playstation 3 8001050f error

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by Klx5, Mar 1, 2010.

Mar 1, 2010

playstation 3 8001050f error by Klx5 at 4:27 AM (2,614 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. Klx5
    OP

    Newcomer Klx5 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Chicago
    Country:
    United States
    hello guys, well my ps3 started showing this error (8001050f) after i was playing heavy rain in one of those heavy action sequences the game froze, and now i cant play any other game, it has something to do with the trophies or something
    thanks in advance guys
     


  2. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,763
    Country:
    United States
    http://twitter.com/SonyPlayStation/status/9801870518


    Sony has some work to do

    many user are having problems
    LOSING, there trophies
    date/time is WRONG
    Some GAME DON'T LOAD, you get error, 8001050F
    Demos you bought the keys to to make full, are now back to being Demos

    are you one of them

    my ps3 is having the 8001050F error problem
     
  3. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
  4. TanookiSuit

    Member TanookiSuit Game Reviewer/Writer -- formerly Vampire Hunter D

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,552
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Country:
    United States
    It's a trophy/network sync problem. I didn't get kicked off my play session with COD Classic or COD4 for a few hours during this.

    I think the reason is that I don't auto-login the PSN at all. I have to log it in manually, so like when I do trophies I click on it in the XMB then it mini-logs in and syncs the new trophy data to their network.

    I got the popup with the error # when in COD4, says PSN was hosed and was shutting it off, but the game stayed fine. I suggest temporarily disabling in the menu your net connect on the PS3 til it is resolved.


    I am enjoying (sarcasm here) all the fucking babies crying about this and saying how XBL is so much better, yet they get more network outages and you pay for that. Got to love a hypocrite. [​IMG]
     
  5. Gaisuto

    Former Staff Gaisuto Lose 2 Levels.

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5,925
    Location:
    Palm Coast
    Country:
    United States
    This has nothing to do with PSN. It's affecting people who don't even go online. It's a firmware glitch involving the date. I guess they messed up when dealing with leap years or something.
     
  6. Chanser

    Member Chanser :o

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,648
    Country:
    Macau
    It only affects fat PS3's and not the slim PS3's.

    Playing Heavy Rain fine, trophies working fine.
     
  7. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    This

    No doubt its the problem, always seems to happen with something.

    Last time i remember it happened was with Gears of War PC, game just failed to boot, but would work normally if you set the date back.
     
  8. dgwillia

    Member dgwillia The Bacon Lover

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Location:
    Columbia Station, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    BAH! Was playing fine all day, DC'd, froze up, restarted and got the error =/. 80% of my PSN Games wont work (Thank god atleast MvC2 works =/), and only a few of my Disc games would work (MGS4 and Disgaea 3 would, DW:Strikeforce, and Heavy Rain wouldnt, didnt try my WKC).

    Whatever the error is, im hoping for some big reparations from Sony (Whether its some free games, PSN credit, or a new PS3 Slim all together :3)
     
  9. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,189
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    they are saying its a possible calender error in the PS3

    its only affecting older units

    my 160GB ps3 phat is working fine
     
  10. dgwillia

    Member dgwillia The Bacon Lover

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Location:
    Columbia Station, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    Found this, couldnt help but laugh my butt off

    [​IMG]
     
  11. GreatZimkogway

    Member GreatZimkogway Touhou Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Imoriata
    Country:
    United States
    Well, this just goes to show crApple fanboys that Microsoft isn't the only one with this kind of glitch/problem. Same thing happened to Zune 30's last year. I remember getting a crapola amount of sleep that day....
     
  12. Klx5
    OP

    Newcomer Klx5 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Chicago
    Country:
    United States
    i already formatted my hard drive, hoping it would work but it didn't, great now i just lost all my data.
     
  13. dgwillia

    Member dgwillia The Bacon Lover

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Location:
    Columbia Station, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, i updated the Encylopedia Dramatica page for PS3 since no one else took the liberty of doing it
     
  14. C175R

    Member C175R GBAtemp Pirate

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United States
    just checked mine and I have the same problem...
    damn you sony [​IMG]
     
  15. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Wow, that's pretty huge. I'm glad I have a Slim.

    The date theory sounds plausible. Maybe the PS3 is confused whether february 29th exists or not. Don't quote me on that though, it might be something else entirely.

    Now I just hope there is no actual data lost. If people have to rebuy PSN games or lose saves or trophies, Sony's got a major problem here.
     
  16. blitzer320

    Member blitzer320 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    it may be linked to heavy rain as i was playing it it is real buggy
    if everybody who has this issue has also played heavy rain that is the issue
    but im not having this issue on an 80gb fat feel sorry for people who are
     
  17. C175R

    Member C175R GBAtemp Pirate

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United States
    I don't have Heavy rain and I have this problem. So I don't think that is.
    most likely the problem is the date like someone said.
     
  18. PokemonV

    Newcomer PokemonV Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Canada
    I think this problem doesn't affect 3rd gen PS3 models as well. My 3rd gen is working fine. Maybe this is a way Sony will take out BC from the first and second generation models. o.o
     
  19. dgwillia

    Member dgwillia The Bacon Lover

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Location:
    Columbia Station, Ohio
    Country:
    United States
    Nah, its not Heavy Rain, i beat it 2 days ago, and had no problems until today. (Also, didnt have any freezes or anything a single time while playing it either)
     
  20. Klx5
    OP

    Newcomer Klx5 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Chicago
    Country:
    United States
    ok guys it seams that the problem has been fixed, i can log in to the psn again, it seams that it was Sony's fault....................... stupid Sony
     

Share This Page