Problem with FF8

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by FoolishDreamer, Apr 24, 2011.

Apr 24, 2011

Problem with FF8 by FoolishDreamer at 11:49 PM (718 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. FoolishDreamer
    OP

    Newcomer FoolishDreamer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    So I'm trying to play a non psn version FF8 on my psp but now, after about 10 hours of gaming it keeps freezing in battle (usually when I try to cast magic).
    I've tried switching to popsload 4.01 to 3.91 to 3.51 but nothing really changed.
    I think the problem may be the eboot so now I'm probably going to try with some other version (maybe the psn version will work fine) except that I don't really want to lose my saves.


    So, to make it short, since I'm already 10 hours in the game, is there a way to keep my saves if I switch the eboot? How can I do it?
     
  2. realveemon

    Member realveemon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
  3. dib

    Member dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like somebody didn't check the compatibility list. It would have told you how to get around this well known issue.
     
  4. FoolishDreamer
    OP

    Newcomer FoolishDreamer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    ...yea I guess I didn't.
    Now is there a way to change the game id and still use the same save file?
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    IIRC you can just rename the save folder (it contains the ID).
     
  6. dib

    Member dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Country:
    United States
    I think you're right. I'm trying to recall the time I played FFVIII and Chrono Cross on Pops and I don't think I had to start over after changing IDs to get around some other issues (Chrono Cross' disc swap was a pain in the arse)

    Did the savestates plugin work with Pops? Or the one built into Cheatmaster Fusion? Because that would be a good solution.
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I actually haven't tried CMFusion's state thing with PSX games (I use CWCheat for PSX games for it's memory card management so I can import my saves from the PC properly), I'd fire it up and test but I don't have any PSX games loaded right now.

    I do know that CMFusion was functional for POPS under 5.x, and since it dumps/uploads the entirety of RAM (including system components) I'm going to say it should work.
     

Share This Page