1. urmum_69

    urmum_69 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    Personally, I don't have any (convenient) way to copy files to my SD card, since I don't have an SD slot, but I still have it in my wii. I can copy files to it with wiixplorer, so there is a reason to keep it in. There's no harm done in doing this anyway.
     
  2. DacoTaco

    OP DacoTaco GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2017
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    Antarctica
    that is indeed the solution, but i have many questions about why the feature is requested before even starting it. it could point to a weird setup that makes no sense, a more severe issue or a completely different feature.

    here is a nice image to display part of what im trying to say :
    [​IMG]

    you don't have an sd slot, yet have one in the wii?
    also, you didn't answer my questions, what is on the SD and what is on the USB? what makes the sd essential? :/
     
    XFlak likes this.
  3. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,062
    Country:
    Cyprus
    If a random user has both an SD card and usb HDD they use for their wii, but for whatever reason they decide to use the usb HDD to update their priiloader and neglect to remove the SD card from their wii (maybe they don't know about this particular issue), they will encounter this problem.

    If you were to implement the obvious solution I suggested before, I think the only potential issue is if there's an old priiloader installer and hacks on the SD that get picked up instead of the newer one that's on the usb. But perhaps that can be circumvented by checking all 3 locations and using the newest one. Other than this, I can't think of any downside to checking the usb for hacks even when the SD card is present. Can you think of another potential outcome I haven't considered?
     
    Last edited by XFlak, Jan 13, 2021
  4. DacoTaco

    OP DacoTaco GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2017
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    Antarctica
    thing is, maybe he needs to drop the SD card all together if it has no purpose, and then priiloader would need to get a 'default fat device' option instead of the whole 'look on sd first then usb' thing (that is already in priiloader for apps).
    maybe he's doing something wrong why he needs the SD etc etc.
    analyzing the issue before coming to a conclusion is sometimes key :)
     
  5. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,062
    Country:
    Cyprus
    I understand what you're saying, but even if the SD card has no purpose, some ppl will like it there. In urmum's example he cannot use his SD card from any other device so why would it ever leave his Wii?

    Yes maybe in some cases users can drop the SD card all together, but it doesn't mean they will.

    In any case, I will step aside and let you get the answers you need before proceeding. Thanks again dude for all you've done and continue to do. Cheers.
     
  6. urmum_69

    urmum_69 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    What I really meant was "I don't have an SD slot on my computer"

    I think it will simply help reduce confusion, I don't see how having both and only using one could possibly screw anything up or even indicates a "weird setup". I don't get such a question very often, but it has been 4-5 times now that someone has been confused by this from my experience.

    Even if you object to this, I think it would be far more sensible to simply put a warning and copy the hacks regardless, which of course you're free to do.

    As for this, really nothing.
    I just don't have any other uses for it and would like to keep it there. Why would having it screw anything up in particular? I just don't seem to understand why you think it could indicate some messed up setup.
     
    Last edited by urmum_69, Jan 13, 2021
    XFlak likes this.
  7. DacoTaco

    OP DacoTaco GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2017
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    Antarctica
    i've had people talk to me that had (actively used) homebrew on both SD and usb and i just don't understand such setups at all. either use usb or sd, it's a lot cleaner and easier to handle.

    if you say nothing actively used of homebrew on the SD, i propose the following change : a setting in priiloader that says which device to mount. default is SD , but it could be set to USB.
    all device access ( apps, hacks etc etc ) would be done to the set device.
    would this work with your setup, and the users you've been in contact with?

    once we've come to the solution , i'll make the report on github and start development for the next major release.
     
    Last edited by DacoTaco, Jan 17, 2021
    alexander1970 likes this.
  8. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,062
    Country:
    Cyprus
    I think the default should be "auto" so that both devices are checked
     
  9. DacoTaco

    OP DacoTaco GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2017
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    Antarctica
    why? care to collaborate ?
    to me it would sound like a user would have homebrew actively used on both devices and he/she doesn't know which device to pick. what do you do when you want to list all applications and that user has applications on both?
     
  10. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,062
    Country:
    Cyprus
    I was just sharing an opinion, I'm hardly qualified to collaborate with you on this!

    I just think if there's more than 1 device plugged in when using the installer, both of them should be checked for hacks_hash before declaring it missing.

