Hacking Original Guide

spanner123

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Can I respectfully suggest that the original guide is put back on the first page as it was simply the best. As a complete noob I had no problems with it and now since it has gone there seems to be lots of people having problems.

tj_cool

Site dev
Supervisor
Trophies
XP
Country
Belgium
The only reason many people have problems is due the new DOP-IOS MOD
The Trucha bug restoring steps seem to fail for many people for some reason

spanner123

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Maybe some files have been updated but the method has not and the older files still work perfectly as I used them today.

tj_cool

Site dev
Supervisor
Trophies
XP
Country
Belgium
The method has been updated too

the old one uses:
  • Trucha Bug restorer (for the TBR steps)
  • AnyTitleDelter (for the stub IOS steps)
while the new method uses DOP-IOS MOD for both of those
if you go to the CompleteSoftmodGuide, you see that this DOP-IOS MOD is also used to patch the System menu IOS and Install the System menu (previously done by Wad manager)

Thats 3 2 apps less to use for the same steps, so we choose to use DOP-IOS MOD

The only problem we still have is the faulty TBR in DOP-IOS MOD

spanner123

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
tattar8 said:
spanner123 said:
Maybe some files have been updated but the method has not and the older files still work perfectly as I used them today.
Which guide is this exactly?

The giude which was on page 1 of this thread 'Modify any Wii 4.2 & below, aka the simplistic mod'

longtom1

Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
spanner123 said:
Fair enough! But 3 less apps for the same amount of steps and a load more problems. Is it worth it?
yes when the program is working properly more testing should have been done before adding to the guide

tj_cool

Site dev
Supervisor
Trophies
XP
Country
Belgium