Possible Brick, Need Some Advice

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by faustt, Jul 15, 2009.

Jul 15, 2009
  1. faustt
    OP

Newcomer faustt Newbie

United States
    Hey all. Noob here [​IMG] . My Wii decided a few months ago not to have sound anymore, I decided to try and "fix" this by deleting all the softmod stuff on my Wii since I had just been throwing stuff on there to fix problems for the past year. Not sure if it would help anything, but I figured it couldn't hurt. Well it did.

I backed up all my saves and formatted my Wii. I probably should have read more cause I found out that's an easy way to get stuck in preloader. I can't run HBC, I can't load the system menu, says ticket not found or something like that. I can run dol files using preloaders launcher. What exactly would I need to run to reinstall a system menu? Either 3.2U or 4.0U. Or am I just screwed at this point? I was googling the problem last night and couldn't find anything solid (I was half asleep though).

It seems like I would have to reinstall a system menu, I was on 3.2U, so I'd probably want to use that to be on the safe side. But if I reinstall it. it will disable preloader, so everything basically has to go off with out a hitch or I'm really screwed. Any suggestions?

2. nutta_nic

Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

United Kingdom
    first things first run the hackmii installer and install HBC and bootmii to boot2 so things cant get any worse, then run any region changer and install your regions system menu or use cios installer

3. faustt
    OP

Newcomer faustt Newbie

United States
    Thanks for the quick response.

So far so good. I got the hackmii installer to work finally. Last night it was giving me an issue about not having vulnerable IOSs on the system. Figured that out today by installing IOS 36. So I have HBC, DVDX and bootmii installed on boot2. Now I just need to hunt down any region changer and find a system menu.

Thanks for the help. Will see how this goes.