Hacking Priiloader 0.6 beta 3

lulwut

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
331
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
from Daco's irc chat i saw him announce a new Priiloader beta (you know what that means, new version soon!
biggrin.gif
)

0.6 Beta 3

it also seems he has set up a forum @ http://forum.dacotaco.com/


http://forum.dacotaco.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=4


he also noted that updating from the update menu in 0.5 wont work as the hash computing was perfected so only a manual, from HBC update will work :')
 

techboy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
1,720
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Pennsylvania
Website
Visit site
XP
306
Country
United States
Cool. I'll have to try it some time this week. I wonder what the easter egg is...

Slightly OT: I think his forum has a server issue...I had to refresh several times before it loaded properly (kept timing out).
 

UranusKiller

TranceMaster
Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
960
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Redcar, England, UK.
Website
djdynamite.freeforums.org
XP
308
Country
Why is all this needed just for preloader? o.0 .....It's kind of ancient now, and everything that can be done with preloader has already been done, and there aren't really many bugs left to fix. Of course, it's a great tool for your wii '(safety, hacks, and convenience) but making new forums and countless releases is a bit daft really now don't you think? :/
 

lulwut

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
331
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
UranusKiller said:
Why is all this needed just for preloader? o.0 .....It's kind of ancient now, and everything that can be done with preloader has already been done, and there aren't really many bugs left to fix. Of course, it's a great tool for your wii '(safety, hacks, and convenience) but making new forums and countless releases is a bit daft really now don't you think? :/
priiloader still has bugs you know. also, his forum isn't for priiloader alone you know :wtf:;

QUOTE(techboy @ Nov 21 2010, 05:50 AM) Slightly OT: I think his forum has a server issue...I had to refresh several times before it loaded properly (kept timing out).
works fine here. ill pass it on to him i guess
smile.gif
 

Sao Mortel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2008
Messages
533
Trophies
0
Age
42
Location
Montreal
Website
shoptemp.com
XP
148
Country
Canada
Where is the source code? I dont want to make a account on the forum but its a good question...
anyways it works with the new HBC and thats enough reason to install..
 

lulwut

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
331
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
Sao Mortel said:
Where is the source code? I dont want to make a account on the forum but its a good question...
anyways it works with the new HBC and thats enough reason to install..
knowing daco he will prob commit the code to his svn once the 0.6 is released (like, a non beta version)
 

nl255

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2004
Messages
2,999
Trophies
2
XP
2,787
Country
UranusKiller said:
Why is all this needed just for preloader? o.0 .....It's kind of ancient now, and everything that can be done with preloader has already been done, and there aren't really many bugs left to fix. Of course, it's a great tool for your wii '(safety, hacks, and convenience) but making new forums and countless releases is a bit daft really now don't you think? :/

There is one thing that doesn't work properly, specifically installing it without having a cIOS or patched IOS available. Sure, it mostly works now but only if you have a wireless internet connection (due to ahbprot issues). As of right now, people who don't have a wireless router can't install it on a virgin system (one with only HBC installed).
 

lex luthor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2010
Messages
276
Trophies
0
XP
251
Country
United States
Sorry for my silly question but if I have a hacks.ini let's say for 4.2u it doesn't matter if I use priiloader 0.4 or 0.5 or 0.6 each of them will read that hacks.ini in the same manner?
 

SifJar

Not a pirate
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
6,022
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
1,175
Country
lex luthor said:
Sorry for my silly question but if I have a hacks.ini let's say for 4.2u it doesn't matter if I use priiloader 0.4 or 0.5 or 0.6 each of them will read that hacks.ini in the same manner?
0.6 changes the hacks.ini to use hashes instead of offsets, so a new hacks.ini is required, but should (in theory) prevent a new hacks.ini being required for new System Menu updates. But the new hacks.ini is available at the WiiBrew wiki, and has been there for a while, so I knew this feature was coming
wink.gif


But 0.4 and 0.5 should apply the hacks.ini the same way, and i don't know, perhaps 0.6 is backwards compatible with the old style as well.
 

SifJar

Not a pirate
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
6,022
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
1,175
Country
OriginalHamster said:
Slightly off topic, but what is better, Priiloader or StartPatch?
Depends completely what you want.

If you JUST want SM patches, StartPatch.

If you want slight brick protection, autobooting HBC/BootMii on a boot1c Wii, or a .DOL on any Wii (e.g. CrazyIntro for multi-booting to dozens of different stuff), changing SM IOS, etc. etc., Priiloader.

Cons of Priiloader: Slows boot time minorly. More invasive than StartPatch.

Cons of StartPatch: Can't do as much as Priiloader (see above for examples)

Neither is better or worse, both are differently suited to different needs of different users. Anyone installing either must make an informed decision.
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
13,806
Trophies
3
Age
38
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
9,791
Country
Cyprus
SifJar said:
0.6 changes the hacks.ini to use hashes instead of offsets, so a new hacks.ini is required, but should (in theory) prevent a new hacks.ini being required for new System Menu updates. But the new hacks.ini is available at the WiiBrew wiki, and has been there for a while, so I knew this feature was coming
wink.gif


But 0.4 and 0.5 should apply the hacks.ini the same way, and i don't know, perhaps 0.6 is backwards compatible with the old style as well.
Any chance you could provide a link to the new-style of hacks.ini please and thank you?
biggrin.gif
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Xpk24, Sure thing.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    But this is the general chit chat. Nobody responds to questions.
  • Xpk24 @ Xpk24:
    esta bien pero tu lo vas hacer porfa
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Saying it like that sounds like you want others to do it than doing the research yourself.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    I've already posted a link to the Nintendo DS section so that you can post something regarding your DS flashcart. Just make sure all of your posts are in English as this is against the rules.
  • Xpk24 @ Xpk24:
    no yo no estoy diciendo eso solo necesito una información que necesito calmado
  • Xpk24 @ Xpk24:
    no se no donde sea si pero aca en venezuela las consolas de ds esta descontinuadas y la poca información que consigo en internet no es la que nesecito
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    You know, finding information about DS flashcarts isn't that hard. They can be found pretty much everywhere and a lot of them can be still bought, however, these are clones from previous generations.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    My apologies if I'm boring you. But if you'd like help with your DS flashcart, then I highly suggest making a thread to get a quick reply. Nobody is going to help in the chat section.
  • Xpk24 @ Xpk24:
    Hola chicos. Compré una nintendo dsi de segunda mano y viene con una tarjeta r4 pero no encontré su firmware/kernel. ¿Pueden ayudarme chicos? Este sitio dice: R4I-GOLDHK pero el enlace ya está inactivo
  • Xpk24 @ Xpk24:
    no tranquilo solo quiero informacion sobre esa tarjeta y bueno ya puede entrar en el discord de enlace
  • Xpk24 @ Xpk24:
    mas bien me alegro que alguien me responda este sisto wed
  • Xpk24 @ Xpk24:
    gracias por tomarte tu tiempo en explicarme
  • Xpk24 @ Xpk24:
    oye estas por hay?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Sup.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Please speak English.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Or get banned.
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Veho, I asked them to translate their messages, but they didn't listen.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    For some reason..
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yeah man it's so much Spanish even my browsers asking to translate it
  • Xpk24 @ Xpk24:
    Hi guys. I bought a second hand nintendo dsi and it came with an r4 card but I couldn't find its firmware/kernel. Can you guys help me? This site says: R4I-GOLDHK but the link is already inactive
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: https://youtu.be/8YQov9O7e7Y?si=vywOcLkttFP9tVSC