Hacking Old cioscorp to upgrade?

choochmac

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Complete noob here. Please be gentle, don't know much about the Wii etc. My son has wanted one fore quite awhile so I just purchased a used Wii was advertised as "softmod able to run backups". I thought "great" we won't waste money if he scratches new disks (he is only eight). Anyway, what I now know after doing some googling is that it is out of date. It is a Wii running 3.1 which must have some sort of cioscorp running on it. Now I am afraid he will not be able to play any new games we give him for Christmas and I don't have enough money to go get another Wii. Arghh!!

After much reading on the forums over the last two days I used bannerbomb to install Homebrew channel (it was not on the Wii) and made a NAND backup (which hopefully worked). I ran Syscheck and this is what I get. It doesn't list much and not the IOS249 which everyone is referring to. If I have an old version of CIOSCORP, shouldn't it be listed? If someone could please tell me based on this what I am dealing with I would appreciate it. I don't want to brick the Wii by trying to install/uninstall things without a clear plan of action.

sysCheck v2.0.1 by Double_A
...runs on IOS36 (rev 1042).

Region: NTSC-U
System Menu 3.1U (v257)
Hollywood v0x11
Console ID: 39136243
Boot2 v2

Found 62 titles.
Found 19 IOS on this console. 0 of them are stub.

IOS4 (rev 3): Trucha Bug ES Identify Flash Access NAND Access
IOS9 (rev 516): Trucha Bug ES Identify Flash Access NAND Access
IOS11 (rev 10): Trucha Bug ES Identify Flash Access NAND Access
IOS12 (rev 6): Trucha Bug ES Identify Flash Access NAND Access
IOS13 (rev 10): Trucha Bug ES Identify Flash Access NAND Access
IOS14 (rev 257): Trucha Bug ES Identify Flash Access NAND Access
IOS15 (rev 257): Trucha Bug ES Identify Flash Access NAND Access
IOS17 (rev 512): Trucha Bug ES Identify Flash Access NAND Access
IOS20 (rev 12): Trucha Bug ES Identify Flash Access NAND Access