Playing Music in background

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Danny600kill, Nov 2, 2009.

Nov 2, 2009
  1. Danny600kill
    OP

    Member Danny600kill xD

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,664
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok so lately i have been listening to alot of music when gaming

    I always listen to music when im gaming especially on my 360 as i think it helps me relax and get into the game

    So heres my question. Is it possible to create a homebrew app, or maybe something added on to moonshell or something completely new so that you could have music playing in the background of the game you are playing. Eg say you are playing a game you could press a certain set of buttons like you would for other features like slowmo or RTS. and then this would lwt you star song, change song ect.

    This would also be great for the Wii but im more focused on the DS at this moment in time

    Im only asking you because i now only the basics of coding and so i would be much use

    Logically i thought it might be easier with flashcarts with firmware based around moonshell Eg M3 (sakura)

    Thanks so much

    PS: If there is already something like this out there or if it is not possible then please tell me
     
  2. nickbaker50

    Member nickbaker50 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
    Im not sure it is possible. It would mean that the homebrew would be running as the game, which I am not sure the ds can handle. Also you would have to overwrite the games audio which would mean a dif hack for each game. You could get around that one though if you had the option of muting that game in the games own settings.
     
  3. Justin121994

    Member Justin121994 Bitcoin. coinbase.com/andrew

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    Ontario, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Not possible search the hundreds of other threads asking this... and it'll tell you why.
     
  4. Danny600kill
    OP

    Member Danny600kill xD

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,664
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ive read some more on it and now i no its not possible, sorry for not fully searching ( I Suck at searching )
     
  5. yobemal

    Member yobemal GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    Here
    Country:
    Norway
    There are some games (such as SSBB) where u can replace the music with ur own
     
  6. Danny600kill
    OP

    Member Danny600kill xD

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,664
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well SSBB is on the wii so yeh i could do that, seeing as it is one of the only games i play these days
     
  7. Blaze163

    Member Blaze163 The White Phoenix's purifying flame.

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,767
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've always wondered. I know you can do this on the 360 but can it be done on PS3 as well? I prefer to buy PS3 games over 360 games these days (saves spending money on Xbox Live) but with certain games I prefer my own music. Is it possible on PS3?
     
  8. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I don't think the DS can multitask, which is what would be needed for this.
    So no, not on the DS.
    I'm not sure on the Wii either.
     
  9. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    I just wanted to say kudos for this. Most of the time we get people going "NO STFU I THUGHT MABE IT CHANG BY NOW AND DS GOT STRONGER!!!!!!" but you were really cool about it. Thank you.
     
  10. Danny600kill
    OP

    Member Danny600kill xD

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,664
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    W8 so the ds didn't get stronger [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    well theres no point in arguing if your just guna fail

    i just have to live with using my ipod speakers or my laptop so its not tht bad
     
  11. ca_michelbach

    Member ca_michelbach GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    The Vualt
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's not possible as a homebrew (things like soft-reset, RTS are not homebrew) but like these featires it could be possible for the flashcard teams to add to the list of features...i think it would make the game lag though, using all that RAM has to have a bad effect.
     
  12. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Something to do with the RAM emptying when a game is loaded or something something.

    - Law
     
  13. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I believe it is possible to listen to your own music in-game on PS3. I know you can access XMB during game, and I think that allows you to play music. Anyway, WAY off topic.
     
  14. Gh0sti

    Member Gh0sti iOS Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,302
    Location:
    Inside you, all around you
    Country:
    United States
    well couldnt you thou if you ran it through the YS-Menu on Moonshell have a set up that its playing then boot up the game you want to play through moonshell? im not a programmer but i was just curious if you could do it that one
     
  15. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    the ds doesnt have MULTI-TASKING. period
     

Share This Page