Hacking Pokemon Black won't load. (AC2i)

purechaos996

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2008
Messages
795
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
Connecticut
XP
1,984
Country
United States
I recently got a 3DS and decided it was time to upgrade my AC2i so that I could play some of my older games on the newer system, I downloaded the Updated and followed the instructions included and successfully updated my card so my 3DS would recognize it (Shows up Prince Caspian) So I started loading some games just to test everything, all was good until I tired to load pokemon black. It loads the rom, I see the Loading screen go from Blue to Yellow and then it just hangs there and doesn't do anything.

I've tried deleting my .sav, Using different ROMs (both patched and clean) Formatting the entire card and reloading it. I'm already on the latest firmware (1.8.9z) So at this point I really don't know what else to do. Any help would be appreciated.
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,100
Trophies
2
XP
18,251
Country
United States
I recommend you use a clean ROM and disable AAP. If you're still having issues, try getting your ROM from another source. If you're able to play other games, then it is almost certainly the ROM.
 

Another World

Emulate the Planet!
Former Staff
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
10,578
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
From Where???
Website
wiki.gbatemp.net
XP
5,371
Country
Colombia
being stuck at "now loading..." is most always a contact or seating issue. reseat the msd card and the flash kit. if that fails to work consider doing the paper trick. i have 2i cards that work fine on one system but do not make contact on the next. the 2i is a really poor design and as a result we have the all to common contact issue.

if you are able to play ever other game on your flash kit without fail then consider the suggestions already made in this thread. to add-on to those, also consider a reformat using the panasonic formatter. it is possible that that 1 rom is corrupted, it happens. at one point i debugged a problem down to 1 single data file for a homebrew.

-another world
 

purechaos996

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2008
Messages
795
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
Connecticut
XP
1,984
Country
United States
You updated the loaders too right?

I did a full wipe of the card, loaded the newest firmware packet that was out, then added my ROM's folder. I'm assuming I did, unless its something separate.

EDIT: Tried a new clean ROM again, this time it loaded to yellow then after a few seconds I got FAT Error, and I have no idea what that means :/
 

purechaos996

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2008
Messages
795
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
Connecticut
XP
1,984
Country
United States

Another World

Emulate the Planet!
Former Staff
Joined
Jan 3, 2008
Messages
10,578
Trophies
0
Age
46
Location
From Where???
Website
wiki.gbatemp.net
XP
5,371
Country
Colombia
FAT error with just this 1 file? I really have no idea. If you got a FAT error I would ask if you had every required AKAIO file on the msd card. But since you said every ROM is working but this 1, then I would think that you had a corrupt ROM.

Verify the ROM you have by CRC. On the following pages you can find the correct CRC of this ROM (depending on what dump you are playing). If you do not know how to check the CRC value of your ROM do a few Google searches. There are many tools that will spy for the data.

http://www.advanscene.com/html/Releases/dbrelds.php?id=5344 (J)
http://www.advanscene.com/html/Releases/dbrelds.php?id=5912 (K)
http://www.advanscene.com/html/Releases/dbrelds.php?id=5804 (EU)

If the CRC if your ROM matches one of the releases above, then your ROM is a good clean dump. If it does not match then you will need to find another file.

Format your msd card using the panasonic formatter.

[ft]Panasonic SD Formatter[/ft]

After you do that put on AKAIO 1.8.9z and just the verified clean Pokemon Black ROM. Do not put on any other files at this point, as one of those files may be corrupt. Do some testing. If you still have problems let us know.

-Another World
 

purechaos996

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2008
Messages
795
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
Connecticut
XP
1,984
Country
United States
FAT error with just this 1 file? I really have no idea. If you got a FAT error I would ask if you had every required AKAIO file on the msd card. But since you said every ROM is working but this 1, then I would think that you had a corrupt ROM.

Verify the ROM you have by CRC. On the following pages you can find the correct CRC of this ROM (depending on what dump you are playing). If you do not know how to check the CRC value of your ROM do a few Google searches. There are many tools that will spy for the data.

http://www.advanscen...lds.php?id=5344 (J)
http://www.advanscen...lds.php?id=5912 (K)
http://www.advanscen...lds.php?id=5804 (EU)

If the CRC if your ROM matches one of the releases above, then your ROM is a good clean dump. If it does not match then you will need to find another file.

Format your msd card using the panasonic formatter.

[ft]Panasonic SD Formatter[/ft]

After you do that put on AKAIO 1.8.9z and just the verified clean Pokemon Black ROM. Do not put on any other files at this point, as one of those files may be corrupt. Do some testing. If you still have problems let us know.

-Another World


Well the ROM was fine, I downloaded the SD Formatter and used it on my card. Loaded up the firmware and the ROM and it worked, Not exactly sure what was causing it to crash, but I guess I'll just keep adding ROM back onto it and hope that it doesn't do it again. Thanks for the help AW :D And everyone else of course :P
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    But it doesn't have a speaker or battery.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Guess you could fit one in there.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The contacts are there, and the device already has charge control circuitry, but you have to buy and solder the battery yourself.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    And that's too fiddly for ole' butterfingers over here.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Gimme a finished product please.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    No rough edges either, I might hurt myself.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Nah, I can do it within a few mins.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Well yes, I suppose you can, but I can't.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    If it has a USB port, then you could perhaps try connecting a power bank.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It has USB-C.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That should be alright.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Well that was an owie hit my hand on the oven
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Hope you're alright there
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I enjoy the pain
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Not weird at all
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Who said I was normal
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I didn't ask
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It's okay to not be normal, act natural
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Ok just because you told me to
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That's fair
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I'm still bloody waiting for my eBay item to arrive, still haven't because of the *fuck you middle finger* pay strikes.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Can imagine other people waiting for their Xmas gifts.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Timestamp to the conclusion https://youtu.be/tAtaIZD0Ebs?t=624
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: Timestamp to the conclusion https://youtu.be/tAtaIZD0Ebs?t=624