Overclocking

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by robiul, May 15, 2009.

May 15, 2009

Overclocking by robiul at 12:40 PM (2,876 Views / 0 Likes) 22 replies

  1. robiul
    OP

    Member robiul GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    Can the Wii be overclocked?
     


  2. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Why would you wanna do that ?
     
  3. robiul
    OP

    Member robiul GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    Just for the fun of it, see how much power the little box can output.
     
  4. JussiPik

    Member JussiPik GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    Finland
    yes, just download wiiclocker.dol from wiibrew.
     
  5. robiul
    OP

    Member robiul GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    Seriously there are some stupid people who would follow that.
     
  6. JussiPik

    Member JussiPik GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    Finland
    lol, seriously, idk, i think it could be done.
    it would be interesting.
     
  7. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,351
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    um no it's not a pc [​IMG]
     
  8. payas

    Newcomer payas Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I dont know thay managed to overclock the psp from 166 to 333 mhz. Maybe possible [​IMG]
     
  9. agentgamma

    Member agentgamma I dont know what to put here

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    876
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If I recall correctly, the PSP processor is actually a 333mhz processor that was downclocked by Sony to 166mhz to save battery life.
     
  10. Vater Unser

    Member Vater Unser GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,184
    Location:
    Pen Island
    Country:
    Germany
    Uhm, no.
    333mhz is the actual clock rate of the PSP, Sony just downclocked it to 166mhz so the CPU wouldn't drain the battery so fast.
    [whoops, agentgamma was faster.]

    That aside, there really is NO point in overclocking your Wii.
    When it's overclocked, then what?
    What kind of software would you run on it that would actually make use of the faster CPU speed?
    It's not like the existing games will suddenly look better once the CPU's overclocked.
     
  11. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
    Sounds completly useless, unless ofcourse it would be able to play 720P .MKVs which it probably wouldn't since it'd overheat before reaching anything impressive, especially since it already has some heat issues...
     
  12. incinerator

    Newcomer incinerator Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    If you are the type to ask "Why?" or say "Sounds useless" then you are obviously not the type to overclock your Wii =P

    Sometimes, you do things just because you can. That in itself is the fun part. Of course, there's the added boost of performance if you were to run any processor intensive homebrew. But sometimes there's more fun in the journey than the destination [​IMG]
     
  13. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    the psp was NEVER on 166 mhz its 222 mhz [​IMG] and yeah its just a 333 mhz processor that was downclocked
     
  14. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,351
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    not to mention it will shorten the cpu life.
     
  15. toguro_max

    Member toguro_max GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    380
    Location:
    São Vicente, Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    Why bothering asking "why"?
    It's just like incinerator said, "(...) sometimes there's more fun in the journey than the destination".
    When someone wants to know if something is possible, s/he does not want to know (for now, at least) what to do with it, s/he just wants to know if it is possible.
    For me, for instange, i think overclocking anything is stupid, but that is just my opinion, i don't point fingers at anyone's face becaus of it...

    Back to the question, it probably is possible. I mean, heck, they even overclocked an Sega Genesis!
     
  16. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    Thought I'd chime in: WRONG.

    The transistors that compose ICs do not have "lives". They live as long as their physical state is intact(ie: you don't go breaking the die in half). Any wear placed on an IC has more of a chance of being exterior and mechanical(such as pressure from the heatsink) than not.

    Heat on a transistor is only a factor when electronic leakage begins to occur, and even then the transistor doesn't "wear out" -- it just doesn't carry any accuracy.


    But, in response to the thread starter: It's safe to assume the Wii CPU is probably already overclocked. If not, the most you'll get out of it is 1Ghz, as the Broadway is based on the PowerPC 750CL, which scales up to 1Ghz. Not exactly much of a triumph. Besides, these are RISC cores -- they don't need a high clock speed to attain high IPC and efficiency.
     
  17. stiansoftcore

    Newcomer stiansoftcore Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Idiots. You guys know you can run Linux on your Wii, right? Clocking your CPU to a higher frequency will of course improve your performance when using Linux.

    And yes, the Wii is basically a low-end PC. It's about as powerful as an office computer from 1995.
     
  18. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    Again, false and false.


    A 300Mhz increase on a RISC processor is extremely subtle in comparison to the same increase on a CISC processor. These processors(PowerPC especially) do not rely on pure clock speed to perform. They have high IPCs, little to no supervisors, and well balanced internal to external bandwidths.

    Linux distros on the Wii currently have no window manager, restricting processes to the command line. Aside from servers and renderers, there are very few command line based processes that are resource intensive.


    Finally, the Wii is actually as powerful as a home computer was a few years ago. Despite its seemingly limited memory, the processor has a lot of potential for a wide host of uses. Good software doesn't always require a lot of memory to do the job. There are Linux distros that only require 16MB of ram and still compete with the likes of Ubuntu.
     
  19. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,351
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    who cares about linux
     
  20. Mrkinator

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada

Share This Page