    If you are talking about priiloader's installed file functionality, then maybe have the first screen have you select what device to browse, just like how a wad manager prompts you (absent of any overriding config arguments). [edit: but TBH in this instance I think it would be fine to just display sd if an SD is inserted, if users are trying to install a file from USB then just remove the SD card. This is not nearly as common a situation as using system menu hacks so if it's more work than it's worth, I would just look into the hacks_hash thing and not worry about installed files]

    To me this is just intuitively how it should be set up and I see no downside.

    Ultimately this is your baby and your call. Cheers.
     
    Last edited by XFlak, Jan 17, 2021
    FrenezyFr likes this.
  11. DacoTaco

    OP DacoTaco GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2017
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    Antarctica
    whoops, ye. i meant Elaborate.

    the installer doesn't do anything with the hacks file though, only priiloader does. the installer only removes the hacks file if it deems it necessary during install/upgrade (and removes it on an uninstall)

    what i don't get is why it would be ok to use SD for installation of a binary, however the hacks file would need to be special? both are loaded from the apps folder, which contain homebrew. this is why i find it odd to have data on the one and other data on the other while they are in the same folder, containing the same type of data? :/

    the filesystem selection is not a bad idea though, so we have 2 potential ideas atm!
    to me they sounds like they are somewhat the same, but maybe im to focused on not having the apps folder split between 2 devices?

    thing is, i also need to refactor the mounting code and i don't want to refactor it and then have to redo it again for this :)
     
    XFlak likes this.
  12. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,062
    Country:
    Cyprus
    We've always had to browse to install a file in priiloader, so adding a filesystem selector there feels natural. Also, this is something that more advanced users typically do, and they are going out of their way to manually put a specific file on their filesystem to install it, so they would (presumably) know where to look. But system menu hacks are always just there (as if by magic, lol) and much more broadly utilized so it feels different for some reason.

    Q for you, when exactly are system menu hacks checked for? Is it when the system menu hack option is selected? Or earlier? Either way, when the check happens, maybe check all the filesystems and if more than 1 set of viable hacks_hash files are found in the standard locations, offer the user a choice (and perhaps a recommendation or at least provide info based on hacks_hash file sizes and timestamps)? I'm not sure if this idea presents other challenges, so I'm curious to hear what you think about it.

    PS. thanks for clarifying when priiloader hacks are used, I always thought it was during the install, I stand corrected :)
     
  13. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,062
    Country:
    Cyprus
    @DacoTaco, I have a question perhaps you can assist with. I am trying to access Priiloader on an emulated nand via sneek. In the past the official priiloader fully didn’t work on emunands iirc, and there was a Priiloader v0.7 mod for neek that worked.

    Fast forward to today, and I cannot even boot into the Priiloader v0.7 neek mod as I used to. But it’s installed on the EmuNAND and I am being successfully forwarded to the emulated System Menu, so it’s definitely there and working to some degree, I just can’t seem to access the Priiloader menu. I’ve tried holding reset when booting into neek (I used to be able to get it working this way), and I also tried the magicword.dol, which actually exits neek and loads Priiloader from my real nand.

    I’ve extracted the .app file that gets installed for Priiloader v0.9 and have tried using that in my EmuNand in place of the Priiloader v0.7 neek mod with the exact same results.

    Below is a quote from another thread with some more info on this.

    Edit: I wonder if I should try an older version of neek2o…
     
    Last edited by XFlak, Feb 17, 2021
  14. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15,559
    Country:
    United States
    are you saying that you think the problem with not booing into neek2o is priiloader? that's interesting. I haven't updated priiloader in a very long time (probably don't have 0.9 installed), and obviously with my efforts being on the virtual wii, I wouldn't have that problem. I don't remember much about the wii hacks, but I do remember the wii u and virtual wii ones quite well, possibly since I game on the system nearly every day. I did have it once where a couple games got corrupted as well as the emunand for neek, so I just copied over the contents from my backup to fix it. I think neek2o wouldn't load or something or I was getting a constant black screen. I've since replaced the hdd and enclosure (still using the same power cable and usb cable). no issues, though, if I haven't used the virtual wii's hdd in a while, dkc returns (my favorite game on the system) would sometimes have issues booting up. the hdd's activity light would stop flashing after showing the wii remote screen, then I'd have to wait a few moments for it to start flashing again. it happens just that once, then every other time booting the game, it's very fast. the game could be over a bad sector part of the hdd or the hdd might just have to get used to working again, I dunno. I have no issues with any other game after the hdd has been off for a while.
     
