preloader discontinued :(

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by SanGor, May 11, 2009.

May 11, 2009

preloader discontinued :( by SanGor at 1:13 AM (1,759 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. SanGor
    OP

    Member SanGor Witchhunter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    993
    Country:
    United States
  2. Brian117

    Member Brian117 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    3,249
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Country:
    United States
    Pfft, they still haven't fixed the Standby/Disc Spin glitch yet.

    I doubt it's the final. I don't even use Preloader due to that glitch. So...thanks Crediar for not fixing it.

    But even if it is the final, then good.
     
  3. G2K

    Member G2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Cambridge, Onatrio
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks genius, we haven't known this for a while.

    Besides, what else could be added to it?
     
  4. xDlmaoxD

    Member xDlmaoxD GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    362
    Country:
    United States
    It was discontinued months ago...
     
  5. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    But a question; Why?
     
  6. Chaotic Meow

    Newcomer Chaotic Meow Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    DONGERS
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure that BootMii will render this obsolete. No offense to crediar, preloader is great for what it does, but BootMii looks to be a pretty comprehensive solution for brick protection, and based on the mockup that Team Twiizers made, it looks pretty sexy, too.
     
  7. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
  8. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    That's probably a good point. There's no motivation in developing something that'll just be replaced anyways. Just do what I do and choose the preloader option to ignore standby. That way you'll never go to standby so the disc glitch won't be there.
     
  9. ThatDudeWithTheFood

    Member ThatDudeWithTheFood TRIANGLEZ

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Illuminati
    Country:
    United States
    Freedom is kinda what hes working on right now im using it right now even though he hasnt relasead it its pretty darn awesome
     
  10. Vidboy10

    Member Vidboy10 Tsardom

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,617
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    Wait, wasn't Crediar going to release v0.30?
     
  11. peter8738

    Newcomer peter8738 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Can you loader preloader on LU64? after you use the fix also. [​IMG]
     
  12. jhoff80

    Member jhoff80 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    806
    Country:
    United States
    Even if he doesn't plan on working on it anymore, it'd be nice to at least release a 0.29.1 that removes the April Fool's day joke (unless that was triggered to only happen in 2009 or something.)
     
  13. Don Killah

    Member Don Killah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,127
    Country:
    France
    Maybe you can try to make your own look a like tool...?

    Plus BootMii won't work on all systemmenus (maybe installing into cIOS), preloader does... and Crediar's working on another project (freedom?).
     
  14. joda

    Member joda GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Location:
    UmeƄ
    Country:
    Sweden
    If you combine that with:

    ... you have a complete system menu replacement that's even located on a non standard location in NAND, and completely non dependent on normal system menu, since it hijacks boot2.
     

Share This Page