Hardware PC won't turn on after cleaning

RiderLeangle

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2009
Messages
511
Trophies
0
Age
29
Website
ridersrealm.b1.jcink.com
XP
1,772
Country
United States
So I cleaned my computer out with compressed air, when I turned it on it booted up, I logged into windows then it froze, I tried to reboot and then it doesn't turn on, no post screen, no windows, power must be working since everything seems to be working, fans boot up, lights on my motherboard and ram come on.
It's giving an AO or RO or something on the mobo if that means anything
20150211_230724.jpg


I didn't touch anything but the outside of the case so pretty sure I didn't fry anything, and for similar reasoning of not touching anything I don't think I disconnected anything. I tried unplugging and replugging some things but that didn't help.

build:

GIGABYTE GA-Z87X-UD3H LGA 1150 Intel Z87 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

Intel Core i7-4770 Haswell Quad-Core 3.4GHz LGA 1150 84W Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics BX80646I74770

CORSAIR Dominator Platinum 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133 (PC3 17000) Desktop Memory Model

SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold ((SS-650KM Active PFC F3)) 650W ATX12V V2.3/EPS 12V V2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular Active PFC Power Supply New 4th Gen CPU Certified Haswell Ready

GIGABYTE GV-N660OC-2GD G-SYNC Support GeForce GTX 660 2GB 192-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

Samsung Electronics 840 Pro Series 2.5-Inch 256 GB SATA 6GB/s Solid State Drive MZ-7PD256BW

Windows 7 professional installed on that

also in there is a 2tb seagate baracuda and a 1 tb wd green but those aren't system files holding
 

Zanoab

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2009
Messages
127
Trophies
0
XP
462
Country
United States
Remove everything but the motherboard, cpu, memory, and power supply. If it turns on, put in the GPU and if it still works, reconnect your hard drives.
 

NAND0

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Messages
85
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
65
Country
United States
Do what above poster said.
Personally when I had this problem, I had to reseat my gpu and network card. Blowing out dust while they're disconnected first. Seems that dust got blown into the pci slots and was causing problems.
Also if your mobo gives you beeps on startup, look online for beep codes for your mobo.
If nothing works still and you want a sure diagnosis, use a POST tester. They're fairly cheap
 

Originality

Chibi-neko
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,709
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
London, UK
Website
metalix.deviantart.com
XP
1,846
Country
If it's anything like my Asus mobo (don't have time to check whilst at work) then A0 is its normal operational state. That means it's probably something to do with the graphics card.

As above, reseat the graphics card and see if it works. You can also try plugging the monitor into the integrated graphics ports on the back panel of the motherboard. If that doesn't work, try clearing CMOS and trying again (there might be a button on the MoBo or on the back panel that makes it easier).
 

Minox

Thanks for the fish
Former Staff
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
6,903
Trophies
1
XP
5,679
Country
Japan
According to the user's manual for your motherboard A0 seems to indicate that it's started initializing IDE. I'm not completely sure what that means in terms of whether or not it's working alright or not, but it could be worth having a look at IDE/SATA cables to see that they're connected properly.

Edit: Obviously you should try to get a picture from your GPU first (onboard or other).
 

RiderLeangle

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2009
Messages
511
Trophies
0
Age
29
Website
ridersrealm.b1.jcink.com
XP
1,772
Country
United States
Well tried the unplug everything but bare basics, got signs of life, plugged in SSD, got signs of windows, plugged everything else SATA back in got into windows and tried graphics card and somehow working, not clue what the fuck happened but glad everything is working now. Thanks for the help everyone
 

Catastrophic

Perfectly Normal
Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2012
Messages
788
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Somewhere
XP
1,465
Country
Sometimes dust and dirt can prevent contact on a pin on one of your components. There are a lot of pins and just one of them needs to fail so problems like these aren't too uncommon.

Also, that seven segment display is a Dr.Debug and displays a different value depending on what the problem is.
 

sandytf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 5, 2013
Messages
133
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
643
Country
United States
In general, one of the best things to try when you detect unexplainable behavior is to completely unplug the computer (including power, Ethernet, video, etc.) and then wait up to 30 minutes. Once you are done waiting, plug everything back in and try the system again. Sometimes, various components in a computer can have bad voltage levels and you need to full power off the system so the capacitors can completely discharge. Also, some systems (although I've only seen it in laptops) have a safety feature where if anything problematic is detected, the system prevents booting for either a set period of time or until a particular component has been removed and re-seated.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • T @ trimesh:
    I appreciate the convenience of emulation - but at the same time there is a feeling you get from using original hardware that's hard to match.
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I feel like consoles will always be here just less of a demand
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Next gen will probably be all portable
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Some things (like Super Famicom games) just feel right when you play them using the original hardware and a CRT
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    The PS tablet
    Gift
  • mthrnite tempBOT: @ mthrnite
    switches the box from tv to game
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Not so sure about that - the tendency for "graphics uber alles" tends to lead to very high power consumption
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    If you look at what's now portability graphics are catching up to console quality
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Nintendy is a huge example of not everyone caring about powerful specs most that do will be hardcore PC players anyway
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    The thing is that the IATA rules impose a pretty hard limit of 100Wh on battery sizes for lithium batteries - and it doesn't look like Li is going away soon
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    So if you want (say) 4 hours of runtime you need a maximum system-level power consumption of 25W
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Yeah but we already have AAA titles looking fine on tablet form 1080p displays
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Human eye can only tell so much of a difference
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    For reference, the PS5 is rated at 350W and the Xbox series X at 275W - and that's console only, without any display
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    But the future always holds performance never know what the aliens will donate from their left over tech
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Maybe :) - but batteries have turned out to be a pretty hard problem
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Like I said most that will truly care will already be hard core gaming pcers
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    And DF subscribers :)
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I bet you could find a neighbor with a ps5 and they'd have no idea what the word spec means
    Gift
  • T @ trimesh:
    Yeah probably - people on forums seem to care a lot, but they are heavily self-selected
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Most on forums try to get a good learning of actual tech
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Papaya, so good
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Only 13 more titles to go on ps3 yay
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    I still have a remnant of the taste of the papaya
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    @KenniesNewName June will come sooner than the end of that process
    Gift
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: @KenniesNewName June will come sooner than the end of that process