porting gba games to ds?

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by ykhan, Jul 1, 2010.

Jul 1, 2010

porting gba games to ds? by ykhan at 8:23 PM (2,487 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. ykhan
    OP

    Member ykhan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    england
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is there any way at all of porting gameboy games to ds and changing aspects of them like romhacking?
     
  2. Thoob

    Member Thoob LOLmonade.

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Short answer, no. Someone else will explain why I'm sure.
     
  3. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    get a DSTWO
     
  4. ykhan
    OP

    Member ykhan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    england
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i no that its impossible to play gba games on a slot one flashcart due to processing power but couldnt i completely edit the code of a game?
     
  5. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    no. you can't
     
  6. ykhan
    OP

    Member ykhan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    england
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok then could i take elements of the game e.g sprites,music,etc?
     
  7. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    And create a whole separate game with the gameplay of the original, using the original sprites, music, etc? It's possible, but due to the effort and time required, it's just not worth it, and you wouldn't even get anywhere close to the original game.

    To answer your original question, we can't port the game because we need the game's source code for that, and guess who has that code?
     
  8. ykhan
    OP

    Member ykhan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    england
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ah i see but out of interest how would one go taking sprites out of a game?
     
  9. mipe

    Newcomer mipe Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Finland
    Country:
    Finland
    I know what you are thinking. Converting even one game, and seeing as you don't even know how to take sprites out, at your skill level, would probably take 1-2 years for each game.
     
  10. tigris

    Member tigris Sentient Existential Anthropomorphic Sweet Potato

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,689
    Location:
    The Tibetan Himalayas
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nope. not possible. but you can play GCN and NES games (goole NesterDS)
     
  11. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,623
    Country:
    United States
    In a basic sense, you'd have to make your own game.
    Or you could just get a certain flashcart that supports GBA emulation.



    Wait, did I miss an important piece of homebrew?
     
  12. suruz

    Member suruz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    607
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ...Yeah, wtf!? Since when can a DS play Gamecube games!? *brain explodes*

    Also, I wanted to play GBA roms on my DS, so I bought a Slot-2 flashcard. It's as simple as that, and there's no workaround!

    Go to one of these links, I think the site ships worldwide:
    DS Phat: http://www.realhotstuff.com/expansion-pack-size-p-212.html
    DS Lite: http://www.0shippingzone.com/flash-expansi...plus-p-194.html

    (Unless you have a Supercard2, which has a barely passable GBA emulator. But that's only sensible if you have a DSi :/

    EDIT: And yes, I know this is sort of off-topic but most people seem to ask these questions because they want to play GBA roms on their DS.
     
  13. McFlurry

    Member McFlurry GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ok DS can't play Gamecube games! why does he say that? lol
     
  14. sword414

    Member sword414 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    Canada
    wasnt there a gba emulator for a very specific flashcart? I remember it from awhile back.
    It certainly is possible if someone were to write the emulator from scratch, but people rather just try to find someway to access slot 2 info with a slot 1 flashcart
     
  15. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The emulator for the specific flashcart was the iPlayer's one, and the DSTwo is the same deal (except it's getting updates for it).

    The DS only has 4 megs of ram, most GBA games are far too large (topping out at 32 megs) to fit in RAM, unlike NES/GBC games that are measures in kilobytes. You COULD do swapping, however it would make it totally unplayably slow so nobody's bothered coding it because it's useless.
     

Share This Page