Hacking preloader v starfall

Razorwing

Elite Four Member
Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2007
Messages
150
Trophies
0
Age
37
Location
England
XP
307
Country
I have got both running alongside each other and I have experienced no problems so far. Just make sure to install Starfall before preloader because the starfall installer will not start if you have preloader installed.
 

kedest

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
3,289
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
534
Country
Netherlands
i've missed some of the latest developments. so what exactly is preloader?
I have starfall installed already, with all the hacks that should save me from a banner brick.
 

tj_cool

Site dev
Supervisor
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
10,064
Trophies
2
Location
This planet
XP
2,967
Country
Belgium
kedest said:
i've missed some of the latest developments. so what exactly is preloader?
I have starfall installed already, with all the hacks that should save me from a banner brick.
preloader is an app that can be loaded even before the actual sys menu loads
it can boot any .dol file or the homebrew channel, so you can unbrick your wii
the starfall hacks can also be enabled by preloader (so you don't need starfall anymore)
Forsaekn is developing a new app called Dashboard, that loads even before preloader does
 

kedest

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
3,289
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
534
Country
Netherlands
tj_cool said:
kedest said:
i've missed some of the latest developments. so what exactly is preloader?
I have starfall installed already, with all the hacks that should save me from a banner brick.
preloader is an app that can be loaded even before the actual sys menu loads
it can boot any .dol file or the homebrew channel, so you can unbrick your wii
the starfall hacks can also be enabled by preloader (so you don't need starfall anymore)
Forsaekn is developing a new app called Dashboard, that loads even before preloader does

Thanks, so it might be worth it to install preloader now.
i've heard about that new app too. Is Dashboard the new name for Bootmii or is that another thing?
 

westcor

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 3, 2009
Messages
6
Trophies
0
XP
32
Country
United States
Quick question....
I am on 3.2U, with starfall installed.
I want to install preloader 0.27, do I need to uninstall starfall (aka remove hacks)?
I would like to keep starfall installed incase something happens with the preloader install, what do you guys think?
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
Do you READ?

If you read the whole thread, you would know it's safe to install Starfall prior before installing Preloader.
 

robman62

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
299
Trophies
1
XP
419
Country
United States
ok so since preloader can run .dol before the system menu starts, can it help with recovering a banner brick on a soft modded wii with no access to an original copy of tp?
 

Col70

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
159
Trophies
0
XP
96
Country
Help me guys - I have Preloader v0.27 on a 3.2e. It works fine but when I boot HBC from preloader it crashes (get a glitchy HC SD loading screen). Weird thing is thoug, if I start the system menu up, press the reset button then bring up the preloader menu and launch HC it works?????????

The reason I ask is that I might need the HBC if I ever brick?

I've asked loads of time but nobody seems to know an answer?

PS. have gone through the whole disable hacks and then reinstalled the whole process again and still the same?
 

tj_cool

Site dev
Supervisor
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
10,064
Trophies
2
Location
This planet
XP
2,967
Country
Belgium
Col70 said:
Help me guys - I have Preloader v0.27 on a 3.2e. It works fine but when I boot HBC from preloader it crashes (get a glitchy HC SD loading screen). Weird thing is thoug, if I start the system menu up, press the reset button then bring up the preloader menu and launch HC it works?????????

The reason I ask is that I might need the HBC if I ever brick?

I've asked loads of time but nobody seems to know an answer?

PS. have gone through the whole disable hacks and then reinstalled the whole process again and still the same?
You don't need the HBC if you brick
all it does is booting .dol files, preloader can do that too
maybe the HBC crash is a preloader glitch?
 

Col70

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
159
Trophies
0
XP
96
Country
You could well be right there - never considered that?!

So if I bricked which DOL would I use?
 

Wiisel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2008
Messages
1,309
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
333
Country
afif95 said:
Do you READ?

If you read the whole thread, you would know it's safe to install Starfall prior before installing Preloader.
also IMO a waste of time considering preloader does the same and more.
i wouldnt rely on preloader for dol booting its picky with what works i have installed another loader with the ID HAXX and that boots fine using the hbc functions from preloader.

and most fill their installed file with POC now
smile.gif
 

Col70

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
159
Trophies
0
XP
96
Country
Wiisel said:
afif95 said:
Do you READ?

If you read the whole thread, you would know it's safe to install Starfall prior before installing Preloader.
also IMO a waste of time considering preloader does the same and more.
i wouldnt rely on preloader for dol booting its picky with what works i have installed another loader with the ID HAXX and that boots fine using the hbc functions from preloader.

and most fill their installed file with POC now
smile.gif

What did you install and how?
 

AsosaYoung

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
319
Trophies
0
Location
L B C
XP
52
Country
United States
Col70:
If you look at my sig I have preloader and from it's main menu I can boot straight to the HBC no problem.
And POC is use by a lot of people I'm one RayMan Rabbit Intro then a custom menu. Preloader is just Starfall on another level "actually control" you can enable and disable the hacks you want.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21: went there once, disneyland just ain't for me