Not Sure What To Do Now (softmod)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by glair, Feb 9, 2009.

Feb 9, 2009
  1. glair
    OP

    Newcomer glair Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    So I did the twilight hack for 3.4u systems it installed the homebrew channel automatically (beta9)

    Then I used the offline method for downgrading to 3.2u and that’s where I’m at now.
    I tried to install starfall but it failed. I installed Backup Channel Gamma 002fix but tying to run a game gives error code (349)

    this Is what I did so far

    1. run cIOS36_rev7-Installer - install IOS36-64-v1042.wad (gave an error message (install ticket error - ret 2011 i think) but then said it installed successfully)

    2. WADManager_v1.3 - install - Backup Channel Gamma 002fix.wad (done)

    3. Load game - error code (349)

    what should I do?

    (other things I have tried)

    I used IOS_Uninstaller_v1.1 it said it uninstalled something, still got error - ret 2011 with cIOS36_rev7. tried IOS_Uninstaller again, says I have no cIOS's to uninstall. I used AnyTitle Deleter MOD v2 to try and find IOS249 but its not there (I found IOS254, should I remove that?)

    *Edit*

    I did it! by random chance I found out that you need to use a special sequence of IOS wads and installers. I need to take a break now but I'll try to remember everything I did so it can help others. I almost gave up! (and I did it all without a wii network connection!).

    Backup Channel Gamma 002fix is loading games now, will need to test more later.

    thanks for tring to help guys. I really appreciate it.
     
  2. Ericthegreat

    Member Ericthegreat Not New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,764
    Location:
    Vana'diel
    Country:
    United States
    Do not remove any IOS that you don't know what it does. Try formating your SD card with the Panasonic sd card formater.
     
  3. AsosaYoung

    Member AsosaYoung GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    L B C
    Country:
    United States
    First off! If you don't know what your doing then don't use AnyTitle Deleter you could delete stuff that will brick your Wii FOREVER.

    Well maybe not forever but a long time.
     
  4. Do not remove ANY IOS.

    Restart the process with the SOFTMII package and do it straight from the beginning, even the downgrade.

    You're using the backup launcher gamma. If you want softmii, there's a site with it. =]
     
  5. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    Edit Never Mind i found out how
     
  6. glair
    OP

    Newcomer glair Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I heard SOFTMII was not a good thing to use, are you sure its OK to try it after I've already softmoded my wii?

    also, I have no way of connecting my wii to the internet so I can't use an online downgrader (like Any Region changer).

    still not sure what to do...


    (also the offline method I used was post by victory on this blog http://www.victory144.blogspot.com/)

    *edit* this page has info on the IOS's files http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Homebrew_status

    it looks like I have a *slightly newer* version of 3.4u that makes things harder...
     
  7. AsosaYoung

    Member AsosaYoung GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    L B C
    Country:
    United States
    Even with SoftMii to be Complete you need wifi.

    For 1 thing the Home brew channel is at 1.0.1

    Enter!
     
  8. SoftMii is safe to use now. =] Your slight newer version of firmware shouldn't be a problem. [​IMG]
     
  9. glair
    OP

    Newcomer glair Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    So my system menu says 3.2u should I just try to install softmii with that or do I have to do something online? (have no way of connecting my wii). (what will happen if I try to setup softmii without online?).



    also how do I update HBC offline?
     
  10. AsosaYoung

    Member AsosaYoung GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    L B C
    Country:
    United States
    You don't have Wifi that's is the problem.
    The HBC updates from it.
    Any Region Changer most def needs it.
    So get some WIFI!
     
  11. Head over to a friends and maybe do it over there!
     
  12. glair
    OP

    Newcomer glair Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Nobody I know has wifi unfortunately... so that just leaves me. I haven't priced it out but getting a decent (reliable) wifi setup should likely run upwards of $50 correct?

    Perhaps I should use that money on one of those new solderless drivekey mod chips? everything I've been reading online tells me that error - ret 2011 is the kiss of death for a softmod no matter what I do.

    or should I take this wii back to the store and try to find an older one from a used game shop?
     
  13. glair
    OP

    Newcomer glair Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I did it! by random chance I found out that you need to use a special sequence of IOS wads and installers. I need to take a break now but I'll try to remember everything I did so it can help others. I almost gave up! (and I did it all without a wii network connection!).

    Backup Channel Gamma 002fix is loading games now, will need to test more later.

    thanks for tring to help guys. I really appreciate it.
     
  14. f0rty0z

    Newcomer f0rty0z Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    I think you should save and buy a wireless router. It will make your life alot easyer. With out it you are missing out on homebrew channels and more.
    To me not having wifi is like not having electricity.......... I don't know what I would do with out it.
     
  15. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    and you registered just to say this?

    I would say, lol.
     
  16. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I'm too late it seems. I would have suggested to get IOS wads with versions
     

Share This Page