Hacking Please help...

Lush

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
260
Trophies
0
XP
808
Country
Canada
I just updated my sons 2DS with the new gateway files and my first time using menuhax. I have it coldbooting into gateway emunand which is great. He is turning 5 soon and i hated the idea of needing the online exploit for him. This offline cold boot method is so much better.

I now want my o3ds to be the same. I started by trying to update my 4.5 sysnand to 9.2 using the hold up to boot gateway and then using the super smash bros rom to install 9.2 update. It looked like it worked fine, but now i have a black screen on boot... What can i do?
 

Xenon Hacks

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
7,414
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
4,629
Country
United States
I just updated my sons 2DS with the new gateway files and my first time using menuhax. I have it coldbooting into gateway emunand which is great. He is turning 5 soon and i hated the idea of needing the online exploit for him. This offline cold boot method is so much better.

I now want my o3ds to be the same. I started by trying to update my 4.5 sysnand to 9.2 using the hold up to boot gateway and then using the super smash bros rom to install 9.2 update. It looked like it worked fine, but now i have a black screen on boot... What can i do?
You probably bricked try removing the SD card and battery press the power button with both out then put the battery back in and try turning it on with no SD card did it turn on normally?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lush

CrispyYoshi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2010
Messages
1,539
Trophies
0
XP
1,014
Country
United States
From what I understand, updating via classic mode will brick your device. You should have used sysupdater via rxtools pasta mode.

Your only choice now is to restore your NAND backup via a hard mod, which requires opening up the device and soldering some things to connect your NAND flash memory to an SD card.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Deleted-236924

Lush

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
260
Trophies
0
XP
808
Country
Canada
I pulled the battery and when i hit power, I only get a blue light and 2 black screens
 

Xenon Hacks

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
7,414
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
4,629
Country
United States
Ok last thing to try put everything back in the 3DS and hold L+R+UP+A and press the power button and keep holding it till the update menu pops it, did it pop up for you?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lush

Lush

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
260
Trophies
0
XP
808
Country
Canada
I have a sysnand backup of 4.5

I am comfortable with a soldering iron.. Can you point me to a good guide to install the mod and restore my nand? Your help is very appreciated...
 
  • Like
Reactions: wormdood

grubgrub

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2015
Messages
184
Trophies
1
Age
41
XP
675
Country
New Zealand
  • Like
Reactions: Lush

Lush

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
260
Trophies
0
XP
808
Country
Canada
OK. I have my hard mod installed and it seems to be working. I am able to read the nand. When i try to write the sysnand backup i made with gateway, its says something about not enough space...
 

Xenon Hacks

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
7,414
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
4,629
Country
United States
OK. I have my hard mod installed and it seems to be working. I am able to read the nand. When i try to write the sysnand backup i made with gateway, its says something about not enough space...
ok make sure you don't format your nand try running win32diskimager as an admin and write your nand.bin while you have BSOD.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lush

Lush

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
260
Trophies
0
XP
808
Country
Canada
dvSWpu4.png


--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I have the BSOD and have done 3 successful dumps of the nand.... but i can't write...

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I tried to rename my nand backup from *.bin to *.img
 

Xenon Hacks

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
7,414
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
4,629
Country
United States
dvSWpu4.png


--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I have the BSOD and have done 3 successful dumps of the nand.... but i can't write...

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I tried to rename my nand backup from *.bin to *.img
The only things I can think of is you either don't have an MMC reader, the SD adapter is not compatible or you have the SD adapter set to "locked" with the switch on this side thus you can read but not write.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lush and LameNobody

LameNobody

Weighted Companion Cube Enthusiast
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2015
Messages
466
Trophies
0
Location
127.0.0.1
XP
449
Country
Canada
The only things I can think of is you either don't have an MMC reader, the SD adapter is not compatible or you have the SD adapter set to "locked" with the switch on this side thus you can read but not write.
Since windows sees it, it's likely to be the lock switch issue..
(he may have to solder the lock pins on his SD adapter together depending on how he made his sd adapter)
 

Lush

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
260
Trophies
0
XP
808
Country
Canada
Its writing! It was the lock tab. The little tab fell out when i pulled the adapter apart. Taped into place and now it seems to be working.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Xenon Hacks

Xenon Hacks

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
7,414
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
4,629
Country
United States
Its writing! It was the lock tab. The little tab fell out when i pulled the adapter apart. Taped into place and now it seems to be working.
Good job you will find having a NAND mod is god send you should upload your 4.5 NAND backup somewhere online like Megaupload privately so you never lose it glad we could help you out.
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Attempting to recover a 2tb worth of movies and this 320 weirdly won't initialize
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    huraay for keeping backups
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    huraay for that backup drive being the issue back up a back up of a
    back ups :teach:
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    if only you could encode the backup in your DNA and carry it with you
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    In 20 years we'll probably have micro sd cards implants in our heads
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    microsd?
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I'd be okay with getting my brain taken out and replaced with one as long as its not intel or apple
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    shiet get on with the time grampa, we're using picoSD now
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Only the most important humans will have nvme installed in their head
  • _Shimon @ _Shimon:
    oh shit this exists
  • Arras @ Arras:
    wait this is where the shoutbox went?
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    What are everyone's
    thoughts on gpu prices atm?
  • Arras @ Arras:
    high
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    lol yes they are high, mate of mine just got a 1080 for $700 AUD
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    second hand which is nuts as when the 3070 came out here that's how much it was new at the time
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I
    f you have tech that can decently run games don't buy anything yet wait a year or two
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    I just got a core build upgrade, minus gpu due to price, will be running my GTX780 until I can afford an upgrade
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Prices are up because of bots and
    shortages it'll die down with a year or two
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    Yeah I imagine there will be a short period where prices are low then the next series will come out and low and behold have high prices again
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Today's games look just fine at 1080 with decent 60fos unless you have disposable income it's not really worth it
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Probably won't be that long until theirs 4k capable apus around $400
  • PeeJay Bonobo @ PeeJay Bonobo:
    And I'm here stuck with my 3800X (though I need to plan if I want to upgrade to a 5900X) and an RX 5700 (XT BIOS).
  • p1ngpong @ p1ngpong:
    DEAD
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    ALIVE
  • Slluxx @ Slluxx:
    oh wow, chat available from any where, nice
    Slluxx @ Slluxx: oh wow, chat available from any where, nice