Hacking Phat PS3 PS2 emulator settings

britain4

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
434
Trophies
1
Age
30
Location
Sheffield
XP
1,815
Country
I have a part BC PS3 (CECHC03)

There are two emulator settings in Rebug toolbox, Cobra mode works but with frame rate issues in certain games, Original gives me a black screen for about 30 seconds then “An error occurred during the start operation (80028F17)” when loading ISOs

I’m guessing for a BC model I should be using Original and not Cobra? If so does anyone have any idea why is not working? :(

Cheers!
 

mikey420

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
911
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
493
Country
United States
You have to use cobra for PS2 the settings just swap between the two built in software emulator. Neither of which will solve your "framerate issue" the issue is that you're using PS2 on a non BC console which means the games are being emulated entirely so you will have issues. The only way to get perfect comparability for PS2 on PS3 is to pickup a launch model. Good luck though as they tend to be in pretty rough shape these days

Never mind mis read that. You're certain you have a BC unit? Either way you should be using cobra mode. You can toggle between the emulators with the toolbox but there are a select few titles that have issues. Eitherway the default settings with cobra enabled should be sufficient for 90% of games. I honestly never once had a PS2 game I couldn't play just fine on a fully BC unit though some had a slight stutter in fmvs. The emulator mode doesn't really have much effect on this model as the vast majority of the work is being done through hardware not the emulator. The BC unit features the emotion engine chipset (the PS2s hardware base).
 
Last edited by mikey420,

britain4

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
434
Trophies
1
Age
30
Location
Sheffield
XP
1,815
Country
You have to use cobra for PS2 the settings just swap between the two built in software emulator. Neither of which will solve your "framerate issue" the issue is that you're using PS2 on a non BC console which means the games are being emulated entirely so you will have issues. The only way to get perfect comparability for PS2 on PS3 is to pickup a launch model. Good luck though as they tend to be in pretty rough shape these days

It is a launch model (UK launch model so it only has part hardware emulation) but Vice City still runs like crap so I wondered if it was actually using the BC hardware with the settings I’m using. Or if the issues are due to it only being part hardware BC.

I should be good for BC consoles for a while LOL, this one is reballed, I have a spare refurbed CECHC, and also a full BC DECHA00A waiting to be reballed
 
Last edited by britain4,

britain4

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
434
Trophies
1
Age
30
Location
Sheffield
XP
1,815
Country
Well if it's only semi BC this is your problem. Only a truly BC model will play PS2 perfectly.

I know but I was just asking about the settings I was using to make sure it wasn’t using software emulation instead. If it’s just down to it being semi BC then that’s cool.
 

mikey420

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
911
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
493
Country
United States
That's the just of it. The default settings should take advantage of the hardware but it's still going to have issues like frame stutters and broken games. In short make sure cobra mode is enabled as without it even semi BC units will error out on PS2. Fully BC units will not but that's another kettle of fish. Basically enable cobra and choose whichever emulator seems to give the best performance for your game. They both have some differences to them that could make certain games run better though as always with emulation on low end computers there will be issues and some games that are simply too demanding of the hardware to run right.
 

britain4

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2014
Messages
434
Trophies
1
Age
30
Location
Sheffield
XP
1,815
Country
That's the just of it. The default settings should take advantage of the hardware but it's still going to have issues like frame stutters and broken games. In short make sure cobra mode is enabled as without it even semi BC units will error out on PS2. Fully BC units will not but that's another kettle of fish. Basically enable cobra and choose whichever emulator seems to give the best performance for your game. They both have some differences to them that could make certain games run better though as always with emulation on low end computers there will be issues and some games that are simply too demanding of the hardware to run right.


OK thanks for that. I do have Cobra mode enabled as you say, nothing runs without it. Which option is to change the emulator?

If you mean the “toggle PS2 emulator” option there are two settings, Cobra and Original, and Original doesn’t work.

If the BC hardware is being used while PS2 emulator is set to Cobra then that’s my question answered and I’m happy :D
 
Last edited by britain4,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yes uremum didn't tell me about her transition and begged me to make it my background
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I couldn't hurt his or hers feelings
  • TechieSaru tempBOT:
    TechieSaru has joined the room.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @K3Nv2, Don't ask him where to get lemonade. ;)
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Psi fondles big red lemons to make lemonaides
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Always wanting my lemons he can't have them
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Jeb stole bigonyas pants
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Jokes on you, I don't have any on.... "Cause I'm free.... Free ballin'"
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @BigOnYa, Sounds like you and AncientBoi get along together TOO well.
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Thank God we are 20 states away from each tho. Kenny's almost neighbors with him.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I live in kc you dingus
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Ok still closer to him than me, perv boi
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Not to mention you guys share the same last name.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I thought you were Mrs.bigboi
    +2
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Nuh twice divorced, I took my maiden name
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Mrs. bigancientboi?
    +2
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Ms. now, We divorced.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I'd keep the Mrs. He's got more years on you
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    The end of this game, in the house, is like Texas chainsaw massacre house, is crazy. I just gotta find Chris n kill him.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Damn it, Chris was not the original werewolf.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I didn't think I'd like these dumb xreals but being able to use my phone while having a big screen floating about is pretty cool
    +1
  • duskfall @ duskfall:
    :yaysp:these emojis are great
    duskfall @ duskfall: :yaysp:these emojis are great