Problem updating the shop channel

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by erolz, Nov 19, 2009.

Nov 19, 2009
  1. erolz
    OP

    Member erolz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hi,

    I am trying to update the shop channel on my 4.0E Wii.
    I tried the 4.2 safe updater but this app tries to get v17 while the shop is now at v18.
    the installer reboots to the HBC.

    I tried WiiSCU,
    IOS 61 as -trucha and choose to update wii shop.
    Content 1/10 ..done
    ...etc
    Content 7/10 ..done
    error request....
    the installer reboots to the HBC.

    Is there an other way to update the shop channel?
    thank you!
     
  2. Sabin_Figaro

    Member Sabin_Figaro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    Colombia
    how many free blocks do you have?
     
  3. dai-a

    Member dai-a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Springville Utah
    Country:
    United States
    Get NUS downloader from wiibrew. Click the box Pack--->Wad

    And then get Shopping channelv18. Install via wad manager
     
  4. erolz
    OP

    Member erolz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    Belgium
    wich title id and version should I grab in NUS? (got a 4.0E Wii)
    is this the right one?
    0x0001000248414241 v18
     
  5. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    use NUSdownlopader beta3. it just has a drop down menu.

    Pick database, system channels, shopping channel, latest version. (v18)

    just go to wiibrew.org for the latest version of nusDownloader.
     
  6. erolz
    OP

    Member erolz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    Belgium
    just did. nusDownloader gives me this message:
    --- Shopping Channel ---
    Starting NUS Download. Please be patient!
    Grabbing tmd...
    Grabbing cetk...
    Searching for certs...
    - Cert CA-CP Located!
    - Cert CA Located!
    - Cert CA-XS Located!
    Requires: IOS61
    Content #: 18
    Total Size: 25911960 bytes
    Grabbing 00000052... (435904 bytes)
    etc..

    Do i need to install IOS61 before upgrading the shop c hannel?
     
  7. dai-a

    Member dai-a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Springville Utah
    Country:
    United States
    Yes install IOS61 via wad manager if you download IOS61(Latest version) through Nus Downloader.

    OR Run DOP IOS MODv8, choose IOS249 and install IOS61 with no hash check
     
  8. jono400

    Newcomer jono400 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Same problem here guys updated my shop channel last night with the aid off the above programme also added the ios61 required, browsed the wii shop last night without being asked to update my 4.1 e system, tried again today but unfortunatly just getting a white screen after it loads up, i have tried the internet test and the wiiflow loader is loading up new covers okay from the net so looks like its the actual wii channel thats playing up.

    could be just the actual site that is down ?? again tried internet testand it confirmed that the test was succusful and did I want to update - obviously pressed no thank you !!!

    white screen after the wii shop channel loads ?? site down or what ??

    p.s can anyone confirm if I download the internet channel browser from the wii shop that it will indeed be the latest version and that I wont require to install another wad to trick the server into thinking I have the latest firmware installed anyway ?? obviously dont want to download and find it automatically updates my system !!

    have wii connect24 turned off as I belive this automatically updates your firmware to the latest version as well ??
     
  9. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    try wiiSCU from wiibrew to update the shop channel and see if that works
     
  10. jono400

    Newcomer jono400 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay thanks mate, just tried again and it seems its working now so guess it must have been site problems when I tried the last time.

    any idea if I will have to create a new wad with the aid off NUSD for downloading the internet channel via the wii shop ?? again obviously a bit wary on dloading incase it automatically updates the firmware ??

    was it yourself that advised me off the alternative version off mplayer_ce ?? got a link to d/load it ?? offer much over the _ce version ??

    thanks again
     
  11. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    just download the internet channel through the shop if you can I do it all the time use it for a while and then delete with ATD or create wad file from nand and uninstall with wad manager

    media player CE http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=193171 and don't forget to get the cios aswell
     
  12. jono400

    Newcomer jono400 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay thanks again for your reply, will check out that link re the media player.

    bit confused what you mean by create wad via nand ?? you mean via NUSD ?? as I say when I click on the internet test I get the message " do you want to update system ?? " so still a bit wary off actually d/loading the latest internet channel on my 4.1 e system but if you say you do it all the time then delete ( why do you delete ??!! ) then suppose thats fine.

    any ideas re. bbciplayer again same question - safe enough to d/load from wii channel as to not update my wii to the latest 4.2 system ??
     
  13. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I have the new shop channel on my 4.0e wii and it works sweet downloaded the internet channel and the bbcIplayer both for free and have deleted and installed many times
     
  14. Kawaii-Tora

    Newcomer Kawaii-Tora Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    Germany

    will this overwrite the old version of Wii Shop Channel or not?
    don't want to have 2 shop channels or twice the memory usage
     
  15. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    yes it will overwrite the old shop channel
     
  16. jono400

    Newcomer jono400 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Okay thanks for that all now working a treat - bbciplayer and internet channel - thanks for that.

    the player that I think you mentioned was actually mplayer ax as opposed to teh mplayer_ce version, just wonder how one differs to the other ??
     
  17. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    never heard of mplayer ax
     
  18. jono400

    Newcomer jono400 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Sorry mate was taken from the wiihacks forum, funny enough from his avtar it was a geordie who wrote the following

    quote : have u tried the mplayer ax as i find it plays no hassle, standard 700mb avi files work sweet 4 me like straight off my usb drive, doesnt require the dvd to spin so must be less strain on the wii , also ax is a channel so can run straight off the menu screen

    but possibly just a mix up over the mplayer_ce

    anyway thanks again for your assistance.

    john
     
  19. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    you can do all that stuff with mplayer_ce I play movies from a share folder on my pc through the wifi
     

Share This Page