Homebrew OoT3DHax Help?

Roomsaver

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2015
Messages
951
Trophies
0
Location
garfield kart grand prix
XP
447
Country
United States
I am trying to install OoT3DHax on my New 3DS (10.2.0-28U) and I can't find a tutorial anywhere. I just received an R4i Save dongle today and own a PowerSaves. If anyone could help, that would be awesome. I do not have access to any other way to install the homebrew.
 

Pingu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2015
Messages
125
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
105
Country
United States
I am trying to install OoT3DHax on my New 3DS (10.2.0-28U) and I can't find a tutorial anywhere. I just received an R4i Save dongle today and own a PowerSaves. If anyone could help, that would be awesome. I do not have access to any other way to install the homebrew.
here u go ;)
 

Pingu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2015
Messages
125
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
105
Country
United States
I tried this and it seemed like it was going to work and it went to the black screen and then crashed to the home menu...
Yea that just means you have to install the other file (when u have the option to pick one ) aka pick the other one
 
D

Deleted-236924

Guest
So... I have a few questions.
1. Can I use an R4i Save dongle and put the save file from the rar file downloaded from here and upload it to the cart?
2. Do I download the ropbin or otherapp bin? And after downloading one where do I put it?
Thanks!
1. Yes
2. You don't need to, payload is inside the .sav file images.
 

nero99

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
3,099
Trophies
1
Age
28
XP
3,421
Country
United States
Just curious. Why did you get the save dongle if you have powersaves? There's a powersaves ready save file for oothax..
 

Roomsaver

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2015
Messages
951
Trophies
0
Location
garfield kart grand prix
XP
447
Country
United States
Just curious. Why did you get the save dongle if you have powersaves? There's a powersaves ready save file for oothax..
The PowerSaves didn't get nearly as close as the dongle did.

1. Yes
2. You don't need to, payload is inside the .sav file images.
Okay so here's what I do and it still won't work.
1. Put 3ds folder onto SD card
2. Put the boot at the root of the SD card
3. Download the save file (N3DS_U_22528_usa_9221.sav)
4. Plug OoT 3D cart into my R4i save dongle
5. Open the R4i Save Dongle V1.5 program
6. Write the save to the cart
7. Plug the cart into my 3DS
8. Launch the game, no corrupt file message or anything like I got with the save file from the first folder
9. Yes!! The file is there! Name: haxxxxxx****************e************ from 10/22/12 01:08 PM, 6 Amulets and 3 Stones, 16 hearts
10. Start the game
11. I am in Link's house. I walk over to the sign on the wall and press A
12. Glitchy tiled screen to black homebrew screen
13. "The homemenu ropbin is ready"
14. DS instantly goes to main menu without game running
I can upload a video if this wasn't helpful.
Please help!!!
 
D

Deleted-236924

Guest
See you're not the only person who tried using payloads from the save file images yellows8 uploaded on his github and is running into problems getting them to actually work, I'm starting to think there are problems with the save file images themselves (they may have the wrong payload somehow.)

Do you get the same results with the Powersaves one?
 
Last edited by ,

Roomsaver

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2015
Messages
951
Trophies
0
Location
garfield kart grand prix
XP
447
Country
United States
See you're not the only person who tried using payloads from the save file images yellows8 uploaded on his github and is running into problems getting them to actually work, I'm starting to think there are problems with the save file images themselves (they may have the wrong payload somehow.)
*Sigh* The only other way I'd be able to get homebrew would be through Ninjhax and I'm not going to fork over $60-$120 just for homebrew... Is there any way I can get in contact with yellows8 and let 'em know? Or would that just be a stupid thing to do?
 
D

Deleted-236924

Guest
You could probably open an issue on Github https://github.com/yellows8/oot3dhax/issues
If you are 100% certain you got the right saves for your 3DS and they aren't working, it's probably worth pointing out.

From what I can see, for N3DS 10.2.0-28U, N3DS_U_22528_usa_9221.sav should be the right one... so if that's not working, it may be a problem with the saves themselves.

And I don't think updating to 10.3 would really fix it because I've seen 2 others here so far who tried the same thing, installing the save files with Powersaves and other such save dongles, pretty sure they were using the right ones and they weren't working. Same problem as you were having.

By the way, it returns back to home menu with an error message saying an error has occurred, right? And not just directly return to home menu without a word?
 
Last edited by ,

Roomsaver

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2015
Messages
951
Trophies
0
Location
garfield kart grand prix
XP
447
Country
United States
You could probably open an issue on Github https://github.com/yellows8/oot3dhax/issues
If you are 100% certain you got the right saves for your 3DS and they aren't working, it's probably worth pointing out.

From what I can see, for N3DS 10.2.0-28U, N3DS_U_22528_usa_9221.sav should be the right one... so if that's not working, it may be a problem with the saves themselves.
Is there any way I'd be able to tell which (cardids_45fe009000000000 or cardids_c2fe009000000000) folder I'd need to get the save from? Like with the ID on the back of the cart? Because when I tried the other one (cardids_45fe009000000000) it said it was corrupt.
 
D

Deleted-236924

Guest
The only way to really tell I think is to try one, and if it tells you save file is corrupted, then you know it's the other one.
 

Roomsaver

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2015
Messages
951
Trophies
0
Location
garfield kart grand prix
XP
447
Country
United States
The only way to really tell I think is to try one, and if it tells you save file is corrupted, then you know it's the other one.
Alright. Thanks! I'll submit my issue to yellows8's github page.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Do you get the same results with the Powersaves one?
I do not. It always, no matter what, formats the card.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight: Hey, where the admins at? Come in the chat. I got a idea. How bout a Sound notification or...