mode and Safe Mode with Command line", but to no success :(

    Help? :)
     
  2. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Here you go http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/windows-7-recovery-environment-command-prompt/ .
     
  3. Delta517
    OP

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
  4. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    You don't have to go all the way to whatever just press shift-f10 as soon as you get into windows install.
     
  5. Delta517
    OP

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
    Thanks! :D This worked perfectly! :D Sadly I didn't fix my problems with the PC :( The problem is that it goes directly into Startup Repair right before the Windows Logo starts it animations... :( Any ideas from you awesome people? :)

    EDIT: BTW what I tried was the command "bootrec /fixmbr", but it didn't fix the problem :/
     
  6. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    What is it exactly saying when it won't boot up?

    You can do a upgrade windows 7 on the disc (with same version of windows) to refix the boot stuff.
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    Windows 7 is convenient with this kind of problems because can can boot from a vhd therefore you don
     

Share This Page