1. fraggle

    OP fraggle Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Hi Folks,

    Ive had this problem for ages im really hoping someone can help. So I use SX OS. Was fine for about 6 months. Since about a year ive been getting errors hours into games. I check with switch and it shows the NSP file is corrupt. I have tried installing the files using the in built installer, tinfoil and goldleaf. All the same if the check shows the file is corrupt I KNOW that at some point in the game I will get an error that will always pop up to stop my progress.

    I use a KIngston SD card and use NSP divider to chop up files larger than 4GBS.Ive also tried using another SD Card and installing the file to memory and SD card.

    Does anyone have any idea why this happens? I do install some games and they arent corrupt but a lot are. I try numerous different sites with different files ie NSP XCI NSZ but they all go the same way.

    The game I am having probs with the now is Resident Evil HD. No file from the internet ive found is NOT corrupt after its installed.

    Thanks for your time.
     
    Last edited by fraggle, Feb 27, 2020
  2. Budsixz

    Budsixz GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Messages:
    390
    Country:
    India
    you need sigpatches
     
  3. fraggle

    OP fraggle Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Hi, thanks for replying. What is a sig patch?

    Also why do i need this for some games then but not others that have no corruption?

    With goldleaf during installation it says it has a ticket to be imported and also shows a signature type code, does that have anything to do with sig patches? It still does the installation fine bar the corruption.

    Ive been looking into this more and are you sure that sigpatches are needed if i am using sx os? Does that not bypass the checks?
     
    Last edited by fraggle, Feb 27, 2020
  4. teamlocust

    teamlocust GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    India
    Stop using exfat
     
  5. fraggle

    OP fraggle Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Im using fat32 hense why I need to divide larger files. So I take it I dont need sigpatches with SX OS? I recently updated SX OS but does this need to happen again?

    ive been looking on forums for ages but I still dont understand why this is happening. Really frustrating. Any ideas guys?
     
    Last edited by fraggle, Feb 27, 2020
  6. Budsixz

    Budsixz GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Messages:
    390
    Country:
    India
    why do you still split nsp file? just connect the switch to pc and usb install it
    and sigpatches are needed for atmosphere os.
    if you're using sx os then I don't know how that one works because I use atmosphere
     
  7. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,900
    Country:
    United States
    if you got the nsp on software, then it could be corrupted. I've encountered a lot of corrupted nsp files there. if I verify with nsp verify, it errors with nca header, so it errors instantly. I run a lot of tests on my nsp files to make sure they're good and not malicious either.
     
  8. fraggle

    OP fraggle Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    I know theres other ways but splitting the files is easy so have just been doing that.

    From what ive read sx os doesnt need sigpatches.

    Ive now tried the files from at least 5 different nsp download sites and lots are corrupted. That just doesnt seem right at all. They cant all be corrupted. What would be the point in uploading them? Resi 1 hd i cant find uncorrupted anywhere online. That cant be right.
     
  9. fraggle
    This message by fraggle has been removed from public view by linuxares, Feb 28, 2020, Reason: Don't mention warez sites.
    Feb 28, 2020 Show
  10. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,900
    Country:
    United States
    don't know. if I find a corrupted nsp, I just download from another source.
     
  11. fraggle

    OP fraggle Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Ive been doing that. Its just the sheer amount of corrupted nsps out there that i thought there has to be a problem at my end with installing the file, no way that that many are being uploaded to sites.

    In this games case i cant find another fixed version. Its becoming more and more a problem. Looks like theres no fix.
     
  12. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,900
    Country:
    United States
    I don't have an exploited switch, but I've been downloading all the games I buy since I've gone all digital with a 1TB micro sd.
     
  13. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7,477
    Country:
    Sweden
    You need the proper signature patches.
     
  14. Dust2dust

    Dust2dust GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,221
    Country:
    Canada
    SXOS shouldn't need signature patches, as they are built-in. The built-in SXOS NSP installer was known to corrupt NSP installation, but I never actually encountered a game installed that way, that crashed even though it was reported as corrupt by the console. Anyway, the OP should definitely check his NSP files with NX Game Info to make sure they are legit. Then he might be able to pinpoint the problem.
    https://github.com/garoxas/NX_Game_Info
     
  15. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,900
    Country:
    United States
    I use nx game info as well but only to determine the legitimacy of the nsp. to check, I use nsp verify. if it's an nca header problem, it will fail instantly, saying it's corrupted.
     
  16. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7,477
    Country:
    Sweden
    ah I missed that. Well what he can try is actually another installer. Since he claim from different sources I suspect it's "created" nsps files that are including extra stuff in it. He should try a proper scene release.
     
    Dust2dust likes this.
  17. fraggle

    OP fraggle Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Thanks for your replies guys. Ive tried multiple installers for all the different files. Tinfoil, goldleaf and sx installer. Its all the same, i then check the data using the switch data checker and lots of files are shown as corrupt.

    The sites ive used ive posted up top. I thought these were as legitimate as they come but if anyone know a better source that would be great. Thanks
     
  18. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    11,133
    Country:
    United States
    That is against the rules of the site. Didn't you notice your post mentioning warez websites was removed?
     
  19. fraggle

    OP fraggle Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    I didnt know. Ive not posted on here much i didnt notice they were removed.
     
  20. CanIHazWarez

    CanIHazWarez GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Messages:
    182
    Country:
    United States
    First off, don't listen to anyone tell you that you need sig patches. You don't.

    I would try backing up everything on the SD card, doing a full format of the card, and putting the data back on.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - corrupt, Please, Always