Pokemon Platinum in R4

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by .Darky, Mar 26, 2009.

Mar 26, 2009

Pokemon Platinum in R4 by .Darky at 8:31 PM (1,702 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. .Darky
    OP

    Member .Darky GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,163
    Location:
    Lima
    Country:
    Peru
    Ok, I've heard that Pokemon Platinum needs a 1Mb save file. So, since R4 doesn't support 1Mb save files I started using YSMenu.

    Before knowing about the need of having a bigger save data I've already played about 10 hours, and I noticed that after patching with YSMenu, playing the game for a while and obviously after saving, the file is still of 512Kb size.


    So...what am I supposed to do now to make the save file 1Mb...I don't want my data to get corrupted? : /
     
  2. clonesniper666

    Member clonesniper666 KRII LUN AUS

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    The Great Underworld Warzone
    Country:
    United States
    You need to download two custom files (infolib.dat and savlib.dat) from a topic in the dstt forum. to get it to work. And also it will not convert your save from 512 kb to 1 mb you have to do it manually or start over.
     
  3. .Darky
    OP

    Member .Darky GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,163
    Location:
    Lima
    Country:
    Peru
    I don't want to start over so I guess I'll do it manually.

    Is there a guide or something? : /
     
  4. clonesniper666

    Member clonesniper666 KRII LUN AUS

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    The Great Underworld Warzone
    Country:
    United States
    First go into pokesav and just save a 512kb file to use as a blank save.
    Then all you have to do is create a folder in your c drive (name it whatever) put the saves in the folder you created then in command prompt enter.

    cd c:\nameoffolder click enter
    now type
    copy/b 1.sav+2.sav 3.sav

    This will give a 1mb save for it with all your data.

    Actually if you can not make tghe save just upload it to rapidshare and i will fix it for you.
     
  5. .Darky
    OP

    Member .Darky GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,163
    Location:
    Lima
    Country:
    Peru
    Thanks, I'll post the rapidshare link in a sec. :]


    Here it is: *Link removed*
     
  6. clonesniper666

    Member clonesniper666 KRII LUN AUS

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    The Great Underworld Warzone
    Country:
    United States
    Ok here is your 1mb save. If it does not work for some reason just pm me.
     
  7. .Darky
    OP

    Member .Darky GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,163
    Location:
    Lima
    Country:
    Peru
    Thanks, a lot. :]


    It worked, everything works fine. Thanks again :]


    I'll edit the post with the link of my save file... so no one tries to steal it. >_>
     
  8. jimmy2989

    Newcomer jimmy2989 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United States
    does this mean i have to do this to mine as well cause i just played it as is and havent had a problem
     
  9. mikekenan007

    Newcomer mikekenan007 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Dayton NV
    Country:
    United States
    im using r4 with yasus ysmenu firmware im still running on a 512kb sav file and it hasnt messed up at all i have beaten the game as well no corruption so i dont think we all have to change the size to 1mb
     
  10. sweenish

    Member sweenish GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    704
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    depends on if you want to catch'em all

    i actually don't know, but the game wants you to have one

    pokesav should update and just let you save it as a 1 MB file
     
  11. clonesniper666

    Member clonesniper666 KRII LUN AUS

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    915
    Location:
    The Great Underworld Warzone
    Country:
    United States
    You only need a 1 mb save if you plan on using the battle recorder. To beat the game you onky need a 512 kb sav but to use the recorder it requires the extra 512 kb of 1 mb save. So if you have a 512 kb save it will be corrupteed if you use the recorder to make or download a battle.
     

Share This Page