old R4 not working (SD/TF card error)

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by wrsg, Apr 4, 2012.

Apr 4, 2012
  1. wrsg
    OP

    Newcomer wrsg Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    i just bought a new DS Lite to use with my old R4 that i've had stored away for about 2 years doing nothing. i tried putting it in the DS today and it wouldn't work at all to begin with, so I tried the trick I saw in a video linked on here somewhere where the guy puts a piece of card under the contact. This time i got an error saying 'SD/TF card error'.

    I have all different things, like using Wood R4 or the original firmware, using FAT16, FAT32.

    Does this error mean my R4 could still work and the contact is just a bit messed up, or is there a chance its become faulty after being out of use for so long?
     
  2. EyeZ

    Member EyeZ GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,336
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you formatted the microSD using the Panasonic SDFormatter?
     
  3. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Copy your files over to your PC, from your micro sd card, and then format the micro sd card with THIS. Then copy the files back, and report back if it's working properly.
     
  4. wrsg
    OP

    Newcomer wrsg Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    i would make sweet sweet love to both you guys if i was that way inclined :yay:

    thanks so much you saved me a lot of trouble there
     

Share This Page