    XFlak likes this.
  15. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,062
    Country:
    Cyprus
    Just to clarify, all the versions of priiloader that I've tested on Emunands successfully booted to the system menu, I just can't access the emunand priiloader menu.

    Modmii's emulated nand modifier is able to add or remove priiloader to emunands, I don't think priiloader would be causing a problem with booting neek, but if u ever want to remove priiloader from the emunand for testing purposes you can use modmii instead of doing it manually

    Edit:
    @godreborn, in the other thread you said you were able to access priiloader in your emunand, can you share the method you used to successfully do this please?
     
    Last edited by XFlak, Feb 17, 2021
  16. DacoTaco

    OP DacoTaco GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2017
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    Antarctica
    so ive been ignoring gbafail for a while. whoops.

    so if i get it correctly, you have priiloader installed on both the real and emunand (real to boot emunand, emunand to boot SM or something else i suppose?) , right?

    i don't know enough about how emunand works, but iirc it loaded itself into starlet/ios and redirected all nand access, correct?
    does it prevent ios reloading from unloading it? how does that work?

    you could try setting the settings file to autoboot none i guess (first byte of loader.ini , set it to 0x00) , but thats not really user friendly.

    if you enable logging, does it show priiloader booting twice (real+emunand) ? o.O
     
    XFlak likes this.
  17. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,062
    Country:
    Cyprus
    Mostly correct. I have priiloader installed to real nand, but it's set to boot the real system menu, not emunand. Everything on real nand is working as expected.

    So this was my emunand's original loader.ini (presumably set up by priiloader-v0.7-neek-mod, but TBH I don't recall
    Code:
    00 00 00 04 00 00 00 07 00 00 00 02 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 00 00 01 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    I also tried this loader.ini taken from a recent nand dump with priiloader v0.9 installed
    Code:
    03 00 00 00 00 00 00 5A 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 04 01 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    then I modified the above as you directed like so
    Code:
    00 00 00 00 00 00 00 5A 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 04 01 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    All 3 are behaving the same way, just booting directly to the emunand system menu (whether I hold reset during emunand bootup makes no difference)

    I can't explain the finer details of how neek works, but in addition to redirected nand, my understanding is that IOS reloading is not blocked, it just reloads it from the emulated nand

    edit:
    these source files may be more helpful than just the link to the priiloader neek mod binary file. I'm not sure how difficult it would be, but maybe you can identify the neek mods that were applied to priiloader v0.7 to perhaps replicate something similar to v0.9. This link also includes a Priiloader neek mod installer and priibooter app (maybe a modified magicword app?)
    https://master.dl.sourceforge.net/project/neek2o/priiloader_uneek2.rar?viasf=1

    again I am 100% certain something was preventing the stock priiloader 0.7 from working on emunands, which is why the neek mod was created in the first place. And I'm certain I was able to access the priiloader neek mod menu from my emunand (and automated the process into ModMii), I just can't boot it anymore no matter what I do. Note I that I am not asking for your help with the neek mod, I know you didn't build it, besides I'd much rather get v0.9 working on emunands.

    edit2: I'm not sure how to enable logging in the version of Priiloader that's installed to my emunand if I can't access the menu. Did you still want me to enable it on my real nand and report back anything?

    edit3: I also tried a pure 1:1 dump of my nand with priiloader v0.9 installed, same result
     
    Last edited by XFlak, Feb 24, 2021
    Magnus87, jeannotte and alexander1970 like this.
  18. DacoTaco

    OP DacoTaco GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2017
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    Antarctica
    that settings edit should have worked.
    do you have any idea what that neek mod did ? any source of it?
    also, what does the log say when you enabled it in both anyway? (enable it on host and copy paste the loader.ini to emunand, i forgot which byte is the logging byte lol )

    this might be a bit harder to debug/figure out without the mod source or a usbgecko hehe (or setting up emunand myself which i don't want to do unless i have to)
     
    XFlak and jeannotte like this.
  19. XFlak

    XFlak Wiitired but still kicking
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    11,062
    Country:
    Cyprus
    Source provided in my previous post, sorry can't reply properly right now but wanted to at least mention that for now
     
  20. DacoTaco

    OP DacoTaco GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2017
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    Antarctica
    ah, my mistake. i thought it was the sneek source lol
     
    XFlak likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Priiloader, Released,