Possible way to downgrade ps3?

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by deethebee, Feb 13, 2012.

Feb 13, 2012
  1. deethebee
    OP

    Member deethebee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    oregonazm!
    Country:
    United States
    I know this has probably been thought of already but... If the file system for the ps3 was stored on the internal hdd, couldnt you simply plug the hdd into your mobo on your pc and flash/downgrade the firmware? If this is possible could someone tell me how to do it? Thanks alot

    -Dee
     
  2. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    The only way to downgrade a PS3 that is unhackable is using a flasher, for example E3 Flasher and flashing it to 3.55 or another exploitable firmware.
     
  3. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,763
    Country:
    United States
    only PART of the FW is on the HDD
    the main part , is FLASHED to the chip in the PS3
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. deethebee
    OP

    Member deethebee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    oregonazm!
    Country:
    United States
    ahh ok thanks!
     
  5. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,406
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    And the HDD is entirely encrypted, it can't be read natively on a computer.
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. Luigipenguin

    Banned Luigipenguin Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    United States
    I never knew a PS3 had firmwares like wii
     
  7. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,774
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    Hey lets go bump a thread with pointless/irrelevant information thoughts that come to our head!
     
  8. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    It doesn't - it actually has a well-trained team of fairies that deal with the gaming magic. They're specifically trained by Sony to give the best gaming experience possible. Unfortunatelly, sometimes they die of starvation or fatigue when you overuse the system (YLOD) thus you have to continously feed them and import new fairies via System Updates.

    I thought that was common knowledge... ^_^

     
    2 people like this.
  9. Luigipenguin
    This message by Luigipenguin has been removed from public view by a moderator, Dec 4, 2016.
    Feb 27, 2012
  10. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Uhm... I was joking? Didn't mean to offend, that's why I said I'm lightening up the mood? Chill, t'is the Internet, place of Joy. :P
     
  11. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,774
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure he was talking to me Foxi...this isn't the first stupid thing he's posted that I've replied to so...y'know. Heh.
     
  12. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,406
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    And in fact, no it doesn't have a firmware LIKE the Wii.

    The Wii doesn't have a firmware, but different system files (IOS) acting as link between the hardware and the game. Only one IOS can be loaded at a time.

    The PS3 have a firmware constantly in memory, more like an operating system on your computer. It's working with plugins/syscall (dll), multiple folders and files structure working together.


    The PS3 "firmware version" represent a complete set of files working together. If you downgrade or upgrade, you update ALL the files to a specific state.
    The Wii doesn't work like that. You can update/change a IOS file independently of the system menu version (the system menu is NOT a firmware, but an application).


    It's a very quick description of the differences between the two consoles.
    if you are interested in how it really works, you should read a lot of posts and websites.
     
  13. Luigipenguin

    Banned Luigipenguin Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so ill read more about stuff then ill post
     

Share This Page