Problem with 4gb SanDisk microSD and R4

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by gast, Oct 19, 2008.

Oct 19, 2008
  1. gast
    OP

    Newcomer gast Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Sweden
    I'm helping a friend with her R4, getting some roms and updated firmware for her new card.
    But it gets stuck at "Loading.." when I try to start it.
    Could it be that the R4 doesn't support memory cards that're that large?
    I tried with firmware 1.18 as well as 1.10.

    Any suggestions? [​IMG]

    Update: Tried running the R4 with my own 1gb microSD card that I use for my M3 (swapped firmware first), and it ran fine.
    So I suppose R4/M3 won't work with 4gb memory cards.


    So my new question would be: Is there a work-around for this? Or do I simply have to get a smaller memory card?
     
  2. Sticks

    Member Sticks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    Australia
    No workaround, the hardware isn't compatible with SDHC cards. You'll need to get her a 2GB card.
     
  3. mannie

    Newcomer mannie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Groningen, holland, europe
    Country:
    Netherlands
    it's know that R4DS only works with 1 and 2gb cards
     
  4. gast
    OP

    Newcomer gast Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Sweden
    Roger that.
    Thanks for the help. [​IMG]
     
  5. tedmg09130913

    Member tedmg09130913 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    United States
    Someone posted about how they made a 4 giga byte no sdhc card work in the wii. They filled up half the free memory space on the card with a couple of large files that they didn't want on the card. These were necessary to limit the free space on the card to about the free space on a 2 giga byte non sdhc card. After they had put the files they wanted on the card they deleted the unwanted files thus freeing up about another 2 giga bytes on the card. It may be that this same method could work on a 4 giga byte non sdhc card in the r4 thus giving 4 giga bytes on the r4. It seems the idea is to limit the amount of free space that is seen on the card at once:(to 2 giga bytes or less).
     
  6. T1nmaN

    Newcomer T1nmaN Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    Canada
  7. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    your also not trying to use the search feature or google. its a clone kit, its not an official r4 kit. it runs decrypted/hacked firmware and used a different pcb which has an sdhc added slot.

    -another world
     
  8. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what has a non SDHC card in a wii got to do with a SDHC micro sd in an R4 ds card ??

    SDHC will not work on an ORIGINAL/REAL R4 period!! reason its a HARDWARE ISSUE! the hardware being the memcard slot!
     

Share This Page