Pandora?

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by mrhotdoguk, Dec 7, 2010.

Dec 7, 2010

Pandora? by mrhotdoguk at 4:08 PM (931 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. mrhotdoguk
    OP

    Newcomer mrhotdoguk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Guys,

    I believe that my PSP has has the Pandora battery done to it, is there a way to verify that this has been done?

    Cheers
     
  2. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Take the memory stick out.

    Turn the PSP on.

    If the Backlight comes on, the power light is green but the screen remains black it's a Pandora battery.
     
  3. Jolan

    Member Jolan Unlimited Bear Works

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Netherlands, currently
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    Unless you're on a 3k, in which case there won't be a difference.
     
  4. mrhotdoguk
    OP

    Newcomer mrhotdoguk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When I switch it on it takes me to PSP XMB.

    My memory stick has the OS Pandora Battery tool 0.5, the Despertar del Cementerio v8 and two other files on that don't appear to have names, I am sure my mate who done it said i could turn on the pandora battery on and off but it was a while a go.

    Cheers.
     
  5. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OSPBT 0.5 isn't the latest release but that's what you'd use to convert it to a Pandora.
     
  6. mrhotdoguk
    OP

    Newcomer mrhotdoguk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is there a way of switching the pandora battery on and off i.e. turning the softmod off and on?

    I am 99% sure he done it and told me of a way of doing it.
     
  7. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OSPBT does both ways.
     
  8. mrhotdoguk
    OP

    Newcomer mrhotdoguk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK, how is it done, do I just run the program from the memory stick?
     
  9. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What firmware does your PSP say it's on in the System Information? Also, why do you suddenly need a Pandora?
     
  10. mrhotdoguk
    OP

    Newcomer mrhotdoguk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    System Software - 5.00 M33-4

    My youngest daughter has started playing with it I thought I would get some games for her for XMAS

    I am almost sure it has been done, I want to mupdate it so it can play newer games, I have done hacks on the DS and the WII so just need a wee bit of info to get me started. I don't want to go and try it when it has already been done.

    I really appreciate your help.

    Cheers.
     
  11. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don't need to use a Pandora battery to update your firmware. You can either run a simple update to take you to 5.00M33-6 and patch the latest games manually, or run two separate updates to take you to Prometheus firmware which should run most games as clean ISO's.

    A Pandora is only something you'd want if you're thinking your daughter is going to somehow modify the flash0
     
  12. mrhotdoguk
    OP

    Newcomer mrhotdoguk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah I thought pandora was needed so that you could run downloaded games.

    OK I think I will go for the option "run two separate updates to take you to Prometheus firmware which should run most games as clean ISO's", I take it the info for this is in the stickies?

    Cheers.
     
  13. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes....just pick it up from the bit after running recovery flasher.
     
  14. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For the record, when it comes to installing CFW, pandora is mostly needed for official firmwares higher than 5.03 and only on old motherboards.
     

Share This Page