preloader v starfall

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by swf3, Feb 4, 2009.

Feb 4, 2009

preloader v starfall by swf3 at 12:11 PM (2,356 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. swf3
    OP

    Banned swf3 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    what do you guy like? can have both?
     


  2. Razorwing

    Member Razorwing Elite Four Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have got both running alongside each other and I have experienced no problems so far. Just make sure to install Starfall before preloader because the starfall installer will not start if you have preloader installed.
     
  3. FRanatic

    Member FRanatic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Actually, preloader makes starfall obsolete.
    Same hacks and more can be implemented by preloader.
     
  4. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i've missed some of the latest developments. so what exactly is preloader?
    I have starfall installed already, with all the hacks that should save me from a banner brick.
     
  5. m-tek

    Member m-tek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I thought preloader stop starfall from working!
     
  6. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    preloader is an app that can be loaded even before the actual sys menu loads
    it can boot any .dol file or the homebrew channel, so you can unbrick your wii
    the starfall hacks can also be enabled by preloader (so you don't need starfall anymore)
    Forsaekn is developing a new app called Dashboard, that loads even before preloader does
     
  7. Razorwing

    Member Razorwing Elite Four Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Only the installer, any starfall hacks already installed still work.
     
  8. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks, so it might be worth it to install preloader now.
    i've heard about that new app too. Is Dashboard the new name for Bootmii or is that another thing?
     
  9. swf3
    OP

    Banned swf3 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks guys preloaders grate
     
  10. westcor

    Newcomer westcor Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Quick question....
    I am on 3.2U, with starfall installed.
    I want to install preloader 0.27, do I need to uninstall starfall (aka remove hacks)?
    I would like to keep starfall installed incase something happens with the preloader install, what do you guys think?
     
  11. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Do you READ?

    If you read the whole thread, you would know it's safe to install Starfall prior before installing Preloader.
     
  12. robman62

    Member robman62 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    United States
    ok so since preloader can run .dol before the system menu starts, can it help with recovering a banner brick on a soft modded wii with no access to an original copy of tp?
     
  13. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Yes it can.
     
  14. robman62

    Member robman62 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    United States
    really, wow are there any tutorials for preloader on here?
     
  15. Col70

    Member Col70 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Help me guys - I have Preloader v0.27 on a 3.2e. It works fine but when I boot HBC from preloader it crashes (get a glitchy HC SD loading screen). Weird thing is thoug, if I start the system menu up, press the reset button then bring up the preloader menu and launch HC it works?????????

    The reason I ask is that I might need the HBC if I ever brick?

    I've asked loads of time but nobody seems to know an answer?

    PS. have gone through the whole disable hacks and then reinstalled the whole process again and still the same?
     
  16. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    You don't need the HBC if you brick
    all it does is booting .dol files, preloader can do that too
    maybe the HBC crash is a preloader glitch?
     
  17. Col70

    Member Col70 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You could well be right there - never considered that?!

    So if I bricked which DOL would I use?
     
  18. Wiisel

    Member Wiisel GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    also IMO a waste of time considering preloader does the same and more.
    i wouldnt rely on preloader for dol booting its picky with what works i have installed another loader with the ID HAXX and that boots fine using the hbc functions from preloader.

    and most fill their installed file with POC now [​IMG]
     
  19. Col70

    Member Col70 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What did you install and how?
     
  20. AsosaYoung

    Member AsosaYoung GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    L B C
    Country:
    United States
    Col70:
    If you look at my sig I have preloader and from it's main menu I can boot straight to the HBC no problem.
    And POC is use by a lot of people I'm one RayMan Rabbit Intro then a custom menu. Preloader is just Starfall on another level "actually control" you can enable and disable the hacks you want.
     

Share This Page