Picture issues

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by person66, Jan 15, 2011.

Jan 15, 2011

Picture issues by person66 at 1:47 AM (603 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. person66
    OP

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    OK so I got some third-party component cables for my wii a long time ago, but I never used them because my tv only had one component cable input, which was being used by my ps3 (the cables appear to be made by the same company, but the ps3 doesn't have this problem). Anyway, I decided to try the Wii's component cables, but when I change to 480p, it seems like the picture gets moved up or something, resulting in a black bar on the bottom of the screen and the top part missing:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    I thought I could fix that by using the option that lets you move the area of the screen around, but that only lets you move the screen left or right. So I tried it on the regular 480i (which still looked far better then with the original cables) and although the black bar problem was (mostly) fixed, now whenever I do anything other then use the the wii menu (and a few homebrew apps and games), these annoying flashing bars appear at the top and bottom of the screen:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    So any ideas? I think its probably because of the cheap 3rd party component cables, but I'm not sure.
     
  2. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    i can't see anything. maybe try different cables if not than your wiis video board is malfunctioning and only way to fix is send to big N.
     
  3. person66
    OP

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Well I'm fairly sure its the cables now, as the original ones work fine. So, any recommendations on new component cables (nothing expensive)?
     
  4. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    get the official cables with gold connectors this is what it looks like and it's usually around $10

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page