preloader systemmenu hacks won't work

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by zippy, May 20, 2009.

May 20, 2009
  1. zippy
    OP

    Newcomer zippy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    I'm on sm4.0. Preloader systemmenu hacks won't work. How do I fix this?
     
  2. revolution

    Newcomer revolution Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
  3. zippy
    OP

    Newcomer zippy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Already have hacks.ini loaded with USA v4.0 in the root of my sd card. This does not work.

    Also, it does remove the warning screen. but it doesn't do sd region free or remove the background music. So I can confirm at least one hack is working. Why not the rest
     
  4. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    You gotta give us more information. What makes you say the hacks doesn't work? The hacks setting ain't showing anything or enabled hacks doesn't work?

    Regardless, follow TPG [​IMG]
     
  5. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    well I'm on 3.2 and not all the hacks work either, and this is a known issue from a long ago, cause the patches made thru preloader are just theorical values, and apparently wrong ones..!! [​IMG]
     
  6. zippy
    OP

    Newcomer zippy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    The fact that the systemmenu hacks when enabled do not have any effect makes me say they don't work.

    follow TPG? What is TPG?
     
  7. revolution

    Newcomer revolution Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure. I've tested the movable disc channel hack and the no bgm (I did not enable this though which is strange lol) and they work fine.
     
  8. zippy
    OP

    Newcomer zippy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    What sm are you on?
     
  9. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    TPG = The Preloader Guide. If you'd check my sig, you'd see the acronyms [​IMG].

    Regardless, I think you should start over. Follow TPG [​IMG]
     
  10. revolution

    Newcomer revolution Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Same as you, 4.0U and I'm using the hacks.ini from that link I posted above. I will probably do some more testing later although I always use freethewads if I can't find ntsc so if that one doesn't work it won't really be a problem.
     
  11. revolution

    Newcomer revolution Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    I just tried a quick test of no bgm again and it does not work for me either. I'm thinking some just don't work like ether says.
     
  12. zippy
    OP

    Newcomer zippy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Well I fiddled around with tpg and for some reason it started working. Moving the disc channel and the no bgm (yes! no more forgetting to turn it off and realizing I spent 30 minutes on the computer being hypnotized by the ringing) both work. I can't say what did it. I set the system ios to 36 when it started working, but then I can set it back to 60 and it still works. so maybe try ios36 in the preloader for a go to see if that fixes them if you're having the same problem. If that works, report here.
     
  13. revolution

    Newcomer revolution Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Success!

    Ha, I changed ios to 36 and then back to ios60 and no bgm works for me now too. Let's hope everything else got fixed too. [​IMG]
     
  14. zippy
    OP

    Newcomer zippy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Add this to the tpg guide!

    Edit: I'm testing my channels on the sd back to the system memory and it turns out the ones that say "This channel can't be used." are actually corrupted. It has nothing to do with SD region free. I'm getting a hold of PAL and NTSC-J channels to put on my SD to confirm that this hack does work. Will report back very soon on the result.

    EditEdit: Turns out some of them were corrupted, but in fact the SD region free mod does not work as some nonNTSC channels give "This channel can't be used". I'll keep trying.
     
  15. revolution

    Newcomer revolution Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    Well, the creator of the guide has already posted here so we'll see how it goes.

    I'm interested to see if ether can get his working using the method as well.
     

Share This Page