Preowned Parental Pin

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by BouncyAssassin, Jul 2, 2011.

Jul 2, 2011

Preowned Parental Pin by BouncyAssassin at 5:52 PM (3,341 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. BouncyAssassin
    OP

    Newcomer BouncyAssassin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bought a pre-owned 3DS, but they left a parental PIN in it -.-
    Tried calling nintendo, but they're Mon-Fri numbers, any other way to remove a parental pin?
    Any help is apprectiated, thanks.
     
  2. ACWWFAN

    Member ACWWFAN HERP DERP

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    Arizona
    Country:
    United States
    Nope. You're going to have to wait until Monday to call, and get a master key.
     
  3. CortalRage

    Newcomer CortalRage GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    United States
    Heh its digits 0-9, and four number combination, if push comes to shove, write them all out [​IMG] Thats how I crack my friends itouch
     
  4. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    When I sent in my DSi that had broken shoulder buttons, it came back with the buttons (temporarily) fixed and the PIN removed.

    So maybe overuse the shoulder buttons and send it in?
     
  5. Ikki

    Member Ikki GBATemp's grumpy panda.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Montevideo
    Country:
    Uruguay
    I lol'd

    Isn't there a way to reset it to factory thingy?
     
  6. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Like ACWWFAN said, you'll have to wait until the phone line is available.

    You could try this but it's for the Wii parental control system. It might work.
    http://wii.marcansoft.com/parental.wsgi

    @CortalRage:
    That's a horrible idea.
    There are 10,000 (10*10*10*10) possible number combinations.
     
  7. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Try the usual stuff (0000, 1111, 1234, etc.). Also, isn't there a secret question? Tell us it, and we'll help you guess it.
     
  8. BouncyAssassin
    OP

    Newcomer BouncyAssassin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Alright [​IMG]
    And yeah Cortal and Fisha, they both sound like good ideas.. [​IMG]
    Don't think so Ikki, and maybe soul [​IMG]
    Thanks all

    Posts merged

    Demon, question was; What did you name your first pet? [​IMG]
     
  9. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
  10. BouncyAssassin
    OP

    Newcomer BouncyAssassin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks [​IMG] try em all
     
  11. TheDreamLord

    Member TheDreamLord GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    try all of em... fido max the usual shit lol
     
  12. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Only problem is if they lock you from guessing after 3 failed tries or something like that. If that's the case then you're screwed. [​IMG]
     
  13. Melee54

    Member Melee54 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United States
    Lol. But it could have been a cat or a bird... Or a moose.
     
  14. BouncyAssassin
    OP

    Newcomer BouncyAssassin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Got it now, 1234 xD
     
  15. Melee54

    Member Melee54 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Country:
    United States
    You didn't think of trying that before posting? Haha. Gotta' do the usual 0000, 1234, etc...
     
  16. BouncyAssassin
    OP

    Newcomer BouncyAssassin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah but I did it after posting [​IMG] And yeah I tried 1111 first [​IMG]
     
  17. wiibob

    Member wiibob GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I'm curious, where did you buy this used 3ds? Gamestop? Ebay? If so i was going to say contact the seller or trade it into the store for another.
     
  18. muckers

    Member muckers GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    247
    Location:
    Warwickshire, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For future reference, stores are supposed to reset the pins and disable them before they sell them (for this exact scenario - it might not be as easy as 1234!).

    We're supposed to ring Nintendo if there is a pin, give them a serial number and some other info and they give us a reset code for it all.
     

Share This Page