1. FoolishDreamer

    OP FoolishDreamer Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    So I'm trying to play a non psn version FF8 on my psp but now, after about 10 hours of gaming it keeps freezing in battle (usually when I try to cast magic).
    I've tried switching to popsload 4.01 to 3.91 to 3.51 but nothing really changed.
    I think the problem may be the eboot so now I'm probably going to try with some other version (maybe the psn version will work fine) except that I don't really want to lose my saves.


    So, to make it short, since I'm already 10 hours in the game, is there a way to keep my saves if I switch the eboot? How can I do it?
     
  2. realveemon

    realveemon GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
  3. dib

    dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,575
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like somebody didn't check the compatibility list. It would have told you how to get around this well known issue.
     
  4. FoolishDreamer

    OP FoolishDreamer Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    ...yea I guess I didn't.
    Now is there a way to change the game id and still use the same save file?
     
  5. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    IIRC you can just rename the save folder (it contains the ID).
     
  6. dib

    dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,575
    Country:
    United States
    I think you're right. I'm trying to recall the time I played FFVIII and Chrono Cross on Pops and I don't think I had to start over after changing IDs to get around some other issues (Chrono Cross' disc swap was a pain in the arse)

    Did the savestates plugin work with Pops? Or the one built into Cheatmaster Fusion? Because that would be a good solution.
     
  7. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    I actually haven't tried CMFusion's state thing with PSX games (I use CWCheat for PSX games for it's memory card management so I can import my saves from the PC properly), I'd fire it up and test but I don't have any PSX games loaded right now.

    I do know that CMFusion was functional for POPS under 5.x, and since it dumps/uploads the entirety of RAM (including system components) I'm going to say it should work.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Problem,