OS decision

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Licardo7, Jan 19, 2010.

Jan 19, 2010

OS decision by Licardo7 at 3:31 AM (2,784 Views / 0 Likes) 33 replies

  1. Licardo7
    OP

    Member Licardo7 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    United States
    FROM THE TOP

    I basically screwed up my CPU and MOBO and i bought a new one and they are getting sent with my new case. Now i have my old hard drive from my old PC with vista but i found out that a new motherboard = getting a new key. vista was an OEM so it was tied to my now dead motherboard and now i need a new OS. The question is if i should go ahead and buy Windows 7 full retail, the update retail, or another OEM?

    I would get the update but if my computer doesn't accept Vista(OEM) wouldn't that mean there is nothing to update? The full one is a whopping 100 bucks more so that sucks. But there is also the OEM version which ties itself to my motherboard and i don't know if i am going to update it in the future.

    if someone could give me some help on this is will be SUPER. I need to know which to buy so i don't fuck up and waste $$$$ on something i can't use.

    Thank you in advance

    P.S: google was not my friend on this
     


  2. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    Go pirate Windows 7 Ultimate OEM version. And then use an OEM activator (do a search for Windows 7 Loader 1.6 -Daz), making sure it's set to your PC's manufacturer
     
  3. Nimbus

    Member Nimbus sudo /usr/bin make-me-a-coffee --nosugar --cream=1

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    Probably being lazy.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, you could use a full version of Windows 7, which costs a bit. Again though, there's nothing wrong with Windows at all most of the time if you aren't using it for a whole lot. I run Windows 7 Pro 32-bit alongside Mac OSX 10.5 and Ubuntu Linux 9.04 32-bit on my Macbook, and so far I haven't had any real, if any issues at all with it.

    Or, one other thing you could do, and this depends on how much you need Windows-only applications. You could always try Linux, if you do I'd suggest either Ubuntu or Mint. Mint is based off of Ubuntu and is pretty user friendly from what I experience. I happen to use Ubuntu as my Main OS though and it's wonderful.
    I've actually never had Ubuntu crash on my (No kernel panic, etc), it's incredibly stable, customizable. You also have the infamous program called Wine to run for most simple Windows applications in Linux, but don't expect anything too high-caliber from Wine. Linux for the most part is free, and it's Open Source as well.
     
  4. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    You could run OSx86 on your PC [​IMG] (OSx86 is a hack to use Mac OS X on PC's [​IMG])
     
  5. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    or just dl windows 7 ulimate. not that hard to find
     
  6. bin01

    Member bin01 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    United States
    just install ubuntu, that shoud be enough
     
  7. Guild McCommunist

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Agreed. It's what I'm using on my laptop right now. Very virus resistant (as are practically all Linux OS's), great built-in applications (OpenOffice, Mozilla, and the Ubuntu Software Center for more). and a very cool layout.

    And if you don't like it, go pirate Windows 7
     
  8. Licardo7
    OP

    Member Licardo7 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    United States
    No disrespect to anyone who loves the OSs

    i actually HATE OS X, i am not a windows fanboy but my school uses OS X and i have such a hard time using it so it turned me off. Linux, i was never really interested in it. I will stick with windows so i'll probably go find a crack.

    I AM OFF TO PIRATE WIN7.
     
  9. Seyiji

    Member Seyiji Rawr :3

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    PA
    Country:
    United States
    1) Install the oem copy on your new computer

    2 Try to activate

    3) When it bitches that you have to activate call the number that pops up and you'll get an unlock code.

    4) Enjoy!
     
  10. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    just call the number that pop up on your monitor and tell them you needed to upgrade to a new cpu and motherboard. tell them everything (mobo and cpu were dead and cant be used any more) and you only have one computer. with some luck, you can get a new key.
     
  11. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    What type of OEM was it? If your version of Vista came with a Dell system or another big system manufacturer, I would say you're out of luck. Those types are activated by a cert, key and SLIC marker in the system bios.

    On the other hand if it's an OEM copy you bought yourself, then ring Microsoft up. They are known to activate it again in cases such as this.
     
  12. Olyfes

    Newcomer Olyfes Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I should not pirate an os , it's kinda unsafe if MS releases updates that can detect if it's legal or illegal ..

    Try Linux ubuntu . You won't need to crack anything and it's free to use
     
  13. Licardo7
    OP

    Member Licardo7 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Country:
    United States
    hmm, i will try the calling method and i did hear that pirating an OS was very risky so that's why i didn't try it at first but i'll call them up and try, just have to wait till my stuff gets here

    THANKS ALL YOU RANDOM PEOPLE
     
  14. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    That's what Windows 7 Loader 1.6 -Daz stops. It makes Microsoft think your Win7 is genuine.
     
  15. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    Vista did had an update that makes it stop working. I did bypassed it and my Vista Premium's Desktop is still active but the risk is there but if you invaded the update, you're still there.

    XP was notorious as the protection update is really needed unlike Vista
     
  16. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    The way Daz's loader(or pretty much any loader right now) works is it loads the confirmation that the BIOS itself should report into the memory at start up, or something like that. This way, you don't have to modify your BIOS either, but I think the Loader can be patched/fixed by Microsoft. And isn't the latest version v1.7.7 REPACK? He is actually on some tech forum with like 16XX posts with his actual username "Daz" if anyone was able to find it.

    Anyways, can't an update still prevent that(detection of the loader)? I think that would be a better question. And since there most likely will be an update someday, you'd have to search up whether or not a certain Windows 7 update is "safe".

    As for the calling method, I heard that may work as well.
     
  17. Seyiji

    Member Seyiji Rawr :3

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    PA
    Country:
    United States
    Let us know how it goes [​IMG]

    Also to all those who are telling him to pirate 7 you have no idea how hard I'm [​IMG]
     
  18. dirty_harry

    Member dirty_harry GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Australia
    Ubuntu is magnificent. Sure it takes a little time to get used to, but once you do, you wont regret it. I guarantee it.

    Once you tweak out your system and its running faster than it ever has, a little smile will spread across your face. That is Ubuntu.
     
  19. dmonkey21

    Member dmonkey21 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    United States
    That's not really true if you get a good copy... I have a copy of XP that didn't even ASK for a key and passes all the Windows Genuine Advantage Updates, I have had it forever and it has worked through SP2 and SP3! XD
     
  20. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If Microsoft finds a way you have an illegal copy and doesn't let you use Windows you can boot up into Linux and backup your stuff so you could install Windows again or you could stay on Linux if you really like it.

    Anyway, it would be most likely through a Windows Update, so it would be all around hacking sites/forums so you could just not install that update.
     

Share This Page