Ocarina-style Program for GameCube backups?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by warmijwilfaain, Aug 21, 2010.

Aug 21, 2010
  1. warmijwilfaain
    OP

    Member warmijwilfaain War Mage MILF

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Kent. lolol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was wondering if its possible to play GC backups on the Wii and use cheats with the game, like you can do with Wii games using Ocarina?

    If anyone knows of one, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. [​IMG]
     
  2. Yoshi Party

    Newcomer Yoshi Party Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Germany
    use Gecko OS Mod by WiiPower

    you can convert action replay codes to ocarina format with 2 different apps:
    GCNcrypt and
    James0x57's GCN to WiiRD converter

    this allows you to play game cube cheats just as ocarina codes on your wii without any extra devices [​IMG]

    http://www.codejunkies.com/ will give you action replay codes
    and on http://geckocodes.org/index.php?chid=R&r=*&s=30 you can find some gc codes which have been converted for ocarina


    have fun
     
  3. warmijwilfaain
    OP

    Member warmijwilfaain War Mage MILF

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Kent. lolol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers! When the GCT file is created though, how will I know what the GameID is so I can save it as xxxx.gct ?
     
  4. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Gecko OS mod only plays GC retail games, and no even if backups would be enabled on it, Ocarina + GC backups would still be not working...

    There's Action Replay for GC. You can use it with WiiGator's loader and maybe with NeoGamma too(the update from today might restore that capability).
     
  5. warmijwilfaain
    OP

    Member warmijwilfaain War Mage MILF

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Kent. lolol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How come cheats wouldn't work with the backup games, however it can with the retail? =s
     
  6. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    GC backup loading requries to put some code that does the backup reading into memory. By default it uses the same memory Ocarina uses.
     
  7. warmijwilfaain
    OP

    Member warmijwilfaain War Mage MILF

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,297
    Location:
    Kent. lolol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah, so there's no way that the code could somehow use less memory? Either, I mean
     
  8. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    It's 6KB memory we are talking about, for Ocarina that's enough for the code handler + a few codes. For backups, you have to consider that you need a 2KB dvd buffer, and that my plugin is at 5.9x KB now, and if i had a few bytes more memory, i would already have use for it to get back to 5.9x KB.
     
  9. Yoshi Party

    Newcomer Yoshi Party Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    Germany
    I have a ModChip, so I can't confirm whether or not it does only work with retail disks.

    BUT I can confirm you that it definately works very fine for me. You can simply get your game ID by booting your game and reading the ID from a loader(neogamma ie.)->it appears shortly on your screen before the game starts [​IMG]

    If you have issues during gameplay you can try another hooktype [​IMG]


    it works [​IMG]
     
  10. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If you have a good modchip it would be almost needless to mention it and just speaking of retail discs. If you have a good modchip, then Gecko OS mod will of course work fine for Ocarina + backups.
     
  11. MathUser

    Newcomer MathUser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    Has there been any updates since then? Is it possible now to use cheat codes with Gamecube backups? Thanks.
     
  12. portugeek

    Member portugeek GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    United States
    I'd actually also like to know if there's an update to this.

    I went through the process of converting all my codes. I used USB Loader GX to access my GC games which load via Devo. Ocarina see's the codes. I can even turn them OFF and ON, and create the .GCT But when the game starts up the codes don't seem to load.

    EDIT: Now that I think about it.. the 3 games I tried to use cheats for are all loading via Dios Mios. I don't know if that matters or not.
     

Share This Page